We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic cosmopolitan hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic cosmopolitan hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here in 2008, and what a view we had from our balcony, which looked right over Balluta Bay.
The hotel gave us an upgrade because it was our anniversary, and I have to say it is the best hotel room we have ever stayed in.
The hotel has two swimming pools, one on the roof, and another indoor pool which is beautifully furnished, but dont expect lots of things to do for the children, it's more of a business or couples hotel.
The restaurant is very gentleman's club, its sedate and the guests keep themselves to themselves, this could be because of the multi-national nature of the clientele.
That said, the hotel has a nice ambience about it, and is wonderfully situated, and for the smokers amongst you it had a dedicated smoking room close to reception.
My general view is that it's a hotel well suited to couples, business people, or groups, but not young chidren.
Malta is a great Island to visit, and I used to swim in Balluta bay everyday; at high tide you just dive in from the steps, its like being in a 1950's film !

Room Tip: Ask for a bay facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    831
    322
    104
    57
See reviews for
416
1,124
125
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for the Malta Marathon weekend recently, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We participate in the SPG reward program, and are frequent travelers, and therefore were upgraded to the executive club lounge level (9) with free access to the lounge daily. This included breakfast and happy hour, both of which included plenty of food and beverages. We also had free access to the spa, sauna, steam room and indoor pool - amazing! My husband actually booked a spa package following the race at another '5 star' resort in Valletta because he found a special offer online, but having seen the Le Meridien spa, we should have stayed here for our spa day instead!

Not to mention, the staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly and went way above and beyond to make our stay extra special. The host in the club lounge was very friendly and happy to point out recommendations for restaurants and bars in the area. The receptionist and manager were extremely friendly at check in/ check out. But best of all - the concierge Joseph went well above his normal duties and drove us to the start line of the race in Mdina just after his shift ended at 7am! We cannot say 'thank you' enough to everyone there.

Of special note, our one negative finding was that there is no wifi in the rooms themselves. We had access just next door in the club lounge (I think there is also access in the lobby). However, Joseph mentioned to us that the hotel will be undergoing some upgrades very soon, and individual wifi access in all of the rooms will soon be available. Just another point to show that they do listen to their guests and are taking appropriate steps to update when warranted.

This hotel is absolutely perfect for a short break in Malta, we loved the location, cleanliness and modern design of the rooms, amazing balcony with Mediterranean sea views, and the staff made our stay one of the best in Europe. Thank you and we hope to see you all again!

Room Tip: Club level (floor 9) facing the sea - absolutely stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkygirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was the first time that I took my family to a weekend break in this hotel and we strongly recommend this hotel. The room was quite large. The food was excellent and the staff was superb. I would like to thank Mr. Damien Peplow from the restaurant who was of great help and went out of his way to make sure that we enjoy our dinner to the maximum. Surely an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was the second time in this superb hotel and again we really enjoy our stay. We were treated by the whole staff like a royal family. The room was full of everything we needed and the food was also great. I would like to thank Mr. Joseph Magro who showed professionalism in his duties and was a great help during our stay. The ONLY complaint that I have is that there is no wifi in the rooms. Hope that this could be solved until I come again in the near future

Room Tip: The higher level floor rooms have more sea views than the lower ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

It is indeed a pleasure to hear that this is not the first time that you have stayed with us and that you have found our product and the services that we offer to your complete satisfaction on both occasions. With reference to your comment regarding the Wi-Fi, I am pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi will be available in all our rooms by the end of March 2013.

While we would like to once again thank you for your contribution, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Centrally located, close to the shopping centre, bus stop, night life, super high standard, excellent food (recommended strawberry cheesecake). Friendly, knowledgeable staff. I wouldnt stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and I can assure you that our Pastry chefs are extremely pleased that their Strawberry Cheesecake speciality got your resounding vote !

We do hope and look forward to having the possibility of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with great location. I was here on business and had a complaint about there not being any wifi in the rooms. This one minor thing could receive a much better review from me. I woukd stay here again if this were changed. This will make me look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bang083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

I refer to your comment in relation to the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms. While the hotel currently offers free Wi-Fi in the bar and reception area and wired internet in the rooms, I am pleased to advise you that we are currently installing a Wi-Fi system which will cover all our rooms. This system will be fully operational by no later than the end of March 2013 and will be introduced together with a brand new TV systems in all our Rooms On the other hand I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel's location and the rest of the facilities to your expectation.

While thank you once again for your contribution, we look forward to having the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have just read Elica C review and I cannot for the life of me understand what she is on about, the staff were fantastic, we had the same room to begin with, as that is what we paid for! however while we were there a group of girls who were on our floor came in at 3 am and made a lot of noise, my wife mentioned it to the staff the following morning, we had an immediate apology and a room upgrade to sea view room for no charge.

All of the staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful, the food superb and plentiful, the indoor spa pool is what it is, and perfect for a dip in February! if you feel the need for a proper swim there is a decent size pool on the roof.

In conclusion a fantastic hotel which we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burtygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am extremely pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that our team were able to assist you with achieving this experience. It is always our pleasure to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible when staying with us.

While I would like to once again thank you for both your lovely comments and recommendations, we do hope of having the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing