We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at Le Meridien for two weeks during peak season with my dad and brother and loved every minute. I couldn't fault the service provided by the staff - everyone we encountered was so kind and helpful and the concierge was lovely and genuine.

Everyone is moaning about the Wifi on this but the last thing i wanted to do while on holiday was sit on the internet.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole_ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm Maltese, married to a Canadian, and we live in Canada. We are Starwood members & this was the primary reason we chose to stay at Le Meridien, along with the sea views and central location.We practically never had to use our car as we walked everywhere. The hotel parking was free and easy and this is very handy in Malta as parking spaces are challenging to find.

We registered twice as we took a three day vacation to stupendous Gozo and then returned. Our upgrade on our return was far superior to our initial upgrade, with a better view and a much better suite. This was appreciated. We loved the balconies and liked t hat we could hang our laundry to dry out.This helped with undies and bathing suits. Our suite seemed to be in better hands the second time round...cleaned well and all at once. The first time round it seemed like staff entered our suite multiple times in one day...to clean, then drop off water, then something else, then again something else...it was a bit unsettling to have staff enter so many times. Once I was asleep in my undies and somebody entered and left a pillow on the table in the next room....a bit disconcerting. A few times, when I called room service,no one answered and, once, in frustration, I dialled the emergency number and no one answered. Oh dear.

Other reviewers have commented about the Executive lounge. We had mixed experiences. The breakfast wasn't great but we were told, by the very gracious lady at breakfast duty, that we could order anything we wanted and it would be brought to the lounge. This worked well overall but on the Sunday,our omelette still hadn't shown up after more than an hour and we had places to go, things to do, people to see. The water glasses in the lounge are- without exception-filthy. I held one after the other up to the light to see water stains, soap stains, lip marks, finger prints....quite disgusting. The wine glasses were better but not by much. There is clearly a problem with hygiene and the dishwasher machine. This is unsanitary and not acceptable anywhere. The afternoon tea is better, with a tiered tray of pastries and good coffee when the machine works..not often the case, unfortunately. After 11:00 pm, the lounge bar is emptied of food and drink and only once was I asked if I wanted anything by the gentleman on duty. Other nights,no one was around.

The WIFI in the rooms is non existent for iPad users and this was a major inconvenience to us as everyone knows travellers need to stay connected. Connecting in the lobby was a slow and arduous process with passwords that did not work but in the lounge it was OK as long as you sat by the TV or door. for he last three days of our stay, there were no towels or staff at the pool and really, the atmosphere is kind of humdrum there. This is a hotel with so much potential but it needs a really god manager to overhaul things and take things under control. The WIFI, lounge, elevator and service issues al need to be dealt with and really...do the right thing by people and give them the rooms with the lousy views for bargain prices...STARWOOD needs to reconsider the standards to which it holds the hotels in its club...certainly in this case. However, overall, for E116 per night i such a good location, we would return....but only if the other Starwood hotel on Malta, the Westin, is full.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NannaCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in le meridian on our honeymoon which was advertised as a 5* hotel. When we arrived at 8pm there was no one available to help with our bags and we were asked for our credit card details so they could take €210 for use of mini-bar etc which I thought was a bit cheeky! When we got to our room it was made up as a twin room. Our air conditioning started to leak on our first night, we told reception, however it was still leaking on 2nd night. My husband contacted reception and spoke to the manager who was reluctant to move us to another room and was not one bit apologetic about the problem.
We went for dinner one night in Scirroco restaurant which was a lovely buffet, however we were charged €5.15 for a bottle of water sourced from Wales with a cheaper alternative available but we were not given a choice. I queried this price with staff in restaurant and at reception and was told that there was nothing they could do. Very bad customer service in general!
Some staff members nice, including the bar men, concierge and housekeeping but reception staff and managers disappointed with their service

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanneGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

All in all a very good hotel, which i guess should be assosiated with Le Meridien. The pool is great but a bit crowdy. But the fitness and spa center is top notch.

But most importantly, the hotel i located close to all the best restaurants and away from the shady bar-strip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel because we love the Meridien service, style and atmosphere.

Great spa, rooftop pool and restaurants. Seemed a bit quiet for October, but perfect service as usual. Some minor quirks - like the usual "Meridien Towels Vinegar Smell" and the ban on under 16's using the heated swimming pool between noon and 6pm. Very annoying for our 13 year old and therefore for all of us! Those would earn this hotel a half star downgrade to 4.5 stars.

Unfortunately there was a huge problem, which was not clear from the hotel website ahead of time. NO IN ROOM WI-FI ! For a 4 smartphone family this means we need to use data roaming when at our hotel room, which for a few facebook viewings, web browsing, Google Maps and emailings means about £5 a day per phone - thats a minimum extra £20/night ($35) for us, plus the slowness and inconvenience. On to of that the in-room Internet is good, but is "wired only" and costs Euro15 per day per room - so very expensive.

If we had known these facts in advance we would have been able to bring a wifi hotspot or decide to stay elsewhere. Will now be checking the Internet access at other Starwood properties more carefully.

Anyway, if you have lots of money for mobile phone bills or a company account this hotel is excellent. Otherwise, evaluate the options - like the Juliana - which have great free wifi.

Room Tip: Get a room floor 6 or above - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had the most amazing stay at the Meridien, My partner and I was upgraded to the suite and it was bigger than my flat, the beds were compfy, amazing views of the bay. Breakfast was a huge variety best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel.

We had complementary water every day in our room.

Did not see much staff, but of what we did very pleasant and professional.

All publis area were very clean and to a high standard.

Highly recommend, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemski D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, following your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you found the product and services provided were to your liking, particularly your room and the breakfast on offer.

While we would like to thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Le Meridien is an excellent choice if you are on a business trip to Malta. Centrally located (very close to all the happening places in St. Juian's), access to a lot of bars / restaurants / pubs and a very nice experience overall

The only weird thing for me was the design of the bathrooms. The main bathroom had a bathtub, a shower and a sink but no toilet. The second bathroom had a toilet but nothing else. It was the first time i saw this setup, i didn't like it, but it might have some background that i am not aware of. Huge plus the fact that the room had both a bathtub and a shower

Breakfast was to die for. No single item was of exceptional quality / taste, but the buffet was so huge that you would need hours to sample everything that was available. Huge plus that they had fresh fruit for breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitrios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,881 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,085 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $112 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing