We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Really great hotel!! I've got a room with a see view, and it was amaising.
The pool at the roof, and the spa was great.
The bus station to the center is near the hotel, and it is very conviniet.
I'd like to stay here ones more for my next visit in Malta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    849
    332
    105
    57
See reviews for
429
1,154
128
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Before the arrival we personally requested a late arrival and a twin room on a higher floor. We got a room 401 with a view on the opposite wall (as seen on the pic)- one of the lowest floors. The room was fine though dark the whole day since it was situated just the opposite of the next construction building. We went to complain next morning, but as usually they said it was fully booked. After some time they did offer us an upgrade to deluxe room, but the room was a smoking room which wasn't acceptable. So we stayed in our double room instead of a twin room. The room was kept clean. Another disappointment was the roof top swimming pool. The size is totally small compared to the size of the hotel. The showers didn't work properly (only hot water in scorching 33 degrees). The pool water was really warm and dirty, covered in oils... The sun beds were horrible considering this is a 5 star hotel, to prove it, please see the attached photo. It was disgusting. We stayed in 2 other hotels on our holiday, but this was the worst. The breakfast (normally 17,50e) was OK, nice selection of fruit. But the cold cuts were of a very low quality which is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel, no cakes were offered. To get to breakfast in the morning, it took several minutes to get a lift downstairs. We wouldn't mind taking stairs if only wasn't it a horrible labyrinth of staircases and doors. I wonder what would people do in case of emergency!
To sum it up, this hotel was a huge disappointment to finish our long holiday at. For sure, it's not a 5 start hotel as in continental Europe. So many things to be improved.
We did enjoy the gym and the spa. Thanks for that.
One more comment about the breakfast, imagine, you're in a 5 start hotel, breakfast costs nearly 20e per person and to get a special coffee, you need to pay extra!!! Unbelievable! Haven't seen that anywhere in our travels...

Room Tip: Don't take a classic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NordicSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one week. The check in process was quick and efficient the room was large and clean, the design of the bedroom was a little strange to me the toilet is separate from the bathroom which is fine if only there was a sink in the toilet and you didn't have to walk to the bathroom to wash your hands. The staff were friendly enough without being overbearing. The pool area in my opinion was poor you need to be up early if you want an umbrella as they are few in numbers, the pool attendant did his best to appease customers so not really his fault. We booked and paid for a late check out which seemed to cause a little chaos, 2 telephone calls, a chap at the door and our key stopped obviously a lack of communication somewhere. Would I return yes to St Julian’s which is lovely but no to this hotel next time I will try the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Le Meridien Hotel, St Julians - is a great hotel with excellent facilities. Hotel staff very helpful and you get a very professional service. The hotel is brilliant clean and very modern. Very worth staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlenecachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The surroundings are tacky,noisy.
St.Julian's is a sprawling mess of construction sites and mostly characterless blocks of flats.

Service was poor, with housekeeping as the only exception: check-in staff were like deer in the headlights, restaurant staff were complaining to us and other guests at neighbouring tables that they were too tired to work after a night out, spa staff were surly.

The hotel doesn't seem to manage resources too well: doors to the terrace and rooftop pool are constantly kept open, which means that the A/C is going at full tilt all the time. Costly, ineffective and polluting.

Food at KuDeTà was not up to par: I ordered a salmon burger that was all filler. I expected a *little* fish for €15. Pastas have a puddle of tasteless vegetable oil gathering at the bottom of the plate.

Food at The Villa is pleasant. Its biggest downside is that it wants to double as a party venue. The setting is good-looking, but the effect is spoiled by a loud, obnoxious crowd with muffin tops and way, way too much chest hair on display.

The one saving grace are the rooms. They're spacious and comfortable. But then again, I had a far superior experience in a 3-star hotel last month.

Checked out after 3 nights and moved on happily to another part of the island.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeebean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. Our guests’ constructive comments are extremely valuable to us. I am sorry to read that our property fell short of your expectations and I would certainly like to further discuss your experience at our Hotel, in this respect, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Your specific concerns and observations are extremely valid and have received my personal review with the Departments involved.

In the meantime, I do hope that you will visit us again the near future as to be given the opportunity to turn around your perception of our hotel and services.

Yours sincerely,


Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent a week there in June 2012 . Staff coulf not have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless. Tour serevice on the bottom floor were excellent. We shall return when we next visit Malta

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.

\We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely



Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Quite simply - it's a good hotel.

Rooms and hotel may have been 5 star a few years ago, but I'd agree with the other reviews it's more a 4 - but a very good 4 star.

I stayed over my birthday and my partner arranged with the hotel for them decorate the room. They did a great job and I had a personalised birthday cake, balloons and champagne.

The staff are very helpful recommending places to see / eat and the spa treatments were some of the best I've ever had. I'd return just for that!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToxicV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing