We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien St. Julians
Nearby Hotels
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$173
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
$192
$159
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
$271
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
$166
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allegro Hotel(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$352
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spinola Hotel(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,827)
Filter reviews
2,827 results
Traveler rating
1,361
944
353
109
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,361
944
353
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsballuta bayrooftop poolsea viewseparate toiletst juliansspa treatmentsthe executive loungespa areamini barhotel barroom was largeweekend breakvisit maltahalf boardomelettetaroconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,636 - 1,641 of 2,827 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

On Arrival had a room with an old tv definetely not worth the money spent! I had to move to another room which they said was the best you could get, the view was nice but i was not impressed that much with their niceset room! trust me!
I ruined my Christmas as the gala dinner was just crap and food cold Its a pitty even not a desent orange juice at breakfast it was orange Squash!!I wrote to the manager and i was refunded for 1 person what a joke thinking im that dieing of hunger!!! Its a pitty

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brown_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

There are a huge number of so called 4 and 5 star hotels in Malta although ratings seem to vary throughout Europe. Le Meridien is apparently a 5 star hotel which by any definition should mean "Luxury" and although nice enough I am not at all sure it merits the tag.
Let me state immediately that the staff are very good - friendly and accommodating. I couldn't fault them. From the bar to reception and restaurant they were excellent. Having said that there were areas where the service could have been better. For instance we were welcomed to the hotel but were left to take the bags to our room ourselves - in itself not a major problem but in a hotel of this class the offer should have been there.
The problem I had was with the rooms themselves. Most establishments now have flat screen TVs. Not the Meridien. A small CRT TV where the TV channels weren't programmed until channel 5 which was an annoyance but it's the small things which count. Worse though were the beds which were much too hard for my liking. I accept that this is a personal thing and one which would have not been mentioned had they not been protected by a mattress cover, one side of which was plastic coated. This meant that bed did not "breathe" so I woke in a sweaty mess at around 3am each morning. Coupled with this was an ice making machine outside the room with a decibel rating to equal a jumbo jet on take off. From within the room it sounded like the bathroom fan had been left on. All rooms and public corridors are uncarpeted marble which must be nice and cool in summer but are extremely noisy. There was no point trying to get an early night at this hotel.
The location will suit some and not others. It's on the coast road between St Juliens and Sliema so transport is needed to get anywhere.
WiFi is only available in the lobby and conference rooms. To connect in the rooms the supplied cable has to be used.
The disappointment of the rooms coupled with staff at breakfast clearing and stacking plates very noisily at their station in the middle of the restaurant earns the hotel an average rating. As there is so much competition in Malta I would not stay here again by choice and it's no surprise to learn that the owner is a property developer rather than a hotelier and in places it shows.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the sea but are subject to traffic noise and the church clock starts chiming at 5am! Ask for a room as far away from the lifts as possible if you want somewhere quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went to Malta for our honeymoon.
This hotel was an amazing place to come back to for a rest after all the sightseeing and walking around.

The staff were super efficient and helpful, the rooms were beautiful, the food was the best I've had, and the spa/gym was definitely a highlight! There is a heated pool, several jacuzzi's, a fully equipped gym, and various treatments on offer.

My suggestion - skip the taxi, pay 50cents for a bus (if they're still operating) and sightsee on your own like a local!

The beds were huge, and VERY comfortable, there is a coffee/tea station in the room, a mini bar (a little pricey, but you have the option of having it locked to save the deposit fees, and then you just buy your own refreshments) there is also airconditioning, as well as an "alarmclock" on the TV system - you can receive messages and make bookings using the TV. There was a bathroom, with jet bath, shower and basin - the loo was seperate in the suite for convenience.

I would go back in a heartbeat!
Highly Reccommended

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngiBooysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel just after Christmas and into New Year. Good location but the food was not even up to a 2 star standard let alone 5 star. We attended their New Year Gala Dinner which was a bit of a joke. A poor couple on our table had not been told the dress code so turned up in casual dress. We sat down at 7.30 pm and by 10.45 pm we were still waiting for our main course. It turned up a 11.10 pm cold and by this time we had gone past being wanting to eat cold meat, gravy and vegetables. The music was so loud it was impossible to have a conversation with the person next to you. Apparently there were two groups booked in with two different menus and the kitchens just couldn't cope!! It completely ruined our New Year's Eve and holiday. When the hotel managers were complained to well it was obvious that organising an event of this kind need experience and there certainly wasn't any at this hotel. Such a pity because we upgraded to a sea view room and it was lovely. The rooms were large, spacious and very clean. Even the breakfast was poor for this rating of hotel. If you go then certainly don't risk going half board as there are so many fantastic places to each around St Julians that you certainly wont go hungry.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Sea View because the rooms at the back of the hotel are a bit dark
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workaholic055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in a lovely big room overlooking the bay. Bed was very very hard! They suggested we had a couple of Duvets on top of the mattress, think it was a common complaint!! Worked OK though, sleep much better. Pillows were flimsy not what you would have in 5* in the UK. Room very clean though and quiet.
Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, if you hit it at the wrong time food very depleted and messed about with. Selection fair but again not like 5* we are used to in the UK.
normally we stay in Malta in a 4* which we felt was just as good as this one but as it was winter we had chosen the meridian because it had an indoor pool. Shame that we only used it once as kids were in there up til mid day and again from 6pm. So no morning relax by the pool for us.
No free wifi in the room which for 5* I would expect, had to go to the lounge or bar with laptop not that convenient.
All in all, nice location decent hotel but not 5* for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dolly-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews