We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and would echo other comments about the friendly staff. This goes for the people of Malta too, who we found to be very helpful and chatty. We loved the island as there's loads to see and it's perfect for unwinding.

This is a VERY large hotel. We were lucky enough to have garden view rooms with a balcony that was postioned in the sun for most of the day. This was after being offered our original booking of 'bay view'. This isn't a view of the sea (well, only round the corner in the distance) but overlooks the shopping centre and night clubs. The area is busy at night with plenty of bars and clubs but doesn't feel at all threatening to be walking about late. We didn't hear any noise at all being round the other side of the hotel from the main streets but this area isn't best if you want tranquility.

There's very easy access to all the main towns by bus with the stops being 5 mins walk away. It's easy enough to get about without taking any holiday co. trips although 2 of our party went swimming with dolphins as an organised trip. This is excellent value and well worth doing.

The hotel breakfast was excellent as was the evening buffet. Lunch in the bar was expensive. There are some excellent restaurants in St Julian's Bay.

This hotel is probably more of a good 4 star than a 5 star and we did have a couple of very minor nigggles - tea and milk not topped up in the room and our hot water disappeared one morning for 20 minutes but generally this is a very good hotel and perfect for escaping out of season. We wouldn't book during high season simply because this place is so huge and it's difficult to imagine how people would fit round the pool or even in the dining room at peak times. For off season breaks this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank millie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,620 - 2,626 of 4,107 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2007

Spent 3 nights here on a business trip. Definatley worth booking a club room. This provides you with the following benefits:

1) Free internet access in room (via Ethernet) - in other/normal rooms this costs extra

2) Access to the club lounge is great. You can check-in and out from here, have a great breakfast, an excellent view and there is a conf room in the back which you can avail of if you are a team needing some office space.

For Lm 8 you can have the hotel pick you up at the airport. This is very convenient, the cars are in better condition than the airport taxis and you don't have to wait in line (Malta requires you to pay in advance from a special counter).

This was my third stay here. There certainly are better hotels on this island, but the staff are really very friendly and this is general a good/convenient hotel for the business traveller.

The carpets are a bit tired and could do with a replacement.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pastaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

City trip from 18 till 23 July 2006. Here are our comments:
> Location: nicely situated (in St Georges Bay), 500 meters away from the bus stops. Easy connections to go to La Valletta or to the ferry terminal. If you are under 16, you are PERFECTLY situated: St Julians is the place to be for clubbing: bars and discos are all concentrated in this area…
> Service: Friendly welcome, helpful and polite people. However… we booked 1 night directly to the hotel and 4 nights through the Priority Club Rewards Nights system. Of course, we informed the reception about this to avoid any misunderstanding and to make sure that everybody understood that there were 2 reservations made under the same name and for the same room. Guess what: the 4th day, when we came back around 7 PM from a trip to Gozo and have to dress to spend the evening enjoying a Sunset Delight Cruise, the door of our room was locked! Of course, nobody took our warning into account and the reservation system thought that we left the hotel and that the room must be made up for the next morning… Difficult to accept from a 5-star hotel!
> Room: beautiful deluxe room with terrace and view on the gardens… One bad point though: housekeeping service. It took 3 days to get the glasses cleaned…
> Breakfast: spoilt for choice: warm & hot dishes, nothing was missing for this American Breakfast!

Malta is a pure delight to visit: the nature landscapes (La Valletta’s Harbour and the Upper Barraca Gardens, Gozo island with the Azur Window, to name but a few) and the historical sites (Hal Saflieni Hypogeum, Temples of Ggantija and Tarxien, the Silent City Mdina) will make sure you come back from Malta with a lot of great pictures and memories!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

I spent a pleasant week here with my mother over the Christmas period. I found the hotel to be very comfortable and clean and that it certainly lived up to its five star status.

LondonJetsetter's review is very comprehensive and gives an accurate impression of the hotel and the surrounding area so I will not repeat what has been written. Having said that it is a little unforgiving in some of the comments and we should remember that these are the views of the writer. For instance, I did not find the pillows too soft and the sound system in the bathroom operated in conjunction with the television/radio.

I would also like to add that that I am very thankful for the professional way the staff dealt with my mother after she passed out at breakfast on Christmas Day. Fortunately, there was nothing seriously wrong with her.

We were also both grateful for the use of a wheel chair supplied by the hotel. It was very useful in getting my mother around the corridors in the hotel.

Finally, I would like to add that I was very impressed with the way other members of staff who were either not working or directly involved with my mother on Christmas Day were aware of what had happened and enquired after my mothers well being right up to the time we left 5 days later. This also applied to those who had assisted us.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Adonis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

This is not a five star standard hotel, cannot fault most of the staff, very friendly.The rooms could be cleaner.It is just to big, and lacks the personal touch.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woody928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for a Saturday to Saturday week (23-30 Dec 2006) - over Christmas.

Getting there
We hired a car (don't use Drifter Car Hire!) and got a bit lost on the way to the hotel as the roadsigns in Malta are non-existent or not very helpful.

Location
Very central for visiting all parts of Malta (and Gozo). Very close to main road number 1. Nothing is more than 20km away in any direction. Well located for local eating out, walks and driving.

Arriving
We arrived late at night (11pm) and had to queue to get into the adjoining multistorey car park (competing with the local clubbers and partygoers) and luckily got one of the last remaining parking bays, on the lowest level. We were disappointed that there is no direct access from the parking garage to the hotel... we had to drag our suitcases up three levels of ramp and then along a street packed with moviegoers and clubbers to reach the hotel. Parking is chargeable (I think about MTL 4 per day) unless you're in a Suite. Although the parking garage is seperate, it is owned/operated by Eden Leisure who also operate the hotel and cinemas (it's ultimately one company).

Checkin
The checkin was swift (it was quiet at 11pm). I had booked a Club Room and was hoping for my free upgrade on Priority Club Platinum level, after the receptionist approached her supervisor to authorise this I was told there were no upgrades available (availability) but the supervisor said that if I was to upgrade to InterContinental's Ambassador programme (for USD150/GBP75/MTL50) I would be guaranteed a room upgrade to a Suite and gain other benefits like free parking and a free weekend night in the next year. I took them up on the upgrade (my main reasons were the weak US dollar and the fact we were staying a week, and I've got more InterContinental stays coming up in 2007). The Ambass. documents were supposed to be sent to the room (these arrived 2 days later, only after a reminder) and the welcome fruit and water never arrived all week (despite a reminder).

Room
We were allocated Suite 1202 (12th floor, accessed from South lifts). This style of Suite is the size of two regular rooms. The first room is a lounge containing a large desk with lamp and internet connection, an easy chair with footstool and a velvet couch. There is a TV and Hi-Fi with mini-bar in the corner. (I'm pretty sure the website said there'd be DVD players in the club rooms, but there weren't). The lounge leads to 2 balconies, one front facing with views of the 10th floor pool deck and the bay - with wooden recliners and a table with chairs and umbrella, the other facing the side with views over other balconies and the neighbouring building's rear - with two chairs. The lounge also leads to a guest bathroom (toilet and basin only) and to the bedroom. The bedroom contained a large (king?) size bed, two sidetables, an easy chair and a TV. Two sets of cupboards (containing digital safe big enough for a laptop, ironing board, iron, more hangers than usual, laundry basket). There are extra pillows available in the room. The bedroom also has a balcony with views similar to the side on described above. The main bathroom is very spacious with seperate bath and shower. Included are shower gel, conditioner,shampoo, body cream, mouthwash, soap, sewing kit. Wall mounted hair dryer. The room is decorated in neutral tones (cremes, light greens). The blackout curtains are effective. Club ROoms and Suites are offered a turn down service in the evenings, with a little chocolate.

Room Issues
+ Damp - there was a damp issue in our room, probably from an earlier flooding. The room smelt damp and the glass sliding doors were almost permanently foggged up as a result of the damp. On one day there was a damp patch on the lounge carpet below the airconditioner unit.
+ Sliding doors - these didnt close easily and it wasnt clear if they closed shut properly or not
+ Noise - despite being up 12 floors and in the middle of the hotel, the bass from nearby clubs in Paceville was audible - especially on the weekends
+ Pillows - were a bit soft
+ Suitcase rack - only one was provided
+ Bathroom - had a speaker in the ceiling and a volume control but was not connected to anything
+ Shower flooding - there was a sticker on the shower door offering a warning, but unless you are very careful water will seep out from the shower tray and spill all over the bathroom floor

Club Room
If you take one bit of advice from this review - it's that you must book a room with Club Room access! The club room on the 15th floor is big and the features are great. There are a couple of TV's with different news programmes on, there is a large balcony with views in all directions, the staff are friendly and helpful and most importantly there is the free food and drink. The club room is open from 6:30am to 10pm (pity its not open later). Breakfast is served from 6:30 to 11am. There is a range of cold items (coffees, juices, breads, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, med. stuff like olives - as well as hot items like beans, bacon, sausages and mushrooms). Eggs are prepared to order and the poached, scrambled and omeletes are all recommended. Afternoon tea is served from 3 to 5pm. This includes sandwiches, scones and cakes. Beware, this is not replenished, so if you are not there at 3pm you may miss out. Canapes are served from 7pm to 9pm. Once again, it pays to be there at 7pm prompty to benefit fully. Soft drinks and beer are available throughout the day, but the spirits (hard tack!) come out at 7pm. It's self service. THere's two laptops available for internet access.

Club Room Issues
+ Should stay open later (beyond 10pm)
+ Need better control, the door roomkey control was broken so the door was ajar and we werent always challenged for our room number. I'm not sure but I'm convinced that the club room was being used by those not entitled to it!
+ Need a better system of controlling internet laptops. The policy is that they're for over 18's only (this was not enforced) and some individuals would hog the computers (sometimes for over an hour) and just to sit on instant messenger and social networking sites... when I needed to sort out flights! Even approaching the club room staff elicited a "sorry, I can't tell her to move"
+ Not prepared for busy period - christmas and new year period is busy and they weren't ready, breakfast tables weren't set.

Hotel General Areas
The hotel is big and it takes time to move around. There is no (publicly accessible) 1st floor. The second floor is one below ground and is the business centre and conference rooms. The ground floor is also the 3rd floor... reception, concierge, guest relations, lobby lounge/bar, jewellers, hotel shop. Fourth floor is the main buffet restaurant Harruba, the Soprano pasta restaurant and the Eastern Breeze restaurant. Fifth floor is access to the indoor pool, gym and beauty centre. Six and seven give access to the Carissa Italian restaurant and bar, also the gardens and (seasonal) Al Fresco restaurant. 10th floor is the rooftop gardens and outdoor pool with (seasonal) bar. Club Room is up on 15. There are two banks of lifts, south and north. South goes all the way to 15. Lifts have wall to ceiling mirrors inside with TV's!

Food Service
+ Room Service - prices are very reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Delivered within 30 minutes. Comes on a trolley with builtin warmer. Also came with free bread and butter and a candle.
+ Harruba - we used this once for the Christmas day buffet. Massive selection, some unusual options but quality very good. Attentive service.
+ Eastern Breeze - very good. Big servings, tasty. Smart decor. Worth booking on the weekends - popular with locals.
+ "Seasonal" - as we were there in the middle of winter, some restaurants and bars weren't open (including all the Beach Club and outdoor pool facilities)

Staff
+ Concierge - brilliant, friendly, helpful - they helped us with everything from casino shuttles to stamps to booking our Sicily daytrip.
+ Reception - efficient
+ Instant Service - quick to answer and responsive, but not all requests satisfactorily fulfilled
+ Club Room - well intentioned, but need to exert more control (see above)
+ In general... very friendly and helpful
+ As were there for Christmas we were given a panettone with compliments of the general manager and his wife.

Pool & Gym
Indoor pool was good. No opening hours published, assume its open 24 hours. Rectangular, 1.1m deep throughout. Lifeguard on duty. Spacious changing rooms. Free towels. Water warm, not hot. Also Sauna and steamroom available. Pity there's no whirlpool spa. Didn't use the gym, but it looked huge and popular. Squash court at the back.

Beauty Clinic
We checked the prices and there is better value along the road at the Radisson Hotel!

Nearby the hotel
+ [Recommended] Hard Rock Cafe (across the road) - keen prices by HRC standards and massive portions and friendly attentive staff
+ Corleone (Italian - across the road) - give it a miss, bit pricy and food not fantastic
+ Chinese Restaurant (a short walk past the Dragonara Westin, and adjoining the Golden Tulip hotel) - good food, staff struggled with English
+ Ten Pin Bowling (across the road) - very popular so get in early or book in advance. Free shoe hire with your key card
+ BayStreet mall (across the road) - good selection of shops (Mexx, M&S, Newsagent with British papers & postcards, Choclatier) and other restaurants (Cafe, Pizza, McDonalds, Argentinian Steakhouse)
+ Bureau de Change - just along from the hotel on the right
+ Off-licence - just along on the right

Overall
We would stay again (we'll go in summer next time). We do recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
26  Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Found the hotel and staff to be right up to the five star class. Stayed in the Club rooms which we very comfortable and the Club room was always clean and the staff very helpful.

The only negative, in my opinion is the location. Can be very noisy through the night during week-ends.

Apart from the main restaurant which was good, we found the Asian restuarant to be excellent and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Royskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $81 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing