We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Travelled on the 11th of july and got back yesterday on our ryanair flight. The transfer from the airport was around 15 minutes and we (12 of us) travelled in 3 taxis which wait outside the airport.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by reception and checked in.

We stayed in a family room with one king sized bed and two single beds, it was huge and there was more than enough room and facilities in the room to suit us for a month! The doors were double glazed leading out to the balcony and no sound from clubs or bars could be heard.

Every morning we had breakfast in the garden on the 7th floor but don't go last minute or you will be caught up in the chaos.

The pool is brilliant very lively but if its windy you have to sit out in the sun all day as you're not allowed umbrellas up. Also, don't hog the pool when playing with inflatables or you won't be allowed to do so anymore.

The buffet on the ground floor was great the food was good quality and it was a lovely restaurant. For the rest of our nights we went out for food or just had a quick meal... TIP - There is a great takeaway pizza place just down the road or a mcdonalds opposite.
One flaw only - The service in the water biscuit was painfully slow... Took them 10 minutes to make a coca cola and a cisk...

Overall the holiday was great despite the manager being a little rude to us.

Stayed July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 4,049 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Travelled on the 11th of july and got back yesterday on our ryanair flight. The transfer from the airport was around 15 minutes and we (12 of us) travelled in 3 taxis which wait outside the airport.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by reception and checked in.

We stayed in a family room with one king sized bed and two single beds, it was huge and there was more than enough room and facilities in the room to suit us for a month! The doors were double glazed leading out to the balcony and no sound from clubs or bars could be heard.

Every morning we had breakfast in the garden on the 7th floor but don't go last minute or you will be caught up in the chaos.

The pool is brilliant very lively but if its windy you have to sit out in the sun all day as you're not allowed umbrellas up. Also, don't hog the pool when playing with inflatables or you won't be allowed to do so anymore.

The buffet on the ground floor was great the food was good quality and it was a lovely restaurant. For the rest of our nights we went out for food or just had a quick meal... TIP - There is a great takeaway pizza place just down the road or a mcdonalds opposite.
One flaw only - The service in the water biscuit was painfully slow... Took them 10 minutes to make a coca cola and a cisk...

Overall the holiday was great despite the manager being a little rude to us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We are pleased that you had an easy journey and convenient journey to the hotel and you found the facilities and amenities in your room all to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Booked 2 weeks before arriving on the 11th . It was room only and we had 2 rooms. Felt a bit pressured in taking a 45 euro per night per room for breakfast, lounge access with free drinks from 5.30pm to 7.30pm plus afternoon tea and soft drinks. So it worked out at 315 euros per room . After a couple of nights we felt we were not using the full facility and to pay 630 euro it was expensive. ( we are not heavy drinkers and my kids are not too fussed with soft drinks throughout the day and cakes for afternoon tea.
The buffet in the evening did not interest us, we tried the middle eastern evening and it was not very good. We often saw the main restaurant quite empty on the theme nights. The staff were all very good from the girl in the lounge bar, pool staff, breakfast staff etc, the location is good for nightlife with a few fast food outlets and you need to travel 10 minutes for good causal dining restaurants. On the whole I would recommend this place but do your homework on the room/ breakfast issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL_London12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent pool area
Very good staff service in general
Very bad coffee during breakfast! Better take tea or water!
Very good location near sea, clubs and restaurants
No parking available if you rent car

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service you received from our staff, also that you were able to enjoy the many facilities in and around the hotel. With regard to the parking availability, please note that while there is a car park adjacent to the hotel, though this is not operated by the hotel. Guest however are welcome to use it and our Concierge Team provides a valet service for all guests if requested.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Service is absolutely fantastic in this hotel, everybody is very friendly.
Location is near to alot of clubs and bars but we couldn't hear the noise from our room.
Private beach is nice. With drinks available and sun beds.
Breakfast is with plenty of choices.
Negatives- pool is very shallow all the way. And looks much bigger in the pictures than it is.
Tip-- go visit the blue lagoon, you can find tour companies as you walk a little further out from the club area

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tendulkarlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in June. I was a little concerned before I arrived that the area was going to be a bit too lively & noisy for us but saw that most people gave good reviews. I telephoned ahead and asked for a quiet room. We heard music from around the pool, but that stopped at about 7.00, I think. Apart from that we heard nothing- we were very pleasantly surprised. In the evening we walked through the lively bar area outside, we never felt intimidated, everyone was having fun, we just walked through and within 5 minutes of walking it all quietened down.

We were greeted on arrival and checked in really quickly. We were offered an upgrade at extra cost but declined this. Our room was fine, it faced an internal garden area and was on the 9th floor. When sitting on the balcony we could only really see into the balconies of the rooms opposite, but as we didn't spend much time in our room it didn't matter.

Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was superb with toiletries and tea/coffee replaced daily. The mini bar is expensive so we didn't use it. I feel that if the prices were lower I would have probably emptied the mini bar of food and drink and the hotel would have still made a profit!

The pool area on the 10th floor was spacious, with plenty of sunbeds. Towels are provided. It is well served by staff bringing food and drinks and keeping it clean and tidy.
We couldn't believe the number of staff around, and they all look so smart too!

I used the gym a couple of times during our stay and it is very impressive. My friend booked a massage at the spa which she enjoyed and we both used the indoor pool before breakfast which made a good start to the day.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, hot and cold, pastries, fruit etc

Without doubt it is the staff who make this hotel, we had superb service from everyone that we encountered, everyone said 'good morning/afternoon' etc. Joseph at breakfast was a delight. He told us of places to visit and had many a helpful, cheerful word for us. Luis in the lobby was charming and helpful, the concierge gave us information about buses, taxis etc. The taxi was arranged by the hotel and was a fixed price so you know what to expect before you get in. Our taxi driver Charles was very helpful. We had a trip to Mdina and Masaxlokk by taxi and took the bus to Valletta.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Spinola Bay. Balluta Bay a bit further on and Sliema. All a lovely walk in the evening.

This was my seventh stay in Malta, I love it but I have never been back to the same hotel more than once for different reasons, there was always something not quite right. I think this hotel will be the exception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UkKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is located in St. Julian, close to St George's Bay, and offers wide rooms, a number of nice restaurants, and a very complete and tasty continental breakfast.
Unfortunately, when I entered the room I discovered that the W.C. was not very clean in the inside. It can be a mistake, but for me it was a show-stopper.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry-Janko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,705 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $121 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing