We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel has excellent staff - real 5 star service. The hotel itself is a bit old and the tidiness should be better. Though we enjoyed a private beach with comfortable sun beds, outdoor swimming pool on the roof and indoor pool. The area is very loud but it does not bother during the night due to double doors to the balcony. I would totally recommend to visit Water biscuit hotel restaurant - excellent food, fantastic design and perfect service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,005)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

...however, it is still a very nice hotel. Parts of the hotel could do with a refurb but we liked the pool area, Paranga (pricey but one of the best seafood restaurants in St. Julians), the little beach club and the executive lounge. The staff were super friendly (being a Gold Ambassador helped) and seemed to really try. We were there over Easter when the hotel was somewhat full - rooms were spacious with a large bathroom. No noise issues from Paceville but we were on a high floor (with a baby).

We also stayed at the Hilton on the same trip and I would say we preferred the Intercontinental (primarily owing to the staff).

When in St. Julians, eat at San Guiliano (another great fish restaurant), Gululu (for Maltese specialties), Peopinos (for lunch - too busy at dinner) and Zeri's (for dinner, in the marina)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good for business or family vacation. Very helpful staff. I will recommend it strongly for the service offered.
I has issues at my check in and they managed to resolve it and offered me an upgrade for the trouble caused.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

during a business trip to Malta, I used a hire car to get around the island. When my work day was finished I returned to this hotel where I took advantage of the valet service at the front of the hotel, the staff at the hotel agreed to park my car. Unfortunately, the hire cars bumper was scratched in the care of the driver, it looks like the back bumper has been scuffed when it was being parked.

The hire company charged me £125 directly for this which I had no choice to pay, I contacted the hotel for a refund. They have refused to give a refund and are happy to make me pay for it.

terrible service and they have been very irresponsible with other peoples belongings.

Please avoid at all cost, they don't care about their customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank joey7bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 and liked it so much we are returning in Sept 2014.
We found the suite to be well furnished and very comfortable.
All the staff were most helpful and very friendly.
Didn't use the restaurant as it was a little expensive and there are plenty of eating places nearby.
I imagine it to be quite a noisy place during high season as there are several clubs nearby as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days we found the hotel very clean and staff were very helpful . The room was lovely everything you could want from tea /coffee facilities to complementary shampoos and lotions ,The pool was well maintained and plenty of sunbeds and parasols for all. The indoor pool was equally as nice and the spa facilities were exceptional . We had a lovely massage and reflexology treatment and the prices were reasonable . The hotel was well located to travel all over Malta either by taxi or if you liked walking St George's bay was only 5min walk away . We stayed bed& breakfast as you would expect everything you could want from continental to full English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogers1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Have just returned from 10 day holiday at this hotel which is superb and one that we could not fault. We are not normally great fans of large hotels but from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very special by a friendly and welcoming staff who could not do enough for us. The location is close to the lively night club area and in a very busy street but our room was peaceful and relaxing, meticulously clean and extremely comfortable overlooking an inner garden area. Breakfasts in the hotels Harruba restaurant were great - huge choice with Joseph and Andrea on hand to keep the coffee flowing! Massive choice of restaurants nearby (Concierge James can recommend various) to suit all budgets and tastes and with an efficient and cheap bus service all parts of the island are easily accessible. Loungers and parasols are plentiful on the sun deck and the private beach a few short steps from the hotels front door is an added attraction. Thank you to all at the Intercontinental St Julians for everything - we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2krr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $89 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing