We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have been staying at Intercontinental Malta and this was my 5th Visit there. Each time I stay there I am amazed as to how very different everyone at this hotel is to the rest of the world IHG group of hotels.
A very special "thank you once again to Robert " and also Louis, a new find... Louise is new and his smile and warm personality makes you feel so comfortable. he was so kind as to help us in finding our way on public transport.
Our 4 night stay and Intercon was the best ever... I will be back there again this year if I can, if not for sure next year..
thank you once again.. keep up the amazing hospitality ..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruani r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fantastic place to stay staff could not be any better espesialy lewis he will make a great future member of the management team.rooftop pool brilliant sauna brilliant rooms excelent service fantastic .The hotel is right in the centre of all bars and resturants

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for 8 days and had a lovely time. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I emailed ahead and asked for a high floor and nice view and got both. The hotel is very central in St Julian's ,close to all bars,shops and restaurants, which can be noisy and lively in the evening, but we knew this. The concierge James is very helpful in organising all your excursions. Great pool and pool bar on the 10th floor with lovely views.
Would be more than happy to return here

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionagibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent 4 nights in April in Intercontinental Malta. As an IHG Platinum member, we were upgraded automatically to a Superior room with garden view. Room was really spacious, cosy and clean. Staff was extremely friendly, concierge service was excellent. The roof-top Club Lounge was simply brilliant. Thanks for the time we spent there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gergely83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

If your coming to Malta for any reason, this is the hotel to stay. Situated in a entertainment area, close to shops, and one of the only sandy beaches, on the island, which the hotel have a section exclusive for hotel guests. The hotel has very clean comfortable rooms, and the club lounge is like walking into a oasis of calm, from the heat and busy streets of the town. The food is good, but the water biscuit restaurant, beats, many top London restaurants for the excellent food and outstanding service by very knowledgeable waiters. The most outstanding feature of the hotel is the helpful, knowledgeable staff who are always friendly and smiling and real proud of there hotel, and the customer service they provide. Really good value.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights earlier this month and had a fabulous time. The rooms were a good size, well furnished and very clean - no complaints at all. The breakfast was fantastic - so much choice and all of a high quality. Would recommend the made to order omelettes. The thing that really made our stay special was the service we received. All the staff were brilliant from the reception staff to the bar and restaurant staff - everybody really wanted to make your stay enjoyable! The hotel was located in a central location opposite a shopping mall and a 2 minute walk to the hotel's private section of the beach. It was right by Paceville which we found entertaining and the soundproofed balcony doors ensured we did not hear any noise. A five minute walk away was the marina by the Hilton where there were a few restaurants and a bit further on was Spinola Bay which was beautiful. From here there was a flat promenade walk along the coastline into the next resort Sliema which was lovely to walk along and then beyond there was Valletta - a must see! We had a fabulous time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and my two kids and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We had booked a cheap online agent rate and decided beforehand to try and ask the hotel for an upgrade to a larger room to better accomodate the four of us. The hotel offered us three different upgrade option of which we decided to take the Terrace Suite at a supplement of 75€ per night. On the hotel website it says that all suites come with "50 sq m of luxury includes separate living area use of the 15th floor InterContinental club lounge and terrace offering exclusive check in complementary breakfast and refreshments throughout the day".

However, on arrival we were told that as we had not paid the full amount for the suite, we were not entitled to lounge acces and hence complimentary breakfast. This was a big disappointment and highly questionable given what was stated on the hotel web site. We had been given no information indicating that our terms were in any way special or inferiour to other guests staying in suites. And the complimentary breakfast was an important argument for taking the upgrade. So of course we felt very badly treated at this stage. They would not offer us the lounge access that I still feel that we should have had, but offered us complimentary breakfast for one night and a discount for breakfast for the next two nights (they later waived this charge without me pushing for this in any way). I accepted this, but also let the front office manager know that I was not pleased with the solution.

Arriving at noon, our room was not ready despite a request for an early check-in. This is understandable as official check-in is at 3 pm. However, the check-in agent promised to call us as soon as the room was ready. They apparently forgot about this, which was disappointing. We returned at around 3 pm to find that the room was ready. Since this bad experience at check-in, I have to admit that the hotel staff did a lot to correct the bad experience connected to the check-in, calling often to check if everything was ok. They also provided us with a room to stay in until 6 pm on our check-out day with a charge of 50€, which was also waived without any asking at all.

I have to say that the hotel was good. Our room was really nice. Spacious, good lay out and a stunning terrace where we could have dinner (having a, btw, surprisingly good room service meal). One thing that is after all a small thing, but nevertheless pretty annoying, was that the water in the shower was impossible to control, it shifted from cold to burning within an instant, making showers a less pleasant experience. We had dinner from a few of the restaurants, and we were overall pleased, however one of them did mess up orders due to an obviously insufficient knowledge of English.

So in the end - the hotel was objectively good. The facilities are good and overall worthy of the five star rating, but I very much disliked being treated this way at check-in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebennike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing