We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Well I had not been to Malta for years and my arrival was full of surprises.

Ideally located in the heart of St Julian's Bay - this hotel certainly lives up to its star rating as one would expect from the Inter Continental Brand.

I was fortunate to stay in a club room and therefore access to the Club Lounge and to be honest well worthy of any additional supplements for those who can afford or want it. Very well stocked, with constant fresh canapes served daily.. The roof terrace to enjoy a late night drink or breakfast with a relaxed and friendly service from all the staff. Mentioning the staff is important as throughout my 4 night stay I encountered smiling friendly faces with good levels of service. I recall one evening my turn down maid arriving and telling her that I did not need the service! Her reply was "but you need your chocolate later" and went straight and fetched it! Very amusing.

Facilities are excellent and with good dining options you will not be spoilt for choice.

Finally and I am very honest for group organiser's - conference and Incentive - this is without doubt a perfect hotel and venue and I have no issues in commending it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhickerSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,009)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 4,009 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is an average 5 star international chain hotel. Spacious nice rooms, very good location, the breakfast is perfect (and quite cheap - 10€), the swiming pools are nice also. You know what you are paying for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesargzurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recently surprised my Daughter and New Son in law with a holiday to Malta They have just returned full of praise for the Hotel and Staff.It is there first visit They stayed in a Club room with access to the Club lounge There words it was fantastic A special mention to Waterbiscuit, the pork cheeks were to die for .looking forward to there next visit hope it won't be to long

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for a week off season, this hotel has the best, largest club lounge we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Very well stocked, with constant fresh canapes brought to us. Lovely roof terrace to enjoy a late night drink also. The rooms are of the usual high IC standard, our only negative was the pool and spa facilities, nothing bad, just not as good as other ICs. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, the street with all cocktail bars went down especially well. We would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having been here before but at garden side, this time went for front of hotel, where all the noise was ( well it is a mini city) being a nosy person, I was happy to sit on balcony and watch the world go by, or the few hundred kids that came to the language school across rd for the week. Most our day was spent either walking round area, and it was lovely, with the odd stop for refreshments....or we lay aside rooftop pool, which was fantastic. Staff where very attentive, being close by when another cocktail was required. All staff were fantastic, very pleasant and extremely helpful. This hotel has everything to offer and what is not inside is most definitely outside in surrounding area.
Only negative...we decided, for fun, we would do the sightseeing bus, but in evening.....not good idea! although we had a laugh??honestly didn't see much! Valletta at night, lovely, but get night bus in ... Went through lot of villages, saw nothing..obviously too dark; but lesson learned . Daytime tour next time ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laursma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Like some other viewers I was slightly concerned if the local area noise levels might affect getting a good nights sleep but it was not a problem what so ever. We had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the garden (well facing the trees and a small edge of the garden but it gave us privacy which was ideal for us).

We had a standard double room which was more than large enough for us and was very very comfortable and had all the amenities and facilities you need and would expect from a 5 star hotel and with a great bathroom and large bath we really couldn't fault anything wrong with the room. Yes the Hotel is next to the party area but I knew this when I booked it and so should most people so those that complained of the area should have done a bit of homework first. We would normally elect to go somewhere quieter than this type of resort area but we thought for a change we'd try something different and we were glad we did as we really enjoyed it. Being so close to the bars and clubs makes is a great area for people watching and just across the bay there is a few quieter bars for eating and drinking see other reviews for Andrews Bar.

Breakfast time was busy but what do you expect when you have a busy hotel but the staff where very attentive to make sure you got a table straight away and they kept on top of getting the tables cleared and cleaned ready for the next guests, I'd rather have seen this than leaving dirty plates on tables any day of the week. The breakfast was really good, you had every choice you needed from cooked breakfast, cereals, fruits, waffles, cakes, cold buffet and a lot more, there was enough choice for all tastes and there should be no complaints about breakfast, I would say the ones that have made complaints about the breakfast then they are being far too fussy.

Overall I would certainly recommend the Hotel for a romantic break and don't worry about the noise outside I expected it and it didn't affect our sleeping as you couldn't hear a thing so it was absolutely fine and we really enjoyed some of the small bars and cafe's in the clubbing areas, sitting later in the evening with a coffee and small whiskey watching the world go by and people watching the young party goers, stags and hens was quite funny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the end of April in the Intercontinental. We originally had difficulty in finding the hotel and ended up parking our hire car to see if we could find it on foot. Walking around Paceville I was worried that this wasn't going to be the perfect end to our weeks holiday in Malta. Paceville reminded me of Benitses in Corfu, where I visited as a teenager for a girls holiday. We walked by bar after bar, a couple of strip clubs and a macdonalds - not my ideal location for a romantic holiday and I wondered why on earth DH had booked us in a hotel here! However walking into the foyer filled me with a sense of calm, it felt civilised, light and airy and quiet (as compared to outside). We stayed in a club room with access to the club members lounge, this includes access to computers/iPads and magazines, free hot and cold none alcoholic beverages, afternoon tea served between 3pm and 5pm, and free alcoholic beverages and canapés between 5.30pm and 7.30pm (perfect pre dinner prep!). This actually translated in us not actually eating out on one evening and not needing a glass of wine over dinner on the other two nights. The outdoor pool area is huge (though the weather was not quite warm enough for us to take a dip) and there are a number of bars and restaurants in the hotel (though not all were open in April). We did venture to the pizza restaurant one evening and the staff noticed I had barely touched my seafood pizza (unfortunately it wasn't to my taste - too cheesy and the mussels still had their beards intact) I was asked firstly by a waitress and then by the restaurant manager if there was something wrong with the food. I explained (under duress) what the problem was and the cost of my pizza was immediately taken off of our bill. We also ate in the hotel's Paranga Restaurant located on the seafront. The food was good but you will need to order a side of vegetables as the meals are lacking. We did venture outside of the hotel visiting Valleta and St Julian's Bay, as we paid for parking at the hotel (€10 pn) valet service is included which was a lovely touch. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and although the hotel is a little tired in places we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemisskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $87 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing