We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A pretty good 4star plus, Or 5 star minus. 4out of 5 in almost everything I tried. Good beddings, with replaceable duvet like cover. Good mattress but not top. Clean room, shower and bath facilities separately in the same room and tv with just free bbc and cnn worth watching (local tv excluded)-no discovery, history etc channels.
Service wise 5/5. Breakfast was quite good with huge variety and good quality. Only thing to mention would probably be the crepes instead of pan cakes and the non fresh orange juice, which nevertheless was ok.
To summarise, a definite come back hotel with its strongest point being the service which is attributed to the excellent staff, which makes you feel like home...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank vyyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,278
    496
    179
    104
See reviews for
881
1,461
134
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My partner and I only checked into this marvellous establishment for only one night.... I wish we had the availability to stay longer as we where treated beautifully. .. fabulous staff.... upgrades and complementary gifts where continuous. ... couldn't of asked for more...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victexmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for a short break, as far as hotels go I expected more form Intercontinental. When we arrived in the afternoon our room was not ready... as you can imagine after early flights and lots of travelling this Is a bit of a disappointment, we were then given keys to use spa and pool and I used this to get changed but not the same as getting to your room, was nightmare lugging cases about to go get changed and could not fully relax or feel fresh and was a waiting game to get into a room.
When your only staying for couple days this can eat away at what valuable time you have to relax. We were 'upgraded' to a suite room as our room wouldn't be ready for 2 days?? so then had to move again 2 days later , so couldn't really un pack...moving and packing cases and not being able to relax fully...it had been booked for 3 months you'd think they would have rooms ready.
Saying that the concierge where helpful though, we could of just done without room issues... the suite room as OK, a bit out dated and tired, bed not comfy at all.
So when we finally moved into our room for last day and night was a pleasant surprise to find was a lot nicer so disappointing we didn't have that room for whole stay. Staff friendly though , pool bar was great and plenty of loungers when we went, cocktails great and food good, I wouldn't recommend the food at restaurant on the middle of hotel though, ambience and setting was great , staff great and live muisic great but the food was a let down and very pricey for what it was! I'd stick to water biscuit if your going to eat there.
Over all Im sad to say I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 605Clueless605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Have stayed there twice now and it's good value, well-positioned, close to lots of amenities and the rooms are above average.
The staff are friendly and polite and do their best to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Decent hotel in Malta. Clean with friendly staff with nice rooms and decent views. The gym is a little walk from the complex and is a bit outdated. Super restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Nice bars on site and a decent roof pool

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked this hotel for one week (11-18 January) for ourselves and our adult daughter , check in was amazing sorry forgot the very helpful man behind he counter but was from Bulgaria. All staff very friendly and helpful , special mention to "Joseph" in the restaurant , great sense of humour and could not do enough for us. We had a great time , few little pointers was that the heating system was set on warm and could not be changed to cool. Free wifi was great but had to be refreshed every 1/2 an hour which became a bit tedious . Anyhow we had a fantastic time and this was our first visit to Malta which is a lovely little island with a great history.

Cheers Leen van Duin and family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leendert2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel - The hotel is easily reached from the airport - taxi or bus. Very close to the hop on hop off to visit all the sites, alternatively a quick walk up a hill to the bus stop which will take you anywhere on the island. Interiors are a little run down/slapped together for a 5 star. The outdoor pool looked great (was just a little cold in January to go swimming in it!). The indoor pool was great, good dept for children. The 'private beach' is a walk away, not actually part of the hotel. Also not really a 'beach' where you would want to hang out with all the crowds. Better staying around the pool.

Rooms - we were in a junior suite (after buying upgrade on check-in). Rooms were large, could probably have stayed in the normal room (2 adults/1 child), however for 4 nights, thought we would go with the larger rooms. Comfortable beds, large bathrooms, with separate bath.

Breakfast - traditional breakfast buffet. The normal bakery items, hot foods (sausage, eggs, potatoes) made to order omelets, pancakes, french toast

The welcome was great. The hotel employee was very diligent and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeTravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing