We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you expect,from a large chain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff are good on the whole, but you feel like your just one of thousands of others passing through this large chain. The hotel pool on the roof was great, but for most of our stay a drill from across the road was pounding at the rocks (not the hotels fault).
When we arrived we were given two rooms away from each other, I said I had requested two close by, to which the receptionist said I had not mentioned this when booking. I showed her my request as it was on my booking print off, to which she said she would see what she could do. What she should have said was, sorry sir this was our mistake and apologised. In the end we got two rooms on the same floor but they were about 1 mins walk from one another. With a baby in tow this was not great; a pushchair in this area is not ideal as paceville round the corner is all steps.
My room was a good size and peaceful but the carpet needed renewing and the door frame by the shower was starting to rot. The maid who did the room missed out on her tip as I put it there on Sunday morning, and I'm pretty sure that's the only day she didn't do it. Maybe an envelope drop off point for tips might work better.
On leaving we found mini bar items on the bill which we had not had. We had cooled the baby's bottle and then replaced the items. The whole minibar which charges after 15 seconds of something moving and has an enormous one off fee for empytying it, is a public relations disaster. The girl on reception who checked us out was at least understanding and helpful unlike the other female reception staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuidoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our suite was very comfortable and we enjoyed watching all of the traffic and young people from our balcony. Our room was very quiet even with all of the noise outside. When we were eating in the area we ate at the hotel which was very relaxing. The food was very good and there were mini markets around to pick up food when you just wanted to make something yourself. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. This is a hilly area as is most of Malta and we had to be very careful walking outside at night not to trip. The young ladies were doing it in very high heels and not even holding on to their dates. We arrived the last day before it got too cold to swim in the very large roof pool. There are so many things to do on the island that we didn't miss hanging out at the pool. We used points from our timeshare and were in the diamond resorts area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abigailNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

great resort, perfect location, rooms amazing, only thing that dissapointed was the tv, only news channels! it would have been nice to watch a film or somthing light hearted at the end of the day. having said that i would definately go back, i really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental last week. Their best commodity is their staff, polite and well-trained and very attuned to customer service and satisfaction.
Breakfast had a great choice of foods in a very nice setting. Location is good, great for the young and young of heart to dance all night in the Paceville discos, bars and clubs just behind the hotel. Easy to catch local busses all over the island from behind the hotel and concierge knowledgable giving sound advice.
The room is where they lose marks. The first room we were sent to on the 12th floor smelt badly of mould. I immediately went down again to reception and received a second room. The room had been refurbished , carpets removed (as they claimed that this was the source of the smell in the first room) BUT the bathroom was absolutely not up to 5-star standard. Rust on the bath, chipped and cracked floor tiles, stained marble around the sink and a dirty toilet seat. I felt rather awkward complaining again but as we were staying 5 nights I did. We were politely shown another 2 rooms that we could choose from. One was similar to room #2 but bathroom in a better state and another huge family room but facing the main street with a tiny one person balcony. I opted for the regular room and it was fine albeit not 'deluxe'.
Just another word on the rooms are that they face all directions. Our room faced the inner courtyard and we had the continuous noise of the hotels' air-conditioning systems. I could not sit on the balcony because of the high noise level. The best facing is to the pool with a nice garden below, avoid the Paceville side and the main street if possible.
Another disturbing incident involved the minibar. As I have a specific diet I brought some food with me which i wanted to store in the room's minibar. A couple of days after we arrived we received a typed notice under the door that if we do not remove our food from both shelves we will be charged 30 Euro. We are allowed to use just one shelf. On the last afternoon I was resting on the bed when there was a knock and the door opened to reveal the minibar man wanting to refill his minibar. Why he thought he could just enter the room without waiting for an answer I do not know but thankfully I was decent :-)
We had a good vacation but not sure i will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther90435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It is 9 years since last in Malta and i chose to return to this large luxury hotel in St Julians. It is about 20 mins by taxi (€20) from the airport and probably much longer in time on the X.2 bus which stops at the top of the main street. The hotel occupies a large area and I was upgraded to a suite on the 13th floor (1342).

Getting a room with Club Lounge access on the 15th floor meant I had breakfast included in the price as well as several internet terminals, afternoon tea and sandwiches as well as free alcoholic drinks between 17.30 and 19.30. Well worth paying the extra on the room rate.

The suite itself had a balcony, and a giant bed with firm comfortable mattress. the walkin wardrobe was unusual and the bathroom had walkin shower as well as bath tub. My one criticism was there was no grabrail for the shower so there was a risk of slipping on tiled floor.

Checkin was in the Club lounge. Checkout was at ground floor. Both quite slow but efficient.

There is an outside pool on 10th floor (muchof its area is too shallow to swim in) and indoor pool about 20m in length > I tried the outside one but really not warm enough in November.

The Waterbiscuit is one of the hotel's restaurants and was quite good. It had a lively bar atmosphere downstairs on Friday evening.

As others have commented, to climb up the stairs to walk to st Julians Bay restaurants requires running the gauntlet of noisy bars, fast food places and <gentlemens Clubs> Not dangerous but rather noisy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We followed the advice to go for a higher level room, 7 was good. A garden view would be better as our room looked straight into language school opposite. Room smelled damp everytime we returned to it, but it was quiet and nicely appointed.
We had delicious fresh cocktails from the garden level bar, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast waiter Joseph was very obliging and friendly.
You have to try the Turkish Hamam, so utterly relaxing..
Definitely one hotel we want to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick-flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is very good, service and staff.
The breakfast was average.
The location is good for nightlife but it is quite far from Valleta and not central for star trips to Malta sites.
We've experienced two problems:
1. View from the room was disappointing (industrial roofs)
2. The elevator was too close to the room - we heard noises

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haim64ChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing