We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money if not looking for a waterfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great value for money if not looking for a waterfront hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice location if your are interested on the nightlife of Malta, nice rooms especially the ones that have the back view. Descent breakfast buffet and always have a good discount when compared with similar hotels in Malta that are on the beachfront

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,326
    509
    181
    109
See reviews for
898
1,507
139
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First the bad - excellently appointed room on the 14th floor but major noise problem as situated below the executive club lounge. Problem solved efficiently by management by a move to the 12th floor. More generally extensive use of tiled floors in room can cause noise to neighbors - moving the desk char sounded like skinning a cat alive.

Now the good. Very spacious guest rooms and large, well-appointed bathrooms (with separate shower). All rooms have a balcony although not all will get sun - mine didn't. Reasonably good wardrobe space and plenty of drawers. Good w-fi throughout. Very good pools (although I only visited rather than used) and plenty of good F&B choices. The only ones I used (apart from the coffee shop for the included breakfast) were Water Buiscut (for pre-linch cocktails) followed by Paranga (situated by the hotel's private beach - down the road a little from the hotel proper) - really excellent seafood (but service a bit slow). If I had been staying longer I would have tried more outlets.

Check-in and chack-out were painless (despite an issue with the correct change on the latter). Concierge service was very helpful in informative.

This is a large hotel but the bedrooms layout (three 'wings' off the elevator lobby core) still gave it a relatively cosy feel.

Location is very good - and there are plenty of F&B alternatives withinn an easy walk.

Would I stay againg - 100% yes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband I recently spent 6 nights at the Intercontinental, St George's Bay, Malta. We have been to Malta several times and had experienced different types of accommodation from villas to hotels over the years. However, it was our first stay at the Intercontinental and we were very pleasantly surprised. Granted it is a big hotel right in the thick of a busy area with shops, restaurants, bars etc. but we had a 'club' room on the 14th floor looking on to the garden and pool, and out beyond to the sea. Very quiet at night. Due to us having a club room we had the use of their club facilities on the 15th floor. This is a wonderful facility and well worth the extra cost for the room. We had breakfast there every morning (which is included) out on the terrace which has panoramic views. Then there is the 'happy 2 hours' in the evening from 5:30 - 7:30pm where alcoholic drinks are FOC served with canapés. Lovely staff there, especially Salvatore who looked after us and our friends very well. This is a good hotel with a good atmosphere where any request for their help or to fix something is done quickly and efficiently, and with a pleasant attitude. We had an electrical problem in the room which affected the bedside lights and hairdryer, and also a faulty remote for the TV, both situations were sorted immediately. Will definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay. We had a great time in Malta. The Intercontinental Hotel is a great Hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Adam on the concierge desk .
We stayed in a club room which was very spacious and comfortable.
My only criticism concerns the food. We had breakfast in the executive lounge every day but the food was always cold. We ate once in the Alfresco Garden but the food was poor quality and cold. We also had a meal in the Soprano. I ordered a chicken bbq pizza which I waited 40 minutes for and when it arrived it had no chicken. If it wasn't for the food I would certainly stay at this Hotel again.
Malta is a great place to visit and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rooms are ok but a little tired, need a face lift. What I enjoy is a good breakfast. This you will not get at this hotel. Theres a lot of food in the buffet but most of it is uneatable and tastless. They use the same saugages as all the cheap hotels in Malta use.The bacon and the sausages are not even grilled they are all put in an oven so what you get is burnt on one side and white and greasy on the other. Eggs and omlettes were over cooked swimming in oil . Cold meats where past there use by date sweating and greasy. Grill tomatoes were just cut up again put in an oven and warmed up .Fruit out of a can. Pastry's were the only things worth eating and they were imported from outside the hotel. When are hotels in Malta going to lift their game employ chefs who actually care about their food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had read the mixed reviews before booking and had already changed from one hotel to this one before leaving the UK to travel for our holiday in Malta so was a little nervous. We had the basic room for the first five days which was very comfortable (the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hotel!) and was as we'd requested garden facing so was away from the street.

We did have a little issue and I requested an upgrade which was no problem and was arranged the next day, but we were very impressed when Samantha in Customer relations came to find us at Breakfast and told us we would not pay any extra for the upgrade due to the problem that had occurred.

The upgraded room was gorgeous and I cannot fault this hotel for its service. Everyone from the room maids to the waiters, to the reception staff were very friendly and offered top customer service.

The hotel is in a very busy area but once inside the hotel you feel at home immediately which makes up for the awful club and bar area at the side of the hotel.

Don't waste your money by taking the organised bus tours but take the local buses to see the real Malta and make sure you go on the Valletta harbour cruise but go with one of the smaller boats as you get to go further into each harbour and the wave jumping when out at sea is much more fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Rooms are beautiful. Have Massage Although a bit expensive but there is a discount. Close to all the pubs and pizza 24/7 has a good gay community and a pub called the da Vinci. It is good and close to the hotel. Delicious breakfast worth waking up. Malta is a nice place for a little holiday. Charming hotel close to the casino.
With 100£ for day you are king in Malta. Best food. Best wine.
50-70£ prince!
20-30£ - drink & food & 2/3 beer at pub.
"Final Score for "small vacation category :% 90.
Hotel : %100.
Gay life : %75.
% price life :72
Enjoy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Talgenish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing