We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The friendliness of the staff is second to none, the location is on the edge of a lively area of the resort. Some noise can be heard from the bedrooms on the street side of the hotel and possibly improved glazing would help, this said do not let this put you off staying at the Intercontinental as it is a very good hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    1,314
    505
    179
    107
See reviews for
892
1,494
138
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for a week, on half-board. Room, pool, food all very good. Minor issues were dealt with quickly. We felt like we were given the mystery guest treatment! Cinema, shops around the corner. We saw all of Malta, but might come back to the island just for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I saw the location of the Intercontinental I was afraid the room would be noisy, but thanks to double windows it was perfectly quiet, with windows closed I couldn't even hear workers using jackhammers!
The staff were so professional and helpful; when I called reception because my computer had problems connecting to the wi-fi, they sent their IT person to my room and in a couple of minutes he fixed my problem. Breakfast was a feast, so much to choose from I could have something different every day, plenty of fresh fruit was my favourite. The only suggestion I could give has to do with corridor maintenance: while the reception area, restaurant and rooms are perfectly maintained, the corridors leading to the rooms looked in need of repair, mainly because of some plaster being chipped off on sharp edges, that would be very quick to fix or prevent by covering the edges with a full height profile.
I also loved the comfortable beds on the beach. I was not crazy about the food we had at the Paranga restaurant by the beach, that could use some improvement (considering the price).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golosa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights and on arrival the Hotel as a nice pleasant feel and the reception staff were very professional and polite. We stayed in a standard double room and the bedroom area was quite nice but not what you would call 5 star, The Bathroom was in need of a bit of attention and I would say this was down to poor maintenance and the grout in certain areas were black and the sealant around the shower must have been put on by a blind man with big fingers.. The Breakfast area also needs a bit of attention with the décor being shabby. The waiter staff were hit and miss and we ended up eating off a mucky table with no cutlery which we had to ask for.. not 5 star service! but the food was quite good apart from the orange juice which was actually dilute squash.
Good points
Nice pool area on the roof
Good location
Staff very friendly
Nice comfy beds
Clean
Food good and not too expensive

Not So Good Points
Drinks expensive 4.5 euros for small bottle coke ..5.8 euros for 500ml local beer ..3.0 euros for 25ml beer
Views from some rooms not very good but not the hotels fault

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken481
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time we are staying here. My main complaint is that there is no complimentary parking. I feel that a five star hotel should offer complimentary parking.
Second thing we had some ants in our room. Just a few not a large infestation yet still bothersome.
Cappucino coffee e at breakfast not good.
Yet overall good stay. Kids enjoyed it. Also staff excellent and very helpfull. Restaurants have excellent food

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel had a lot of wasted space - no visible stairs - took 3 days to understand layout - outside another world - surreal - no inhouse activities - games - caters more for the 20 - 40 age - room near trees - bitten a few times - room musty when door closed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel had a lot of wasted space - no visible stairs - took 3 days to understand layout - outside another world - surreal - no inhouse activities - games - caters more for the 20 - 40 age - room near trees - bitten a few times - room musty when door closed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,568 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing