We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time in IC Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked through Sunspot via Co-op travel. We booked half board and this caused a problem with dining arrangements as we believed we could eat in any of the hotels several restaurants. Did not want a buffet on our wedding anniversary! Hotel said half board was in buffet. Fortunately we had email confirming dining arrangements. It was a Sat night and hotel tried to contact Sunspot ... Eventually met rep on Monday pm!!!!! But back to hotel.... Room booked was superior Panoramic 12th floor which had been refurbished and very spacious and pleasant. Overlooked pool and Gardens. Quiet given hotels location in Paceville. Enjoyed evening drinks on balcony listening to live music from garden before heading out.

Staff were always very polite and helpful... esp. Lara at reception. Malcolm duty manager and a manger Andrea? We met at drinks reception laid on by hotel which was very pleasant in lovely garden. The result was we only ate in buffet on first night and were well catered for by hotel on other nights. Tried most of restaurants. Peranga has a beautiful setting overlooking St George's bay. Both the main restaurant and the one on the beach. Food was average considering prices. We also ate in Al fresco which again was very pleasant in the garden setting. Best of all was Water Biscuit. This seemed quite new with funky modern styling with varied menu and excellent fillet steaks. Good service from initial greeting to leaving. Well recommended!! Also ate in Peppinos in St Julian's ...v good.

Pool area was very pleasant but a lot of kids as it was August. Not the biggest of pools but plenty of sun loungers. Had to buy hotel water in 35c heat!!! Private beach a short walk away. This could get very busy. Some people seemed to have to pay for
beds. Attendants tried to ensure people did not reserve loungers for more than an hour but you always get selfish people.

Location. As other reviews have said. In centre of Paceville v busy with younger people esp. at week-ends. Research room! Near shops, Cinemas, bars showing Sky sports, restaurants, St Julian's , local buses, hop on hop-off buses etc. etc. I think people should check out Trip Advisor before they go rather than complain about location after. Have s look in google maps!! If you want good hotel with nice restaurants, close to amenities this is place to go.

Very enjoyable stay. Might even try another IC hotel on my next trip.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 4,142 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental in Malta. The staff was wonderful - so helpful and accommodating with every request and question. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The indoor pool was great for young kids, and the outdoor pool was beautiful. Our son (8) also enjoyed the kids club. The location is near great restaurants and nightlife - a definite plus! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoGalVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice enough hotel, but a bit worn down for a 5 star hotel. Know we did not book a suite, but still felt a bit disappointed with broken tiles in the bathroom and other areas that could use freshing up. however, biggest disappointment was that we found live cockroaches in the room on the 11th floor and all though they were quick to spray for them and appologized and told that this is "normal" for the warmer countries (what we were told in the reception) i still believe this is not okay for a 5 Star hotel thus the score.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located right at the heart of St.Julian's, in front of Bay Street shopping center. It's a huge building among other buildings. Clean and smart indoors, but no character, it's the kind of hotel you can find anywhere in any city. Although situated in a very popular area, with crowded bars and nightlife, our room on the tenth floor was quiet, with the exception of a few late-comers who at 4 a.m. were chatting quite loudly while getting to their rooms on our floor, which of course is not the hotel's fault.
The pool on the 10th floor is small compared to the number of people and children who make use of it; there are a lot of sun chairs and the hotel provides towels and bathrobes. It gets crowded and noisy in the peak hours.
The indoor pool at the spa is small and not heated, and the atmosphere is gloomy and dark. We had a swim there, but once you get out of the water you may feel a bit cold as there is no sun and no heat.
Hotel beach: this is a joke. The beach is small, overcrowded, noisy, there is no space and no privacy. The waters are dirty because of the many boats that get into the bay, this is a common problem in Malta and the hotel cannot do anything about it.
Breakfast: we chose the "10 euros each" option, it means you have breakfast à la carte in the ground floor restaurant, called "Waterbiscuit". You get a pastry, a glass of orange juice, coffee or tea, and a poached egg of your choice, which is not much to keep you going all morning.
We had dinner at the "Al fresco gardens restaurant". The setting is nice, a few tables in a sort of internal courtyard with palm trees, nice lights, live soft music; the menu though is very limited and expensive and the quality is rather poor.
I found it in bad taste the way the hotel warns customers about many things: you are forbidden to take your own food and drink in the pool area; when you open the minibar you are warned that if you remove any item from it for more than 15 seconds it will be automatically charged to your account (you don't get time to read the ingredients, for example...); there is a sign in the room saying that if you smoke you will be fined, etc. Although I appreciate that rules must be respected, some warnings sound more like threatens than advice.
Reception staff was nice and helpful; the one thing I do not understand is why the chambermaid knocked at our door one morning at 9 a.m. asking if she could make our room (obviously not, as we were still in it!), there must be other ways to find out if the room is available or occupied apart from knocking and making people jump out of the bed to answer the knock.
Overall, a good hotel in a good location if you do not plan to spend much of your time in it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valentina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

On two occassions staff were impolite and unhelpful but when confronted backed away.

The hotel could be more thoughful with family rooms. A family of four needs bath robes, towels, glasses and cups, toiletries for four NOT for two as the usual setup in the room.

Kids club was very much enjoyed by the children, food is good, breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidsroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Intercontinental is a nice hotel and the service is excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable.

There are however, also drawbacks. The hotel is located next to numerous bars (with a majority of teenagers aged 17 – 23). The hotel is therefore, not ideal for young families.

The hotel is also very large and you will notice its size and amount of travelers. The hotel pool and the breakfasts tend to get very busy and frankly become too full.

We had a nice time at the hotel, however, it is also quite an expensive hotel - something which reduces its 'good value’.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreamer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing