We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, great gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“friendly staff, great gym”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

even though this hotel is in the middle of paceville maltas busiest resort, it was surprisingly quiet.
the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the gym was great with all the facilities of a david Lloyd gym!! if I had to find one fault it would be that the outside pool was a bit too warm but not a problem. will definitely be returning soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_galea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    1,314
    505
    179
    107
See reviews for
892
1,494
138
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this just a week before! very last minute but we were not disappointed! This is our 3rd visit to an Intercontinental Hotel and I'm sure won't be the last. Fantastic location lots of bars and clubs if you fancy, or plenty of nice local fish and pasta resturaunts right on your doorstep too. We visited the private beach which was just 200 yards from the hotel where you could get a nice cocktail and just chill out. As we were only there for a week we chose not to do any trips but plenty were available you could go to Sicily or Gozo for the day which I'm sure we will do on our return. The hotel is very clean with a pool on the 10th floor and another pool inside where you could use the sauna ,steam and spa which I think was maybe a charge. We were invited to a chilled out breakfast in the Carissa lounge compliments of the hotel who were celebrating their 10 year Anniversary,and also given a little wallet containing 10 cards for use around the hotel in the bars,poolside etc for free treats nice touch! We spent our last evening in the Al fresco resturaunt which was very nice as a live 4 piece group with 2 amazing female vocalists playing. All in all a fantastic hotel with very friendly staff nothing was ever too much trouble, nice spotlessly clean hotel. Also worth joining the priority club as you get express check in and check out! Thank you for a great relaxing holiday will be returning again next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent five nights in this hotel. Really should be 'Paceville' on the address which is the going out spot in Malta. As such very hectic at night in the area - but the Intercontinental was a haven of peace to retreat to. Rooms were very good with balcony. Pool excellent and pool cards helpful. Concierge team and hotel team really nice and helpful. We visietd Sliema and Valletta alot and could get local bus - but can be slow. Taxi's expensive in Malta so would suggest the hotel provide a scheduled service to Valletta like the Radisson nearby does.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week in July, and the hotel itself is amazing, and to top it off, so are the staff, so kind and friendly.

Our room over looked the pool, which is an amazing view! As there was 3 people in one room, we had to call the main desk to get another bed put in for me. The only downfall that the room has is that the floor the bed is on is sunken a little bit, so quite a few times we caught our feet on it.

For my family, the location was perfect, as I am 17, the hotel is right next Paceville, which is a strip full of clubs/bars ect. Also, right opposite is sort of a shopping centre with restaurants and sorts in. Furthermore, there are lots of restaurants to eat out in just walking distance away and there is a bus stop just up the road, so if you are planning to travel like we did, get a weekly ticket for 12 euro.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staying only briefly, but it's a beautiful hotel. Pool area looks really fun. Maybe a block from the beach. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Check in was prompt and friendly. Looks like there are plenty of places around the hotel for food, drink and fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyjetprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 13th-21st july the hotel was very nice very well located beside loads of bars and restaurants just across the road from a large shopping centre which had a number of very nice restaurants. it is a bit close to paceville which seems to be where all the young people go at night but it didn't bother us to much. We stayed in a standard room which was very good had every thing we needed, the breakfast buffet was good with a good choice of breads, cereals and cooked breakfasts we didn't eat in the other restaurants so cant comment on them . the rooftop pool is quite shallow and when we were there it seemed to be a bit difficult to get sunbeds around the pool area as people seemed to be reserving more sunbeds than they needed also full of kids with balls and lilos so you could not really swim. all in all a good hotel in a good location for exploring malta

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi12881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Malta in June and couldn't have found a more perfect hotel. The location was wonderful. A short walk to the beach. endAcross the street from a shopping center. A short walk from the nightlife as wel as a number of quaint pubs. Many bus stops are a few minutes away. All this was terrific. But the hotel itself was so nice, we didn't even feel like spending the whole day touring. The spa and pools--yes two of them! were well kept and clean. And most of all--the staff! IFrom housekeeping to the restaurant to the lobby staff--each and every person was so eager to help and please the guest. We almost felt as they were there just for us! I think it will be hard for us not to compare this hotel to any other hotel we will stay at in the future. Definitly recommend to pay a little more and stay at the Intercontinental while visiting Malta. And to all the staff--thank you so much for an unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBNF120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,568 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing