We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, just a shame it's in the middle of Sleazeville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If, like me, you check out Tripadvisor before you book almost anything, then I genuinely hope this review will be helpful to you. I personally wish I had researched the comments on the area prior to booking as quite frankly, I wouldn't have confirmed if I had.

Firstly I should say that the hotel itself is excellent - friendly staff, great food, good facilities. I booked a 'Deluxe Triple Room' for myself, husband and 16 year old daughter via Booking.com and got an excellent rate. Just after arrival and check in, I did query the room with the receptionist as it seemed like a pretty standard 5 star twin room to me - two queen sized beds (which are VERY firm), that was all. I was told that they "do not have triple rooms but could add an extra bed for us". Why advertise "triple" rooms if you don't have them?! This is quite misleading. Additionally, our 'deluxe' room had a view of......a brick wall. Not in my definition of deluxe at all. However, the room was spacious with an excellent bathroom (albeit with a very temperamental shower which went from burning to freezing every 5 seconds).

My overriding concern about the hotel is unfortunately something they cannot change - the location. If you want a quiet, classy area to wander through during you sultry summer holiday evenings, do not book here. It is right on the doorstep of "Malta's party capital" Paceville, which should really be re-named Sleazeville, as it's jam packed with strip bars, fast food outlets and noisy cocktail clubs. It's very crowded in summer and simply not our cup of tea.

So in summary, good hotel (from where I am writing this review as we are here for a few more days) but bad location. Not their fault that I didn't do thorough research, but I hope this review helps those of you who prefer a classier destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkcatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 4,162 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely, clean spacious rooms. Make sure to pay the extra for breakfast, afternoon tea and canapes and all you can drink as you get to be part of the Intercontinental experience, and have exclusive access to the IC club lounge. The lounge has lovely views and is a great way to mingle with folk from all over the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have just visited the Intercontinental for a few days last week, and I would like to recommend it to other persons with Ceoliac decease. Apart from breakfast, I also dined in most of the restaurants relating to the Hotel. All staff were aware about the condition and I was constantly given advice by the kitchen staff via the waiters on which items on the menu to avoid. I must say that this made my vacation a very pleasant and relaxed one. A big thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

- Brilliant location
- Nice rooms
- Beach just 50metres away with FABULOUS restaurant!
- Hop on hop of bus stop only 50metres from hotel
- Roof top pool
- Lovely staff !
- Breakfast amazing
Great experience all round, would fully recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Trigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

3 of us girls stayed for 3 nights (12th-15th July) and we were most impressed. We received excellent customer service throughout our stay.

We caught a taxi from the airport straight to the hotel costing 20 euros for about a 15-20 min drive. On arrival we received a very warm welcome by a member of staff who took our bags and directed us inside the hotel to check in.
We were greeted straight away by Malcolm who was extremely friendly and efficient and made the check-in process effortless. We were even offered a free upgrade but decided to stick to our original room.

Our room (814) was very spacious, clean, modern, big comfortable beds, separate bath & shower- it had everything we needed. We had a balcony with an excellent view of the main road Bay street and also of the beachfront.

We spent our first afternoon around the pool (rooftop!) There were plenty of sunbeds to go around. We ordered some food from a very friendly member of staff, Casper, he was ever so helpful and cheerful. Our food came out really quickly and was very tasty indeed! We set up a tab so there was no need to carry cash around with us. We thoroughly enjoyed happy hour at the pool bar from 5.30pm-7.30pm where all drinks were 50% off!

The room we booked included breakfast and it was definitely worth it. They had everything….pancakes, omelettes, eggs, bacon, sausages, fried potatoes, beans, toast, mushrooms, salmon, croissants, various pastries including pastizzi’s, muffins, selection of bread and rolls, salad, hams, cheeses, fruit salad etc.

We decided to try out the beach on our first morning. It was literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Half of the beach is hotel owned. On arrival there were no spare sunbeds as it was very busy and there were nowhere near enough to accommodate all of the hotel guests. We waited for around 20 minutes on the public beach for some to become free. Was a lovely beach with calm, clear waters. We ate at the beach bar which was tasty and efficient.

One afternoon we ordered room service which was the same price as the pool bar menu. The food arrived in around 25 minutes and again was to a good standard.

We had an afternoon drink at Parangas bar overlooking the beach, this is a really nice bar with great setting and comfy sofas.

The location of the hotel is smack bang in the middle of the nightlife area of Paceville. The nightlife is only suitable for those happy to be surrounded by under 22yr olds which we certainly weren’t!! As we wanted to go out dancing we did try a few bars in Paceville but to be honest it was a complete waste of time, there are just drunk teens everywhere. On our second night we took a 10 minute stroll to Spinola Bay and ate at Raffael whilst overlooking the water. We would definitely recommend as this was a truly beautiful setting. After dinner we had drinks and dance at Juul’s reggae bar which was a lot of fun and yummy cocktails!

We were very impressed with our hotel and would definitely recommend. We are looking forward to returning already! Many thanks to Marlon for all of the info prior to our arrival :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hocapontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for a week in one of the IC Club rooms with views over looking the hotel garden and Al Fresco restaurant. The room was very clean and all the furnishings looked new.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We had access to the two lounges and made regular use of the IC Club lounge on the top floor. The staff in the lounge were very attentive, from asking if we would like drink refills to helping understand the best bus routes to use to get to some of the attractions.

We ate at both Sopranos and the Waterbiscuit restaurants. Soprano's had a quite relaxed atmosphere and served a good selection of pizzas and pastas. Waterbiscuit is more modern / trendy and served a range of dishes from around Europe. I ordered a fillet steak and my girlfriend had a lamb dish; both were really well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After my and my friend stayed at the close by BlueSea Resort we cancelled due to horrific conditions and we checked into the Intercontiental.

A beautieful resort offering all you need.

The staff where very polite, pleasant and also had some humor.
The room where big and clean.
The resturants where top notch.

The best of all, it was cheap! we only paid around 100 euro per night for a twin bed room.

For us it was a great base for our little adventure in Malta

I rated the spa and the breakfast as average because we never tried either =)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterGE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,064 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $115 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing