We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saint Julian, Party Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Saint Julian, Party Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon in Malta. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in pretty good shape. We are a young couple, and this hotel is right in the middle of a party central. Happy hour is almost every hour, and the strip is filled with people to the late hours of the night. The food in the restaurant is tasty and fresh, and our room was very clean and fairly well decorated. The only thing we could complain about is the view from the balcony, which faced right into a construction site of a nearby office building. The swimming pool area is clean, and well maintained. The staff is always around if you need drinks or have questions. If you're hungry order something from the poolside restaurant, the food is very good!

Also, the hotel has a "private beach club", which is basically a stretch of sandy beach for hotel patrons only. It's equipped with a beach side bar and towel stand and showers. Malta in general does not have "amazing" sandy beaches and this one was at par with the other ones we seen.

During our stay the hotel was overbooked, so one of the managers offered to relocate us to another 5 star hotel in Valletta half way though our trip, which worked out well for us because staying in the same place for a long time does get boring. They did not push us to move, but rather gave us an option, which we did not have to take. I do have to say that the hotel staff accommodated the move flawlessly. They arranged for all of our bags and items to be moved to the new hotel while we were away for the day on Gozo Island. When we got to the new hotel after our trip to Gozo, our room was ready in minutes and we found out that InterContinental has even arranged for a room upgrade.

Overall, our experience at the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,278
    496
    179
    104
See reviews for
881
1,461
134
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental in Oct 2012 for 5 nights. Our room was very large and spacious. Bathroom and rooms very clean as well. Location was ideal and in the midst of everything for everyone -- Mall and shopping across the street, bars and restaurants at a 1 minute walk. Pool was great, both indoor and outdoor. View from the room wasn't that greatest, at least from the 11th floor where we were. It was right next to an old broken down building, so not the best of views. Staff were really great and helpful; however, only issue was with housekeeping where they did not replenish coffee and cream for the small kettle that we had in our room. Everyday we would have to ask for one or the other. The massage deals were a bit too pricey. Although we did not pay for the Turkish Hammam experience, you were allowed to use their facilities free of charge and it was great. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The InterContinental is a nice enough property, although it doesn't really look as grand as it does in some of their professional photographs. I agree with some of the previous comments that this is something of a faded beauty.

Upon arrival, it was lovely to have been upgraded to a suite, which was enormous. It was like living in an apartment! It is not the hotel's fault, but the location is quite noisy - there was construction going on all around the property, and the noise from the night clubs is intrusive.

Location-wise, it is good in that it is opposite a mall, movie theatre, and is in the heart of an entertainment district. But if these are not your cup of tea, then do not stay in the Julian district, as there is not much else around here. Next time, I will stay right in Valletta, as it is a rather long apprx 40 minute bus ride in to the main city centre.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was something ridiculous - like 25 Euro (can't remember exactly) so I just went across the road to the Hard Rock Cafe. There was no ice available unless you paid the 3 Euro room delivery fee. Free internet was a welcome touch - be sure to ask for the code at check-in.

Overall, it was a nice enough property but I caution you to not stay here if you are affected by outside noise and are looking for a charming location (this isn't it - but it's convenient).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are so overindulged by the hotel, giving myself and my wife a free room upgrade on arrival at the hotel and a complimentary wine shortly on settling into our very comfy room. I happen to share my wifes birthday which the reason for the short holiday, with one of hotel staff. (actually, we were sponsored by our children with the surprise holiday to Malta). We were further treated to another surprise complimentary birthday gift from the hotel admin!

The food was great! The breakfast actually made an impression, I get to choose what goes in my eggs before it's fried!

We were pampered, I must say.

You have a great hotel administration!

Many thanks for affording us a pleasurable time in your hotel.
We love you.

K. Falola

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well situated in the middle of a busy touristic environment, but also with a view to the sea.
Nice room, very clean, all facilities functioned perfectly, first class maintenance (not a trivial point).
Very good buffet, lots of choices for all tastes.
Extremely pleasant, helping staff, especially at the reception.
The only complaint (the reason for not giving it 5 stars) is that we arrived at dawn at 5 am and had to linger in the lobby (or go out for a stroll dead tired) till 14:00, when we actually got the room (we could get a room earlier for extra 200 euro); but I guess that is the management's policy, not the fault of the personnel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

First class stay in this massive hotel. One forgets that it is in central Paceville as it is very quiet and you cannot hear any noise from the inside. Excellent facilities and staff extremely polite and courteous.
Stayed at InterContinental for 1 night with my husband. Had a room on the 14th floor. The room was very modern and comfortable. It even had 2 double beds in it.
The Bathroom which had a seperate bath and shower was really cool, nice and comfy. Toiletries were really good and the towels were big, white and thick.
We were spoilt for choice during breakfast and dinner and compliments goes to the chef and his team.
I highly recomment this wonderful hotel and I am sure that one won't be disappointed. Looking forward to our next visit. Well done, Intercontinental. Keep up the good work! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaboneForte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights for a conference. Clean and meets what I expect from intercontinental . The complimentary gym was really big (also open for non-guests) and with 10+ treadmills. Sauna and pool also included. My room was very warm and switching on the air conditioner didn't help, actually made it even worse.
Breakfast was ok, with made to order egg dishes. Many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing