We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - big room - exellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great hotel - big room - exellent staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 5 days in november ,the hotel is located in st julians - very convenient,arounded by a lot of shops,bars and restaurants.
The room was big with all the facilities.the reception team was very helpfull.
The breakfast was wonderfull with a lots of choise.
We used the public transportation - it was very easy and the stations were at 200m
from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,278
    496
    179
    104
See reviews for
881
1,461
134
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Recently back from a week at the Intercontinental over New Year - what a lovely hotel. Firstly the hotel was a bargain - amazing value for an Intercontinental.

Our room was great - it looked newly refurbished and it was stylish, spaceous and very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the garden courtyard. Excellent free WiFi. When we arrived there were minced pies and a note to welcome us. Then a fruit plate arrived and chocolates every evening when the room was turned down. Lovely big bathroom - huge bath and seperate walk in shower.

We had access to the Club Lounge which we enjoyed enormously. A lovely, relaxing space on the top floor comfortably fitted out and with a large terrace with lovely views. The ladies who run the lounge were wonderful and made us feel extremely welcome. The lounge is run very efficently and offers a private space to enjoy an excellent breakfast, afternoon tea and then canapes and cocktails in the evening - very good value.

The hotel arranged a car pick up from the airport and back which worked perfectly and was good value.

There is a nice selection of bars and restaurants in the hotel, along with a great indoor pool (although the water could do with being a bit warmer), suana and Turkish Hamman. There is a fabulous roof top outdoor swimming pool as well as a private beach club a few moments walk from the hotel.

We were very lucky to be invited to a cocktail party hosted by the General Manager - Giuseppe and his team. A great gesture that made us feel like valued customers. A great opportunity to speak to him.

Caroline in the Guest Relations Team was extremely efficient - she responded quickly to emails to answer my queries in the lead up to visiting the hotel as well as being helpful once we were at the hotel.

There is a bus stop not too far from the hotel and we were able to explore the island easily with the cheap and efficient bus network. The hotel is also a short stroll from both Balluta and Spinola Bays with a host of bars and restaurants close to the hotel. There is a bar area just outside the hotel which is likely to appeal more to youngsters, but this doesn't spoil any enjoyment of staying in the hotel.

We were very sad to leave and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timothys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very big hotel with all the expected amenities.

This hotel was huge. The rooms were a good size with modern bathrooms. There were a few restaurants. The breakfast each morning was amazing! Huge buffet with lots of different hot and cold counters that were continually replenished. I would really recommend the hotel's restaurant which is a short walk down to the beachfront. Very good food there.

My favourite part of the hotel was the rooftop swimming pool. It was a really good size, very clean and refreshing. There is a rooftop cafe too with lots of tables. They stop serving food and drinks quite early though so watch out for that.

The only thing I didn't like much was the local area. We didn't bother with the "private beach." It is absolutely tiny, right by a main road and didn't look very appealing at all. I think the hotel photos of the beach are quite deceptive. There's nothing to see or do nearby except terrible bars which would only appeal to teenagers or stag do's. You can walk for about 15/20 minutes to another bay which is a little nicer.

There are good bus links to all over the island though, so in that respect the location is ok.

I'd recommend as a great hotel if you just want to chill out and eat in the hotel, and then travel to other places around the island during the day. Wouldn't recommend for the local vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

the staff was very polite, excelent room and swimming pool. also breakfast was very good. the location is great near a lot of bars@clubs.for sure we shall revert at intercontinental st julian malta................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicu13bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was an enjoyable stay, there was a good selection of food which was excellent and the sevice was first class. The room was very comfortable, spacious and well kept. The staff was very helpful and friendly especially Andrea Farrugia (Front desk manager) who went out of his way at all times to meet our needs when requested.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marbon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire,UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped here for Christmas. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and professional. The hotel was clean and we really enjoyed our stay. We only had breakfast in the hotel but there was lots of choice. The location was good with lots of bars and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Intercontinental in Malta. On arrival very late at night, we were greeted with a friendly smile (Jessica) and check in was fast and efficient.

Our room was spacious and well set out. The bathroom had a huge bath tub with separate shower. Our rooms were cleaned everyday with the option of clean towels provided.

Good size TV, option to watch movies although €10 per movie is a bit high.

Free use of the gym and pool facilities was great.

Breakfast was fabulous with a chef available to cook omelettes to your liking. Food was fresh, labelled and alot of variety.

Several different areas to relax - the lobby especially with its own bar where you can sit and relax over a drink or cup of tea.

Several restaurants within the hotel to dine in.

Free Wi-Fi is fast and works well.

Room service is fast and efficient, with food served at a high standard.

One disappointing feature hoeever, was the Asian restaurant within the hotel. Staff on the night were inattentive (3), we waited to be acknowledged and seated for over five minutes.

People that arrived well after us and were known to the restaurant were served and looked after with attention whilst we waited for 15 minutes to have our order taken.

I found the restaurant, comparing portion sizes, to be expensive also.

On our last day in the room, we found tea and coffee making facilities. No indication that they are in the room as they are in a corner cupboard. It is not even written in the hotel guide. We were going down to the lobby for coffee/tea.

Overall, we had a very pleasant four day stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Malta during your recent visit to Malta.

Thank you also for your detailed feedback where we are pleased that you were satisfied with the facilities and services offered by our staff and that your four day experience with us was a pleasant one.

We are sorry for the lack of attention that you received at Eastern Breeze. This has been discussed with the management team so that similar events will not be repeated.

We hope that you will return to InterContinental Malta in the not too distant future and if so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing