We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental, St Julians, Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in November 2012.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the beach, shopping centre, numerous eateries and is close to bus terminals. It is located in a very busy, noisy area but once you are inside it's as if the outside no longer exists!

We ended up with a twin room which was 2 small doubles for our party of 2A & 2C. My 9yo daughter wasn't keen on sharing with her 6yo brother so they put an extra bed in! The room was not 5* but ok and had a lovely big balcony but the air con couldn't cope with 4 of us in such a small room. We went to reception everyday saying it wasn't adequate but it unfortunately took until Day 7 to realise they couldn't fix it and move us and an early flight back meant we only got 1 decent night's sleep! This was a real shame as the room they moved us to was perfect but they did apologise and provided plates of treats for the children and some drinks.

As per some other reviews, the fire alarm did go off 2 consecutive nights and some guests were quite irate but the alarms were triggered by something and we'd all have been complaining if there had been a fire and the alarms didn't go off! My only suggestion is that perhaps they could consider better zoning of the alarms as the hotel is so large and staff at the bottom of the fire exits to ensure guest safety as they exit in to a back street.

The staff are very polite and helpful and do as much as they can for you. Concierge provided information about attractions, maps and even advised which bus to catch.

The breakfast is fantastic with eggs cooked any which way to order in front of you and a huge selection of food available.

The facilities are great. The indoor pool was cold to start with but they must have started heating it a couple of days in. Half the beach is managed by the hotel and sunbeds and towels are provided there.

It is a huge hotel but it is well designed and size is deceptive. I loved the way they had courtyard gardens at levels 5 & 7 so even at floor 13 where we ended up, it didn't feel like you were that far off the ground yet the views were spectacular.

Overall, we could have done with some more sleep but we really enjoyed our holiday and, if we have enough funds available, would like to return to the same hotel next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charismad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 4,085 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were looking forward to staying in the Intercontinental but were disappointed with our first room offering, as it was overlooking a building site with cranes and workmen. The next room offered was dark and smelt damp, the next room was okay, but we felt more embarrassed with being shown various rooms so we took the next room. We purchased the Intercontinental membership for £120 which was meant to give us priority room upgrade but didn't. The hotel is a very nice hotel with an impressive lobby and restaurants, and the staff in general seem to be helpful and polite. Would I go back? No. We love Malta and will be returning, but will go back to The Radisson Blu as we liked it much more. The location is good if you like real hustle bustle but when you are in the hotel you would never know its all going on just yards away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 12 nights in October 2012. As a base for a holiday in Malta the hotel is in an excellent location, positioned a few minutes walk from the centre of St Julians and close to the bus terminal, making most places on the island reachable within an hour

The hotel staff are extremely professional, especially those on the front desk who were exceptionally helpful for a large hotel. Other positives include the quality of the breakfast and of the gym and leisure facilities.

On the negative side, the hotel rooms require maintenance, The room we were initially given was not up to standard, primarily due to the worn out and smelly carpet. Several other problems included leaking shower, leaking toilet flush handle (which was also the case in the second room we were given), mould in the corners of the bathroom due to constant flooding, dirty air-conditioning outlet and dead plants on the terrace. Upon complaining the response from the hotel was positive, we were upgraded to a superior room and given access to the excellent club lounge. The second room was better, primarily because they have replaced the old carpets with moden tiles. However, the bathroom had not been updated and was also a bit worn out.

My tip would be to insist on one of the newer rooms with tiled bedroom floor....I would not stay in this hotel again unless they could guarantee that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonyMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our over all experience was very good. The Diamond Suites are located on several floors of the InterContinental Hotel. The suites were very well appointed and equipped. The Hotel had excellent facilities including the biggest gymnasium on Malta which had every type of apparatus and equipment imaginable. The pools were splendid and well maintained. The many restaurants catered for all tastes. The best feature was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Dilwyngb

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilwyngb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have been all over the world. I have stayed in many hotels and b.bs from 1star to 5star. And this hotel is not a five star. When I was booking a hotel in Malta I wanted to stay some where nice and up marked. So I picked this hotel as it said it was a 5star. I don't know who gives out the stars here but they would want to come back and have a good look again. When we booked in our room was not ready at 2oclock in day. Then the girl told me she would give a room with two beds in it and can put them together. I then told her if I wanted to pushed beds together I would stay in a 2star. As for the room the balcony it had dead flower pots on ever balcony. And the food was not up to much. But I have to say the room cleaners were very good.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank celtic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Diamond Resorts part of the Hotel. The facilities need updating. There were issues with hot water most days. The location of the hotel is in a busy resort but this did not affect our ability to enjoy being close to a amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarpleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was an 'oasis' as soon as you walk through the doors. The heat of Malta outside and the busy streets of St Julians just fall away as soon as you enter the air conditioning and quiet of the Intercontinental. The rooms are spacious and we overlooked the pool and the sunsets. The bathrooms are luxury and the all the toiletries were plentiful. My grandchildren loved the pool and as the pool is on the roof there was always a lovely breeze. The location was great to travel around the island and also to go into St Julians at night for the lovely locally owned restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $104 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing