We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond Suites on Malta, Intercontinental Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Diamond Suites on Malta, Intercontinental Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The apartment was very spacious with a queen size bed in the bedroom + ensuite bathroom. There was also a second large shower room. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony which overlooked the hotel gardens and the apartment was well equipped with TV in sitting room and in bedroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.

We had expected a lot of noise as St Julien's is the centre of clubland but with double glazing, we heard nothing. Had our apartment overlooked the road, it might have been a different story. I would advise anyone booking to ask for an apartment with an odd number.

The staff in the hotel itself could not be faulted. The concierge gave us a great deal of help which meant we planned our days out wisely. We chose to go half board although the apartment had a kitchen. The price for this was very reasonable and we had an excellent choice of food with waiters who really looked after us. As Diamond Resort members, we were entitled to 20% off all drinks etc in the hotel.

I could not speak highly enough of all the staff. From the moment we arrived until the time we departed, we enjoyed first class service all the way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,262
    489
    173
    103
See reviews for
870
1,450
132
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Lovely hotel. Great food! We stayed on the 12th floor, wouldn't want to stay any lower. Ideally 15th floor, club deal would be the best but at 50 Euros per night extra, its quite a lot more. Spacious rooms, clean. Pool great for kids, warm although not heated but not too deep. A lot of sunbeds for sunbathing. Good snack bar by the pool with good service. The hotel is very central so within easy reach of restaurants, bars, shops, the beach, which the hotel has exclusivity of half of it. Very friend!ly staff, in fact all the Maltese people we came across were.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bournemouthdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and they all couldn't do enough to make our stay very welcoming! Room was very spacious. Balcony was ok, we were on 12th floor but a bit "open" in that everyone could see everyone who was on their balcony. Breakfast was good and the staff easy going. The pool was unheated but warm as was not very deep, ideal for kids. The beach was a short walk away down the hill. If we go again, we would go for the Club deal as was on the top floor and had "extras" but at 50 euros per night, its a bit pricey. We were only there for 4 days so didn't have chance to check out the gym and spa unfortunately, maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bournemouthdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

It is not the problem of the hotel , but it is noisy if you stay into the standart room ... There are parties outside , this is the forum for bar and food ...l


If you book for the deluxe room , now you are in business ...

5 star all the way .

Please note the highly professionalism oh Mr Hannes Schnider , customer service ..l who provide us all we needto get a successful holiday

Breakfast is 5/5 , Bars 5/5 , food 5/5

Di not hesitate tontru theirt tapas restaurant whre the ladies will help you to selec not only the food but the best wine to match it ...

I love the place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F-Sylvain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed as a group of four girls celebrating a 30th birthday. There was a mix of people at the hotel; young, old and families. The resort was in reasonable condition and centrally located, however the selling point for me at this resort was the extra mile that concierge went to. A complimentary bottle of champagne and nibbles was sent to the room for my friend’s birthday, they organized tours for us, they rearranged the bedding arrangements prior to our arrival, and they were very friendly and always willing to help us with a smile on their faces. Robert was especially good.

The only negative I have to comment on is their restaurant, Paranga. Don’t be fooled by its beautiful interior and great location right on the bay. The service was awful and their wait staff were arrogant and rude. We were ignored from the moment we walked in (despite there being about 6 waiters running about not doing an awful lot) and we were completely forgotten about when we requested a jug of tap water to accompany our meals and drinks that we were paying for. Food was very ordinary given the attitude we were given and it is actually quite expensive in comparison to other restaurants in the area. As a result, no tip left!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophisticedTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

situation of hotel is perfect Service is very good and the club level is perfect if u can get an upgrade (or afford) it s the best situation for people visiting the island > After visiting during a day is the club level the best place to relax

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanvTongeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel treats everyone as an individual. Every member of staff is excellent at their jobs, from the cleaners to the main reception staff. The facilities are superb.The hotel is located in the main night life centre of St Julian but once inside the hotel you wouldn't hear any of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing