We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intercontinental Malta - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
NOTTS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Malta - Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I consider that this is the best hotel in Malta. The service and the staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble, just ask the staff. Visit one of ten eateries and you will not be disappointed. My favourite is the Eastern Breeze, try the prawns or the Seabass, coupled with a glass of nice Maltese wine. Nancy the head waiter will look after your culinary needs.
Ask the chef if you want anything in particular, nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is situated in the busy nightclub district, and not far from the sea and not far from the Baystreet shops.
I decided that the service was so good that I have decided to write this review after one week of a three week holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLABNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    1,301
    501
    179
    107
See reviews for
885
1,478
136
493
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was an excellent hotel for the rate we paid & we were really pleased with our choice.
Free wifi in room was good, room large with plenty of space, balcony & usual amenities you need.
The hotel gym is brilliant, lots of equipment to use & a great facility to have available.
Didn't try hotel restaurants so cannot comment, breakfast was a high price at £23 euros per person, so if this is important to you I would look for a room rate where it is included. There are plenty of places to eat just next to hotel though.
In terms of location, it is in an area where all bars/nightclubs are, but these are all mainly down one street, so if it's not your thing you can easily avoid & only really seemed busy fri/sat night.
Easy to get around from here, not far from bus stop, I wouldn't bother hiring a car, no real need with buses & to be honest driving in Malta looked quite scary! It's not too far to walk to sliema also.
A lovely stay, lovely hotel & would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good location for walking in the city and along the sea. Service was good and breakfasts were not bad. One major complaint - the person who was in charge of replacing the food (breads, cheeses, fruits, etc.) during breakfast did so with his bare hands - no gloves, no spoon, etc. - definitely NOT hygienic. The bed was also too soft for us - we prefer firm mattresses.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnaModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

It can be very pricey but they have special offers on sometimes. Numerous bars and restaurants. We stayed in a Diamond holiday suite by using our points. However a top class location. We were on floor 9 so heard no noise at all. Handy for buses for soem top attractions without the need to go into Valetta. Do not hire a car on Malta. You can get a weekly bus pass for !2 Euros each !! busaes run every 10 -15 minutes to Valetta and direct to and from airport on half hour and to other places of interest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Harrow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Would go back 100%. all I would say is be clearful in the clubs as we had a few things taken from our bags and the police were not as helpful in written up a report as they could have been. I felt as if they didn't want ti listen due to the paper work involved.

Hotel is real nice and great location. The area around the point shopping centre was also really good and got a few nice things for a good price. Food for all around the hotel area, breakfast was very nice at the hotel and also the free Internet was a great add-on. Everyday had 2 lovley ladies coming round from room service asking if everything was ok which was a nice touch.

Would have been nice to have our rooms together as requested as we did book 3 rooms.

Spa was also very nice

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayinf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We love this beautiful island and spend a few days whenever we have possibilities. We have been staying at Intercontinental during each of our visits and our experience is always the same.

Intercontinental is located at the heart of the island. The comfort is irreproachable as well as the service. I think one of the strongest points is the efficiency of the staff at all levels, be it at the reception at the restaurants and any other points. They are very friendly and show they put a lot of importance on the quality.

The hotel itself dispose of several restaurants, open and indoor pools and even a hairdresser. We find that there is an excellent price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

'Had a wonderful time in the Intercontinental, the staff were 100%, the rooms where 100% and I really wanted to bring the bed & pillows home. Great breakfast, relaxed athmosphere, friendly staff.
Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, huge & comfy. The hotel is beside cinema (with about 8 screens), bars and restaurants so no taxi needed & I didn't hear a sound from the bars in our room. Bus service to Valetta just around the corner. Bus day tickets are 2.60 to anywhere on the island, no need to hire a car.
Thank you to all the staff who helped make our holiday.
I hope to return during a warmer season & will be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiseAnSeanEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,485 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing