We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the Middle of Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Middle of Everything”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

An interesting, modern building right in the nightlife area of St. Julian's with all conceivable facilities. Staying in the 14th floor (south wing) in a brand new bright and modern room gave a wonderful view into the wide hotel court yard garden and the pool area. If one is eligible for attending the Club Lounge in the 15th floor one also enjoys an extroardinary veranda with a great view. Although I did not make much use of the hotel's facilities - the party mile is just too close - I altogether enjoyed being there for a couple of days. And whenever I had a minor issue the staff went way beyond them to solve it for me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,326
    509
    181
    108
See reviews for
897
1,507
139
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarxien, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have booked a weekend break and on Saturday night we had a group function, on the tables there were water and wine opened for us and we had already started drinking.after 2 hours waiting to have our starter, when we returned to the table we have found that the water and wine were missing from our table. When we asked why they told us that it was not included in the meal. For an unknown reason only our beverages were removed! My concern is that it is not pretended from a 5star hotel to do something like this, they could have told us that there was a mistake and we would have paid for them but remove them without telling us it's just a shame. When we told the manager no satisfaction was given. They have upset us so much that we had to leave the hotel at midnight and went to Hilton Malta which was very much satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

In November the hotel was ideal - quiet, well located, good service, - excellent concierge service - an absolute bargain in a wonderful country!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It was swelling! We had a great time, enjoyed the SPA, perfect hairdresser, variety of dining options, fantastic pool area. Even though it was not warm enough to stay by the pool we enjoyed the fantastic view of it. But most of all their friendly and smart staff made us feels very special. We were very surprised over the excellent service, and believe me we are picky. We even got a guided tour of the presidential suit! Next time we'll go during the summer, and for sure stay more than 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LineLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel after reading reviews - yes you guessed it - on Trip Advisor.
Overall, very pleased. Good location right in the heart oif the action, and fortunatly the hotel is so well insulated against noise - 2 sets of double glazed balcony doors, that it was extremely noise free....
Breakfast was simple but good with eggs etc cooked any way, and drinks were reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Only niggle really was the indoor leisure facilities. All vey nice, spacious and clean, but didn't really get the balance right. The pool was cold - not really what you wanted in November, the sauna and Turkish bath wouldn't get hot enough to really enjoy, and the steam room wasn't working. Gym was fully equipped and good though.
So, good break, peaceful and reasonably priced. If they sort the leisure side out, would be great.
Would we back - yes..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed in different hotels in Malta and found this one as the best deal for me.
Great for my business trip and very good to travel with the family as it is close to all the main attractions bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby-israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had a great experience with the hotel! as soon as we checked in we were given great service! stayed in a suite with great decor. it was a friends birthday and when we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and a cake waiting for us! bathroom was large and spacious. Only complaint is that on arrival the bathroom floor was damp. other wise great experience! Newspaper even delivered in the morning! beds were SOO comfy and spacious!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Property: InterContinental Malta
Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing