We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lovely Views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On arrival when I mentioned to the receptionist that it was my wife's birthday during our stay a complementary bottle of wine was sent to our room, which I thought was a very nice touch. Our sea view room was large and well appointed with a lovely view so no complaints there, the buffet breakfast was great with everything you could wish for whether continental of full English. The staff were all particularly helpful and pleasant. The only downside was the price of drinks in the hotel which were very expensive even for local beers, but as we were only a short walk from the many bars and restaurants in Paceville this was not a great problem.
Overall a very nice stay and would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joblanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very pleased that you were happy with your wife’s birthday surprise and that the friendliness and service of our staff helped in making your holiday a most enjoyable one.

It is also great to hear that you appreciated our lavish buffet breakfast and the wonderful view from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just come back from out 3rd holiday at ther Corinthia St George's Bay. The hotel has had a few mixed reviews in the past, but I find it hard to see why. The staff are, without exception, polite and efficient. The hotal and grounds meticulously clean and the service generally second to none.
The rooms are spacious with 2 queen or 1 king sized beds and balconies big enough for 4 adults to sit at and have a meal. The chambermaid service- Previously a but surly- has changed for the better and all the maids were extremely friendly and helpful.
The pool arrangements are good. They now have extra touches like sunglass cleaning, snacks and free sodas at linchtime and plenty of sunbeds- We were there in the hight of summer and never had a problem getting beds where we wanted.
Some people have mentioned prices in restaurants- I did not feel that theses were excessive- If you are concerned, then they are all published on the website- check before you book.
A lot of people seem to get excited about the 5 star rating. I agree that the criteria for this do change from counrty to country, but rather than getting worried about how many stars it should or shouldn't have, I would look at the price and be very reassured that you will get an excellent holiday for your money.
As a final point I would like to say that the head concierge who has had a personal attack in one review is excellent at his job. He answered all queries by return of e mail and dealt with our booking falutlessley as well as organizing transfers etc.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Malta. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Book in the winter as they frequently have 30% or even 50% discount sales
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very pleased to read that you appreciate the efforts of our employees and the extra services we are offering by the pool.

I will personally thank Robert Vella, our Head Concierge, for the excellent service he has provided to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel for the fourth time.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have visited this hotel several times, for business trips.
The rooms are large, most of them have very good view, especially those looking to the pools or to the bay.
The linen are in good shape, beds and pillows are ok, you would enjoy sleeping there if it was not for the A/C system which is quite noisy. You can always turn it off though...
There is desk with sufficient light and quick internet altough expensive (20E /day, 7.5E per hour)
What is also appreciated, is that they have in the room, plugs of both types (English and European standard)

The rooms are not very well cleaned though and have a moldy smell, probably due to high moisture.
Even the bathroom is not cleaned properly, at least on what is expected from such an hotel.

Breakfast is ok, still i would expect that tables and area would be more clean.

Surrounding areas are perfect, very nice pool, excellent service, good amenities.
What is more, there are 2 more restaurants which serve excellent food:
Henry and Beans which is like an American pub and serves drinks, hamburgers and selection of meats, and Grill 3301 which serves BBQ and fish.
First is much more value for money, while the second one is rather expensive, but more luxury.
Both have proffesional service, and during summer live music.

Staff is very polite and helpfull, although some time nned their time...

Overall, a nice to stay hotel, especially if you can find a promotional price.

Room Tip: Try to get one room, with view to the pools and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos_Bout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

It is great to hear that you keep on returning and that you enjoy our Hotel, its recreational areas and the various dining facilities we offer. I am also happy that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I apologise that the cleaning was not up to standard and I have asked the Executive Housekeeper to look into this matter to make sure that the necessary corrective action is taken immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel some time in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family have just got back from another summer holiday at the Corinthia Hotel St. Georges Bay. We came back because of the friendly staff, the food, the services, and relaxed atmosphere.

Blown away this year by the additional poolside services such as free sunglasses cleaning, complimentary regular ice-cold towels and drinks, and the ability to tweet your drinks/food/ice-cream order from the sun-bed - how cool is that?

The Head concierge Robert Vella is so incredibly helpful, and personally goes out of his way to ensure all is well. He and his staff are always on hand to sort anything out, from a broken suitcase this year (fixed within 10 minutes) to car and boat hire, buses, collection from the airport, etc. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for Robert and the old phrase, “that’s not in my job description” never applies to him.

I am a former college, university lecturer and assessor in customer service, and I’m always mindful of good and poor service. I have always found the service at the Corinthia Hotel St. Georges Bay very good indeed. I find other many guests rude, patronising and dismissive, and the staff deserve a medal for their patience and continued good grace. For example of welcome good service, arriving in reception for a 4.30am departure home, we were greeted by complimentary tea, coffee and a selection of freshly backed warm pastries as we were to miss breakfast!

We have always found the reception staff, Anne-Marie, Monica and their colleagues so welcoming, courteous and helpful, especially Tennille Bartello. Victor in the restaurant is always on top of things, he and his staff really look after us. We very much enjoyed his colleague, Michael's humour and letting us know about the local festivals, etc.

New General Manager, Stuart Chappell can be seen 'on patrol' making sure all is running smoothly, together with Patricia Sullivan, Guest Relations Manager, who always seems to be around, smiling, ready to help.

The bookable courtesy bus to and from Sliema and Valetta and the main bus terminal is a most welcome service for days out.

The free Wi-Fi in reception is most useful and welcome indeed.

Our only (constructive) criticisms would be firstly, (despite the prohibiting placards) the inflatable’s in the top pool which we think should remain as the relaxing pool we are used to, the children their balls and inflatable’s have two other larger pools to play in, and secondly, maybe the TVs and available channels could do with an upgrade, not that we spend much time in the room anyway :-)

The hotel is within walking distance of the shops, bars, restaurants and cinemas of Paceville, at the end of the road, and within walking distance of all the facilities of the local town. There is a new multi-tiered park opposite the hotel with play areas, steams, sheltered seating areas, and free wi-fi. The Hotel's staff, pools, location, choice of restaurants and bars, food, accommodation, everything – all great! We are definitely returning next year and looking forward to this safe and friendly environment free of holiday stress.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I am very happy to read your positive feedback and it is great to hear that due to our friendly staff, food, service, location, pools, accommodation and atmosphere you keep coming back.

I am also very glad that you enjoyed our additional pool side treats and our twitter order service, wherein you may order your food and drinks without leaving your sun lounger.

We are currently working on a programme to upgrade our TV system which will include new TVs and Wi-Fi in all the rooms.

I am very proud to hear you talk the way you do about our employees and I will ensure to personally thank Robert, Anne-Marie, Monica, Tennille, Victor, Michael and Pat for the excellent service they provided to you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel next year.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was not realy happy in this hotel, i had a room in the side building.
The reception area looks old and absent. The room was small and cold and the bed was too soft and too small. The balcony was small and i did't feel well sitting there.
3 days i stayed here which was o.k., but also enough. Maybe the rooms in the main building are better, but the price for the room that i had was too high.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, however, your description does not seem to describe our Hotel at all.

We have a lovely light and airy lobby with plenty of sunshine and an amazing view of the sea.

Also, our rooms and beds are not small at all and nearly all of them are sea views which enjoy long hours of sunshine so this makes them warm, especially during the hot summer months.

Are you sure you are referring to the five star Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay, as we only have one main building, we do not have a separate side building.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The only service that seems to work is breakfast. Everything else is a shambles!

1. Reception- check in took an hour and a half with some of the rudest people that I have ever encountered in hotels. There was a problem with the appalling travel agency that had made our booking and the hotel did absolutely nothing to help us. The desk manager- Marie Claire - was especially unpleasant and unhelpful to us.

2. Housekeeping - it was very rare for us to have a whole day without any problems. There was always something missing e.g towels or tea or shampoo not replenished. Lights did not work and the toilet broke. Shets were not changed. When we called Housekeeping there was never a response on the phone.

3. Swimming- first of all, there are absolutely no health and safety regulations around the pools or lido. While there are long lists of banned activities e.g. No diving, shouting, inflatables etc. these are not enforced. Consequently, children and adults jump or dive in where you are swimming, there are ball games and excessive noise and antisocial behaviour e.g. children jumping from high walls into the pool where people were swimming.

The lido and one of the pools are also open every week day pm to local language school students and the general public. There is major overcrowding and huge amounts of noise e.g. People playing loud music on their mobile phones and screaming and shouting and yet again jumping in the sea where people, we're swimming.

Towels- the hotel has a complicated system in which you have to exchange vouchers for beach towels. However, the place frequently runs out of clean towels.

4. The Spa- not only is this dirty and run down, but it is also staffed by exceptionally rude people. We were told to leave at 7.30 when it closes at 8. The water cooler was usually empty and their towels had frequently run out. It was also often full of unaccompanied children even though it stated an over 18 rule.

5. Rooms- these were faded and in need of modernisation e.g. Old TVs and furniture, no wi fi unless you paid vast amounts, tacky showers, old towels etc.

In summary, the hotel is not properly managed. It is full of lazy, disaffected staff who cannot be bothered to help guests or enforce any of the regs. There is a general sense of hostility to guests- especially if you ask for anything. Staff have exteremly poor customer service skills and snap and argue with guests. We travel extensively and this is most certainly not a 5 star quality hotel. Malta thinks that it can get away with this poor quality provision because there is not much competition on a small island. However, if these high prices and low standards continue, tourists will stop coming.

Stayed: August 2012
5  Thank speakoutLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay and I apologise for not meeting your expectations. This is not our usual standard.

I have advised all the Managers concerned of your comments for them to take the necessary corrective action so as to avoid such incidents in the future.

I was, however, very surprised to read that you were not satisfied with the quality of service of our employees as we very rarely receive bad comments about our staff, who are very committed, friendly and always ready to help.

On a positive note, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our lavish buffet breakfast and that you were happy with the service.

We are currently working on a project to update all our TVs and TV system, which will also include Wi-Fi in all the rooms. We are also planning to refurbish the Spa next year.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the chance in the future to prove that we can do better than your experience suggests.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have nothing but positive things to say about our stay. Our luggage for the first two days of our stay was lost by easy jet so we were rather stressed when we arrived to check in, in particular because we were in Malta for our friends wedding two days later. A special mention must go to Pat who was an incredibly calming influence and offered us the basic toiletries we needed, and a complimentary cup of tea which was much needed. Among other things they helped us chase the airport r.e our suitcases. Just wonderful staff throughout our stay. When our suitcases arrived they were in our room waiting for us. All facilities were impeccable. the swimming pool areas were very clean and relaxing, and the little extra touches of cold flannels and drinks through the very hot days we're a lovely touch. The breakfast buffet was of a very high standard with an array of choices. All in all a wonderful hotel and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to hear that you found everything to be excellent and I will personally thank Patricia Sullivan, our Guest Relations Manager and all the Front Office Team for helping you sort out the problem of the lost luggage.

I am glad that you enjoyed our Hotel, our lovely pool areas with the free snacks and ice cold towels and our lavish buffet spread, as well as the wonderful service of our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.1 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay

Address: | St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3301, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $118 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay is one of the best luxury hotels in Malta, bringing together outstanding sea views, enchanting luxury and unbeatable service.Standing like a beacon of luxury accommodation on a promontory overlooking St. George’s Bay in Malta, the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay can’t help but inspire dreams. Choose from a range of sumptuous rooms, each with a private balcony and state-of-the-art amenities couched in an elegant design that combines historic romance with a fresh contemporary edge. Guests of this 5 star luxury hotel in Malta are treated to unique experiences throughout their stay.There’s no need to tear yourself away from the picture postcard views of the bluest Mediterranean for dinner: each of the luxury hotel’s 9 fine restaurants offers ravishing vistas along with the most delectable meals. Dine al fresco at the Grill 3301 rooftop terrace, surrounded by the soft sea breeze, 360º views, and the mouthwatering aromas of fine cuisine. Or take a sip of a wide selection of fine wines in the exquisite French-style charm of the Vinotheque Bistro. The adventurous will be spoilt for choice with the hotel’s water sport centre, which offers private yacht hire, and the on-site diving centre. The famous Lido at the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay also offers 3 pools, children’s pool, bars, restaurants, sunbeds, and sea access, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful location. And for pure tranquility, there’s even a spa. But not just any spa: the Apollo Day Spa provides the ultimate in holistic pampering and wellness treatments designed to bring out the best, carefree side of you. Completed by an idyllic location that gives easy access to the highlights of Malta, there’s truly no better place to make your Malta holiday than the Corinthia Hotel St. George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel Saint Julians
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing