We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Nearby Hotels
Hugo's Boutique Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$252
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$173
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
$168
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
$332
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$172
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
$203
$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Hotel(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spinola Hotel(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,471)
Filter reviews
2,472 results
Traveler rating
1,229
783
319
89
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
783
319
89
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfra martinohenry j beanscourtesy bussea viewcaviar bullgeorge's baythe executive loungeindoor poolplenty of sunbedsomelettespavallettastconciergelidopacevillecharles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,642 - 1,647 of 2,472 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just spent a week in the Corinthia St Georges Hotel in Malta on a bed & breakfast basis. It is a lovely hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms were clean & the beds were comfortable, we had a lovely sea view, the staff were friendly and accommodating, there were many pools, bars and terraces to relax in around the hotel. The food was excellent with a breakfast buffet on offer; with plenty of choices, fresh fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast etc. Everything was freshly prepared.

Unfortunately however, our stay was a little marred by poor housekeeping. We arrived at the hotel at 2.45 pm and we were told that our room was not ready and would be about another half hour, so we had a look around the grounds of the hotel to kill time. On returning to reception about ½ hour later, we were informed that our room was still not ready, the reason given was that the previous guests did not vacate the room on time, this we felt was a rather feeble excuse and we did not believe it. We therefore went to the bar and had a drink. On returning about an hour later we were informed that our room was now ready for us, however, on arriving outside the room, the maids were still cleaning it, and we had to wait yet again for around a further ½ hour in the lobby. This was unacceptable, we had just had a long journey and wanted to unpack and freshen up especially as the weather was extremely hot. We were however, offered a free barbeque as compensation.

The following day, and after spending the day sightseeing, we arrived back in our room to discover it had not been serviced, we needed to freshen up as we were going out early so we phoned reception and asked for fresh towels, we requested these 3 times before they eventually arrived, the room was not cleaned. The following day we arrived back in our room for an afternoon siesta and guess what? the room had still not been touched, by this time we were getting extremely irritated. We called the manager who apologized and said there had been some problems with their housekeeping, this was not our problem! He offered us a free meal that evening for the inconvenience we had experienced and the room was cleaned straight away. As we settled down for a siesta a maid barged into the room without knocking, not realizing we were there or being told that it had already been done! The following day we encountered the same scenario, the room had not been touched, again we complained, a very ditsy maid arrived and cleaned it while we waited on the balcony, she was extremely rude and bad tempered because we had complained.

For the final 2 days of our stay, we had a lovely maid called Josephine, who was not actually allocated to do our room and was not part of her remit but she made an excellent job and was there as soon as we vacated our room in the morning. Our thanks to her.

All in all it was a good week and the hotel was lovely and we would recommend it, however, I would not give it 5*, a 4* would be more appropriate, this is mainly because there appears to be some very serious issues with the hotel’s cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2bfreeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay and firstly I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations in the Housekeeping area. This is not our usual standard.

I have discussed these issues with the Executive Housekeeper for her to take the necessary corrective action so as to avoid such incidents in the future and am very glad that Josephine did a wonderful job on the last two days of your stay.

On a positive note, I am very happy to hear that you loved our Hotel with its various recreational facilities, the magnificent views, as well as our excellent food and it is great to hear that you found our employees to be friendly and accommodating.

We value your business very much and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the chance in the future to prove that we can do better than your experience suggests.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have stayed here four times over three years. Two very minor issues to start with, there needs to be more staff on the reception desk during peak times and the air conditioning struggles to keep the room comfortable on a very hot day( my room was facing thhe sun most of the day). A great selection of swimming pools with enough sun lounges for hundreds of people, access to the bay if you prefer salt water. Good quality room service. Very friendly staff. Nice spa, jacuzzi area. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, you will not get bored with the usual hotel food here. Every room has a balcony and a view. Rooms are of a good size as is the bathroom. Located five minutes walk from Paceville and it's frenetic nightlife, twenty five minutes drive from the airport. For a family or couple this hotel would be an excellent choice. I always enjoy my stay here and have never had any trouble with the noise from outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our Hotel and its location as well as its recreational areas and the magnificent views.

I am also pleased that you were happy with our room service and that you like dining in the various Corinthia Beach Resort Outlets. It is also great that you found our employees to be accommodating and friendly.

I apologise for the lack of staff at Reception and the efficiency of the air conditioning in your room. I have discussed these issues with the Front Office Manager and the Maintenance Manager for them to take the necessary corrective action so as to avoid such incidents in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel soon.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We've just come back from a week's stay at the Corinthia St George.
Well located outside St Julian's main tourist area (very noisy), the pool/sunbathing area is great, and the food at the restaurants within the resort is good.
What we found generally lacking is the service. The staff is friendly, but there doesn't seem to be any wish on their part to make guests comfortable: avoid looking at the guests so as not to be asked anything.
A huge drawback if you are there for a rest: next door's hotel seems to have an outdoor disco at the weekend, so no sleep is to be had before 2am!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaimieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

I thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

On a positive note, it is great to read that you liked the location, as well as our recreational facilities and various dining options around the Beach Resort.

I am, however, sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the music coming from the neighbouring Hotel over the weekend. We have an agreement with the hotel next door that all music is turned off by midnight. On that particular weekend, due to the direction of the wind, the disco music you heard must have come from across the Bay. This is an unusual occurrence and I apologise for the inconvenience.

I would like to assure you that we continuously conduct service skills training to all our front line employees to ensure the highest quality standard of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here in 2010. This hotel is definately 5*! The beds were the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! Our hotel room was spotless with plenty of room and we requested a quiet room, which we got! The swimming pools and semi private "beach" was lovely and quiet. It is very close to St Julians nightlife and very safe to walk up and down to the bay. We choose room only and had a light breakfast in a nearby cafe. Breakfast in hotel was very expensive.
I return to Malta this year and have decided to go to Corinthia sister hotel Marina - for a change (only about 200m between two hotels) but I'm hoping the standards will be as high!

Room Tip: Booked online - shop around the sites but their own hotel site has good special offers... get the transfers to and from Airport - very good value and its too hot to be waiting for a bus.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edfrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our Corinthia bed and our recreational facilities and that we helped in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Beach Resort and to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Staying at the Corinthia really made our first trip to Malta very enjoyable. The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. A special mention to Alex on the concierge desk, who was very helpful and gave us loads of directions and tips on things to do. There was a mix up with room on arrival but that was quickly sorted.

The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable and definitely worthy of its star rating. The rooms were very spacious, clean and the view was great. I thought the Internet charges were quite expensive but they had free wi fi in the lobby which was enough in the end...after all I was on holiday.
The spa facilities were also very clean and staff friendly and helpful as ever. i mainly used the indoor pool, jacuzzi and steam room and during peak times can get very busy. We often went first thing in the morning.

The food was great, the buffet breakfast was amazing with so much choice. The restaurant food was also good although a little pricy for our budget to eat there every night. Attached to the hotel is an American Grill we ate there a couple times...it was burgers and chips sort of place but very good burgers! There were other food places close by and Paceville was 10 minutes walk away with a number of restaurant and bars. We didn't go to Malta for the night life but the bars and few clubs in the Paceville area were really good and made our holiday that little bit better. And with the hotel walking distance away, it really did work for us.

The hotel also do a shuttle to valletta in the morning and a pick up in the afternoon which was a nice touch as was getting invited to have drinks with the General Manager but we had already made plans.

Overall a very nice holiday at a very nice hotel, i Would definitely visit Malta again and would definitely stay here!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay.

I am very pleased to read that you found our staff to be efficient and friendly and I will personally pass on your thanks to Alex our Concierge for helping you out with your holiday plans.

I am glad that you enjoyed our various dining options, including our sumptuous buffet in the Fra Martino, the Grill 3301 fine dining restaurant and Henry J Bean’s American Bar and Grill and that you also made use of our lovely Apollo Spa.

At the moment we are looking into a project to upgrade our TV System and this will include Wi-Fi in all the bedrooms. Wi-Fi is currently available in the Lobby, by the Pool and in our Conference areas.

I am very happy to hear that you also made use of our courtesy bus. It is a pity that you did not make it to my weekly Cocktail Reception as you would have enjoyed it.

It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malta and to our Hotel soon.

Best regards
Stuart Chappell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews