We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a very good but needs improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost a very good but needs improvement!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would have loved to rate this higher, and to be honest it really is between an average and a very good but that rating doesn’t exist!
Firstly with the positives - the Staff are very attentive and helpful and I would rate their help and assistance as excellent. The room was nice (quite dated and generic like most big hotels) and the air con was great in the middle of August when it was scorching hot. The rooms were always cleaned to a very good standard and our sea view balcony was lovely. The breakfast buffet and the staff in the kitchen and waiters and waitresses were great, cannot fault them.
However the negatives were things that we noticed such as one late afternoon I wanted to order room service and noticed that each time you order room service you must pay 5 Euros for the 'service'. The TV channels were a good variety, however to watch a film this would cost you 15 euros! Is that normal, usually its half of that? The swimming pools were quite nice, however the kids pool was a bit of a walk and fairly small and not too impressive. We would eat at the Pool Bar restaurant most lunch times, their pizzas are fantastic however the quality of their salads (pls avoid) was disappointing and shocking. You literally pay 7 euros for some old iceberg lettuce, not the quality you would expect to see in any restaurant.
Now for more general info, the location is good for bars, restaurants and Valletta. The beach is not very nice and dirty (it's a city beach so that’s to be assumed I guess).
I would like to rate this as very good but there were just a few too many things that were irritating for a 4* star hotel. The Staff really make this hotel, the rest needs improvement…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NajwaandSonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the constructive feedback pertaining to your recent stay at our Hotel. Your observations are currently being discussed at Management level.
Alternatively, it's of great satisfaction to note that our team members did make a difference during your stay with us.

Meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the event that any family members or friends plan to visit the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    754
    178
    61
    18
See reviews for
439
990
68
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel from July 28 to August 11. We had a superior triple room on the 4th floor with seaview. The location of the hotel and the sea view from the balcony was fantastic. The hotel is close to Pacevile with many English schools, young students, bars, discos and shops but fortunately not too close.The hotel with the Corinthia sister hotel has a long beach with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The both hotels have 5 nice swimming pools but we preferred swimming in the sea.
We liked the Pool Bar and Italian Marina reastaurants which serve good food and have nice view of the Bay. The rooms are nice, quite big, well equipped. WiFi in the rooms is a big plus.
We did appreciate the staff work. They are very courteous and nothing is much trouble for them. We would highly recommend to everyone who wants to have a relaxed holiday in Malta.
Definitely one of the best hotels and locations here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room preferrably on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for recommending our Hotel.
It is truly a pleasure to note that both our location and services exceeded your expectations.

Should you have any family members or friends visiting the Maltese Islands please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Marina Beach Resort & Spa is a holiday resort with all of the necessary facilities required for such a place. There are a number of dining and drinking outlets in the resort and plenty of pools and direct access to the sea. The hotel is directly on St Georges Bay and has lovely views from the rear of the place.
I was staying on business and found the rooms to be well appointed, clean, airy with balcony's looking over the bay. The free wifi is ok but not very fast and I had difficulty in receiving and sending emails. The premium wifi package is available but at a price!
The food in the main building is ok but I found it to be quite bland. The airport is approximately 30 minutes away by car and there buses and taxis aplenty in Malta, although the bus service isn't as good as it used to be. The small community of St Georges Bay is just down the street with plenty of bars, restaurants and a small beach.
If staying on business it should be kept in mind that this is a holiday resort with familes with small children in residence.
A nice hotel, all round.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel, Upper floor rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in Malta and at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

Meanwhile, we all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you at our Hotel.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We, 2 ad+2 ch, stayed at the Marina for five nights in late July. It is a great hotel for travellers of all types with great facilities, lots of space inside and out and ideally placed in the Georges bay area of St Julians, a five minute walk from the small bay and Bayside shopping centre and ten minutes walk from the harbour side.

Pro's
- Super location - close enough to the action and yet quiet and relaxing,
- Great facilities - pools, bars, restaurants (the photos don't quite do it justice I feel) with beautiful views of the sea and bay,
- Spacious room - perfect air con especially in the blistering heat of July, the net curtains are fantastic mosquito barriers which is a large plus for me as I am extremely allergic to their bites, tea&coffee making faclilities, safe (payable locally) and the minibar had enough room for me to put in my own bottle of water, bathrooms really well equipped and housekeeping daily with lots of towels, great tv with a lovely welcome message on arrival, hairdyer, trouser press and comfy beds!
- The cafe bar just off reception is great for a snack any time of day, we used it for breakfast as we like to sleep late.
- Standard of food everywhere is high.
- Professional staff on the whole.
- Great pool towel service.
- The hotel taxi driver that took us to the airport was clearly an experienced professional driver and a pleasure to chat to. My son was delighted to find out he was a former Malta international soccer player.
- Free wifi.
- Hot pool showers and the pool toilets are regularly cleaned and the floor dried so you don't slip as you walk around.
- Pool staff are attentive without being overbearing.

Con's
- All of the five pools (except for the baby pool) are minimum depth of 1.25 metres, some are minimum 2+ metres so smaller children and non-swimmers are not so eager to go in and as a result most people congregate around the steps. It was not clear to me if the staff on duty are trained life guards or not.
- One staff member in the pool bar beside the pool tables area, I won't mention his name, seemed to be having a bad week while we were there and was grumpy whenever we approached him. On one occasion I asked him to change my 2 euro coin to 1 euro coins so we could use the pool table beside him in the hotel and he told me couldn't open the till machine without a sale! I asked him if he was joking, afterall I was a resident trying to use hotel facilities and not a passerby from the street looking for change for the bus, and he grumpily told me I could wait for someone else to buy something if I liked so I went to reception and got change. When I returned and put the coin into the pool table it got stuck and a different staff member told me the machine was out of order and he returned with the guy who had been grumpy with a replacement euro for me - they seemed to be able to open the till on that occasion, maybe he bought something himself because there was no-one else around. A small thing but enough to annoy me and something I would not expect from such a great hotel.
- I found the underground parking ticketing system a little confusing but it wasn't a big deal because the reception staff patiently explained it to me until i understood.

Previously we stayed in the Hilton so the Marina had a lot to live up to, it absolutely did, we preferred it actually and wouldn't hesitate to return once the children are a little taller for the pools.
A wonderful break!

Room Tip: Seaview from ground floor, which is floor 3, upwards for views. Use the cafe beside reception, grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NODL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed and informative description of your recent visit at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort.

Please rest assured that your comments and observations have been shared with all our team members. The Management is also looking into ways for improving the con's mentioned in your review.

Meanwhile, we all look forward to welcoming you once again at our Hotel.Please do contact me directly when planning your next visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a lovely stay in this great hotel.Staff were all extremely courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is modern and stylish with spacious airy rooms. Air conditioning slightly noisy at higher settings but that is a very minor gripe.All guests have full use of the adjoining St George hotel and its equally good facilities.Beds in rooms are massive and we found them very comfortable. I would not hesitate to return when next in Malta.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for highlighting the human resources aspect of the Hotels' services, We are truly pleased to read that our team members did make a difference during your recent stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the event that any family members or friends do visit the Maltese Islands in the future.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A good hotel outside Paceville, but close to beach, and with own access to sea pool. There was always enough deck chairs around the pools, and it never felt crowded. The breakfast is really good! And the staff was really nice and always helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
On behalf of all the team at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel with other people around the world.

Should you consider visiting Malta once again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just stayed at the marina Corinthia & it was a very relaxing 7 days room cleaned every with new towels to a high standard, all staff very friendly especially reception they helped me contact tour guides when they were late on pick up....lots of positives for the hotel but I will mention my two negatives...the chairs on the balcony are really uncomfortable and we could have done with a fridge in the room for water instead of a mini bar full to the brim.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peely10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and happy to note that your overall experience at the Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort was indeed a pleasant one.

We all look forward to hearing from you with a confirmation of another booking. In the event that you prefer to have your minibar unstocked, please do let us know in advance. We shall surely find a way around it.

Should you have any family members or friends visiting Malta, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing