We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very badly run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very badly run hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived at 11am expecting to be in our room at 2pm. No chance we were told by very rude staff that we should check in at 3pm, we were sent to the other hotel to check our passports etc, Seeing the amount of people waiting, we went back to our hotel the Vallette at 2pm and waited their until 3.10 we asked the reception, if we could now check in only to be told that we had to go back to the st george.
We arrived at the hotel only to find the reception area crowded with irate holiday makers. Some with young children crying after a long flight.
Finally at 4.30 we were given the no of the room but no key, my husband had to go to the other hotel and ask there,and after a search he was given the Key.
The hotel was full of young studends very unrully and noisy, the dining area was always crowded they were using one hotel for eating only, after a few days they opened our hotels restaraunt for breakfast only.
The food was ok you could usually find something to eat, but it always took time for the food to be replenished, Fish chicKen and meatballs were the main things on the menu.
The rooms were not cleaned until we requested them to be, then only basics, bath never cleaned, our room was cleaned twice in 9 days and then only after going to reception, where we hads to ask for towells, sheets were only changed once, In 30 years of travelling we have never stayed at such a disfunctional hotel and would never step foot in it again.

Room Tip: Dont go to the St George or the Lavette unless you are deaf, the noise is vry loud at night sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your comments!

I am sorry we did not seem to meet your expectations. Rest assured I will look into both check-in and cleaning to better these services.

Regarding the amount of young people here, this is more difficult due to the popularity of the resort with this age group.

Reserving a seaview room at booking guarantees a peacefull stay!

Kind regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    335
    593
    470
    1,711
See reviews for
550
1,019
218
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed on 12th to 15th April 2013, turned up at 12' O Clock told checking not till 3pm and a room will be allocated then.

Finally we was given a 2 bed room apartment across the other side of the main reception building.

The door was open and half of the door was missing and boarded up, as we walked into the room smells like weed and it was really Disgusting and Filthy.

My wife and I decided to check out of the hotel go and stay at Inter Continental not to far from there.

I called the manager who then decided to find me 2 room in the main reception building where other members of my group was staying and had better room.

At last finally we got a decent room and the kids enjoyed every minute of there stay apart from the food.

I would like to thank the manager for sorting out our room and suggest they make improvements to many issues people have been complaining about.

Room Tip: Hotel has few section speak to the manager don't walk out quietly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesiPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Whilst I am happy that we managed to sort out your problem, and change your room, enabling you and you family to have a nice time, It si unfortunate that you describe us as "Horrific and disgusting" We do our best to offer value for money, but we are not 5***** as is Intercontinental.

Kind regards,

St.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mayfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com and were assured although it was rated 3 star it was equivalent to 4. Well what can I say. It was without doubt the worst accommodation that we
have stayed at. The rooms were filthy, badly equipped and literally falling apart. The lift to our 4th floor prison was out of service for the entire week. The staircase was filthy and quite often littered in the morning. Dirty laundry sat around on each level. The windows to the rooms didn't seal properly. The tv didn't work. We had 3/4 sleepless nights due to rowdy yobs above us. The 24 room service didn't answer when we called to complain about noise, though strangely they managed to give us a 2.30 wake up call the 5th night (that we hadn't asked for...it didn't matter because we couldn't sleep anyway). The pool had no changing facilities and no shower so that presumably people went in unwashed or covered in suntan lotion. The restaurant was overcrowded and a considerable distance away in another block. This hotel should by usual standards of health and safety be shut down. Enough said. Please do yourselves a favour and do not book into this dump.

Room Tip: Don't book into this so called hotel. you will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemosedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Front Office Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your stay.

We do aim to sort out all guests problems from reception, and it is unfortunate that you did not perceive this.

If you wish please contact us directly with your details.

Kind regards,

St.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

There's budget holidays.... and then there are moments a bit like in the inbetweeners movie where you go "Oh my God how did I end up here". We had a pretty bad experience... We had confirmation of a double room but got a twin, there was no shower only a bath, not clean, mattresses were hard as rocks, the staff gave a key TO A RANDOM PERSON who was supposedly also meant to be checking into the room we were in and this person walked straight into our room with her bags whilst I was standing in just a towel after my bath... pretty shocking! If you are staying make use of the safe deposit box and DON'T GO ALL INCLUSIVE the food is not worth it, it is like school dinners in a really bad school. And the area reminded me of a run down version of Malia, it was very noisy at night. DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THE PHOTOS!!

Room Tip: If you are mental enough to stay, get a room at the back of the hotel so you don't get the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We take all suggestions and comments seriusly in order to improve services.

St.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ok, what to know before you go! This is about as far away from the Ritz as Frank Gallager is from getting a dinner invitation from Margret Thatcher. It's not posh.......at all. Throw a touch of Post Modernist architecture, the clientele of The Jockey and half of Manchester into the pot and you have the ingredients for a very entertaining stay. I also think at least one botched tattoo is compulsory. I didn't see a single person who wasn't sporting some hideous indelible mark. Ok, let's be serious for a moment. Seriously, don't go, unless your prepared for lots of very very loud noise at night. Asknfor a room overlooking the pool and its much quieter. This area is perfect for young, or not so young single people with NO KIDS. It's not the place for toddlers or young kids. Teenagers will love it if they're old enough to get into all the bars and clubs. Some great restuarants in this area though, and if you are staying at this hotel, of this you will be very gratefull. The food is like hospital food at its worst. Rubbery meat, greasy fish, mash like Cadburys Smash with lots of lumps. We did eat here a few times for convenience and because we were all inclusive, but.......well it's at your own risk. If you are with kids and they like chips then your onto a winner. The chips were actually the best thing there.
The all inclusive beer was fine, but if you like red wine take your own. The white wine was passable.....just! The rooms were very very basic and not very clean, but I could live with that. We don't go away to spend time in a hotel room anyway. I actually like the Post Modern theme of the place. It was almost like time travel back to the 80's. The showers were those old plastic portable ones that you fix on to the taps which I found quite amusing. The entertainment in the evening was once again like going back in time to the 80's. Of course the ubiquitous bingo was in full swing every night and lots of games such as "who ever collects the most socks and shoes from the audience" wins a cocktail! There were moments when I thought I was on the Jeremy Kyle show, and they were the good bits. To be fair though, there were lots of people who did seem to be having a really good time in the evening and a couple of old guys who could sing and get everyone bopping. Think of your gran at Blackpool doing "The Slosh" and the "Funky Chicken" I guess I'm just a snob who finds it hard to let go and dance like there's no one watching. Kids enjoyed the disco as well. Staff at the hotel were friendly enough for the most part. They did look irritated a lot of the time though, which doesn't really surprise me. Lots of people complaining about rooms and noise etc. the manager was very nice and moved us to a quiet room with no hassle whatsoever.
I would probably recommend this hotel if your out for a good time clubbing etc and don't mind nasty food, or are too hung over to care. Beds a bit lumpy and springy as well.It was very cheap for us, we paid around £350 for a week for 4 of us, all inc. Don't pay more! I spoke to some people who had paid over £400 per person for the week. We're they pissed off!!!!! Bus stop just around the corner so good location to get around and see Malta which is well worth a visit. loads to see and do, too much to go into here, but definitely recommend this Island to everyone. Oh forgot to mention the pools. Lovely outdoor pools and only the odd nappy to skid on, but a bit too cold to swim in April. The indoor pool isn't heated at all so kids will be disappointed. Don't book in April thinking there is an indoor pool for use because it's way too cold.

Room Tip: Always go for a room with a pool view unless you like to be awake all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisajobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Front Office Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments both positive and negative which will be taken into account in order to improve standards where possible within the category of the hotel.

Kind regards,

ST.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for a one week break and granted we did not pay a great deal for the room, but I expect a minimum standard of services, cleanliness, aesthetics and safety.
The main hotel in St George's Park, which is passable as a low budget family hotel, but La Vallette is used as an overspill and it has NO facilities what so ever - well, at least not during our stay at the beginning of April. If you are unfortunate enough to be placed here, you will need to walk to St George's Park for pool, reception, restaurant, bar, entertainment, service even.
The rooms in La Vallette are dirty, poorly maintained and at times downright dangerous. Our room's walls and floors were stained and dusty, the curtains were falling down, the patio light did not work, the shower hose leaked and did not reach the holder, the bath had no plug, there was a rusty screw on the floor by the bath, the kick board in the "kitchenette" was loose, the shower temperature could not be controlled, the boiler and all its wires/pipes was exposed above the bath (you get the picture...)
The noise from Paceville, Malta's party area, was unbearable, as our room faced the road. Pool facing rooms are apparently more sheltered from the noise.
This room in La Vallette was not a one off, either - other guests we spoke to had similar problems and the queue of disgruntled guests at reception all day long spoke for itself.
After 3 visits to reception on our 3rd day there, we were finally offered a room (not a suite, which we had paid for) in St George's Park. So, my advice would be to persevere and go armed with a written list of issues, so you don't just sound like a whinging Brit.
Our new room in St George's Park was not free of issues (plug socket not working, room only cleaned once throughout the stay, dirty marks on the walls and veranda doors, mouldy tiles, bathroom door got stuck) but was a marked improvement on the previous room!
The service leaves a lot to be desired - staff regularly argue in front guests, the dining room is chaotic, floors are mopped at times of heavy traffic, reception will not make any calls for you or say please or thank you a lot of the time, check in and check out are unceremonious - if you want information you will have to ask.
The food is edible - that is about all I have to say about that. The desserts are pretty good, so stock up on them if you are left feeling hungry! If you are Half board, be prepared to have to pay for drinks, even water, at dinner time. The "fresh orange" at breakfast is more like Fybogel.
This resort is a no frills effort and that is reflected in the price, but staff training in customer service and a deep clean/maintenance programme throughout would not go amiss.
Families and couples who enjoy a quiet life should probably give the La Vallette part of this resort a wide berth, but it could be passable for those who want to party all night long.

Room Tip: Definitely do not accept a room in La Vallette - ask for a pool facing room in St George's Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments! I will look into them all and take the appropriate action where necessary.

Kind regards,

ST.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in April. We bought the holidays within the Easy Jet's promotion. It was a budget trip, but you could get better things for the price we payed for it!
Although we had a confirmation of a double room, we got a twin one. Beds too narrow, mattresses thin and we could even feel and see springs coming out!! narrow and short bed sheets.
My husband had to sleep 4 out of the 7 nights on the settee because he got a very bad back after the 3rd night.
The rooms were cleaned every 2 days and in the common areas you could fin=d rubbish everywhere..
It's situated in the middle of a very noisy area, so if you're thinking of having a rest during the night, forget it!

Room Tip: Unfortunately can't provide any advise, as we didn't get anything of what we were expecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-Veronica-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not receive what you expected. Cleanng is 4 times weekly in the rooms, and continually in public areas. Beds are standard single size and doubles are only available on request.

Kind regards,

St.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Property: The St. George's Park Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing