We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceana Restaurant

Oceana Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 301 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy authentic, rustic Mediterranean cuisine at the Hilton Malta hotel's Oceana Restaurant. Equally popular among locals and Guests of the Hilton Malta hotel, Oceana has a menu that is continuously evolving to incorporate freshly caught local seafood and seasonal produce, offering diners the chance to experience the wondrous diversity of Mediterranean cuisine. Throughout the year, Oceana Guests are provided with a variety of specialty buffets, ranging from Italian, Maltese, Mediterranean Fusion and the popular, seasonal Sunday Buffet Lunch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We came for Saturday night buffet.
It was splendid!!! :)
We went back for food three times before even looking at the desserts, there was so much food.
The ricotta ravioli and sushi were great, and the meats, chickens and sides were amazing. There was even a sea food station where you pick sea food of your choise, and they make it however you like.
When we hit the desert table we didn't know where to start...
The ice cream and chocolate pudding were the best in my opinion, but my husband loved the snicker cake. It was quite the meal!!
We were staying half board at the Hilton so the meal was included, but there were many who paid the 35 euro per person.

Helpful?
Thank Talia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The main restaurant in the Hilton Malta, used it for breakfast in the morning and also on a few occasions for dinner in the evening. The evening fare is a buffet with a good selection of anti pasti, soup, a couple of pasta choices and 3 or 4 main choices along with a carvery. This is something that is not seen too much these days but is always welcome to us.
When selecting the main course the best option is usually to go past the metal turrets and head for the roast meat, which is usually pretty well cooked.
Sweets are mainly various flans and cakes. Although more expensive than eating outside the hotel, the food is good and saves the hassle of looking around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtarfa malta
Level Contributor
278 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I tried this restaurant on various occasions. It is very good for a family Sunday Lunch. Food is well presented and the choice will please anyone. The wine list is very well presented with a number of local and Foreign wines, although it has to be admitted that they are a bit on the expensive side. But when it comes to service, it is second to none as all the staff are always there to help you with anything you may need.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

As guests at the Hilton we ate breakfast in the Oceana, the food and service is second to none, the staff are friendly and very efficient. We also ate here on two Saturday evenings for the buffet, the only problem with the buffet is that there is too much delicious food from which to choose. Again Charlo and his staff are friendly, efficient while remaining discreet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HiltoniteWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“100 stars for a 100 course meal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had been gearing up for a Sunday lunch at the Oceana for quite sometime...so we took the opportunity on my girlfriend's birthday to visit and experience the delighted recommendations we had been given ...

In all honesty I wouldn't know what to begin with !

It is impossible not mention the physical venue itself : well lit (especially on a sunny day - as luckily we experienced) , spacious - and warmed by what we were told is a live piano that adds to the comfort without being annoying - WELL DONE !

The food was outstanding... the variety of food items ,the taste and presentation provides creates a perfect balance between quality and quantity - i truly wish i had space for all those sublime starters !! - yet the creme de la creme in my personal opinion was the live seafood cooking station manned by two professional gentlemen - Gary and Stefan , who although where VERY busy as their station was stormed by people, patiently explained the various items - and the manner in which they put the ingredients together , briskly yet attentively made them look like two artists at work ! (ps: the end result looked and tasted equivalently to a work of art aswell!)


As for the service...


Stephanie and Ian , made us feel like royals ... immediately present when needed - without even being called ! topping up , clearing ALWAYS with a friendly smile on their faces ; making sure our experience lived up to our expectations .... and exceeded ! well done to both !!! Also , as we had explained to the staff prior to our booking that we would be dining on the occasion of my girlfriend's birthday - the staff took the liberty to prepare a slice of very delicious cake , that was served to her accompanied by a blissful live piano version of "happy birthday" - And I can assure you the missus was VERY pleased :)


Finally...

Bearing in mind the experience , food and I believe the price is amazingly WORTH IT ! €35 for a Sunday buffet lunch of that caliber is unheard of !

If you like eating well, in a nice place served by professionals look nowhere else!

Congratulations Oceana Team you got yourselves a more than satisfied customer :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Oceana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing