We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails”
Review of Canas y Tapas - CLOSED

Canas y Tapas
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited the place to grab a drink... have original pitchers and they are very tasty. good place for a great night out with friends. had not the opportunity to taste the food so will surely return soon

Thank adriana611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Canas y Tapas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Authentic spanish dishes with large selection, close to the beach at the heart of St Julian's. Tapas is highly recommended.

Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a mixed plate of meat and cheese and it wasn't particularly inspiring for 16 euros. The staff were nice enough and the drinks were reasonably priced. We are staying in the intercontinental so it was very convenient. Probably wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjonesgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Canas y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

The ‘ plate ‘ or rather board is a very particular dish of hams and cheeses extremely popular with the Spanish , locals and tourist alike. This consists of Jamón Ibérico , Lomo, Chorizo, 2 types of Queso Cabra ( goats cheese and goat and Ewe) as well as Manchego cheese. One can have the Medium size board at € 9.95n and Large @ € 15.60

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The title says it all really.
There is a good choice of spanish tapas. I recommend this restaurant to those who want to try spanish food at a relatively cheap price. However the service is appalling, waiters do not really understand english. We were six at our table... one of us got served the food she ordered way before the rest of us (about 15min before any of us started receiving their plates). There was a mix up with the bill, but even us could not actually decipher what was charged more and how it was done - as the bill we got did not list individual plates.

Approx. 15 Euro per person if you choose 3 tapas main course for every two individuals

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KCu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Canas y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We have three Spanish waiters one of which speaks excellent English, one has I would say,has medium knowledge of English and the other speaks the language poorly. We also have an Italian girl who speaks good English and two Maltese who master the language very well. . One plate could have come before the others , but please remember unless you specifically stated you require your food as starters and main course the waiter could have ‘ understood ‘ that all plates were Tapas .. Food sharing. Our bills are itemized to a tee , but as you say there might have been a mix up on that particular evening which sometimes happens even in the most reputable and finest restaurants as I have experienced myself and I m sure others have too.

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Veg paella was disaster, but everything else we've ordered was testy. The wine was good as well. Waiters friendly and skillful.
The place definitely needs refurbishing - the sits were dirtiest I've ever seen.

Thank Rosana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canas y Tapas also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing