We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not a four-star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bernard Hotel
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Piacenza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but not a four-star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights, from the 14th to the 18th September 2008. We had booked a holiday package on the internet: our stay at the Bernard hotel included the room only.
Before getting there, we had mixed feelings about the place, due to the reviews read on the internet. We were ready for the noise and for an accomdation which wasn't exactly similar to an Italian 4-star hotel.
Regarding the noise, we were very lucky: we had a room at the 4th floor of the hotel, equipped with double door to the balcony and they did their job great. There was indeed loud noise outside but we could sleep with no problem.
As for the 4-star, unfortunately that was true: the room was average, the bathroom wasn't that clean, bed linens were old. The television was in bad condition and we weren't given any remote control (maybe we could have asked, but nobody said nothing and we couldn't find any info on the information book that we found in the room).
The staff was helpful.
One thing we surely didn't like was having our Ids and CREDIT CARD photocopied and kept by the reception staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not clean enough
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WdW000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    17
    20
    28
See reviews for
3
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

I booked this hotel for 10 days, but I only stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is in the middle of the bar district. The closest neighbour is a bar, 10 meterss away from the window. I also think there was a conecting door from the reseption in to another bar.

The place is noicy. You cant get to sleep before the bar close at 3-4 in the morning due to bass sound and high music. When the bars are closed drunk people run up and down the steps. They knock at my door almost every night.

The cleaning lady was coming in to my room every morning about 8 o'clock, even if I had Do not Disturb. She sayed goodmorning, and I kicked her out every morning. The last day i barricaded my door whit my suitcases.

The room was pretty poor, dark. The aircondition dit not cool, and it was wery noisy. The sink in the bathrom dit not let out the water.

I do not understand how this hotel has got 4 stars. All other 4 stars hotel in Maltaq is Luxury compaered to this. In Spain this hotel would be 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wickwire2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We booked this place for only one night, since our flight got us in Malta at midnight (hotel after 2 AM) and we thought it’s not worth spending too much money on a short night. So first night we booked this hotel and for the rest of the trip we booked Intercontinental, which is a half block away. This place was 1/3 of the price of Intercontinental and we got to hotel after 2 AM. So we thought, it can't be that bad. But it was a huge mistake!!!!!! I won’t go back even if they pay me to.
Why?
1- We couldn't sleep a minute- The loud music from the bar in front is so loud that you can't believe it and doesn't stop literally till 4 AM!!!!!
2- The beds are from 1950s or they feel from 1950s - old and dirty
3- insects in the room
4- The cleaning gentleman WALKED in to the room in the morning after a quick knock on the door without waiting for me to say "come in" and WHILE I WAS CHANGING!!!!!!!! He just walked into the room!!!!!! I couldn't believe it. I was outraged.
5- breakfast was inedible. Awful. Greasy. No choice. Coffee one of the worst I have ever had.
6- This place is not even a hostel. I can only imagine young people with no money would have no problem staying there. I am not sure who gave them any stars.

KEEP AWAY you are worth a better place to stay!

  • Liked — Its close to heart of action in St. Julian
  • Disliked — The whole experience - I didn't like anything about this hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryPickyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

My partner and I are both in our early twenties, so we thought The Bernard would be ideal for us as we enjoy our nightlife and thought the hotel would be perfect due to it's close location to all the clubs and bars. Little did we know the hotel is situated literally on the door step of all the major clubs. Even for us we found it too noisy with the music going on til 4/5 in the morning, then building work - both outside our door in the hotel, and ourside our "balcony" (which faced a brick wall) - starting at 7am.
The room itself was thankfully clean and tidy and the housekeepers did do a good job. I didn't really appreciate the manners of some of the reception staff however.
The breakfast food was definately something not to shout about and would have rathered a slice of pizza from the kebab shop next to the hotel every morning instead.
The first time I set foot in the pool I was left choking for the next half an hour due to the amount of chlorine in it.
All in all, an ok stay....although, i would never stay at this hotel again, and definatley would not recommend it.

  • Liked — The couches in the reception area
  • Disliked — Everything else about it.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lulu_2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

The hotel itself was reasonable. The room we were given initially had no proper window and was on the coridoor leading to the breakfast room. This meant that the noise from the clubs kept you awake until about four/five and then breakfast noises started about seven! We were moved to a slightly better room, with a window that was a bit better than the first one. But it was right by the lift so people coming in at five o'clock still in party mode woke me up. Even as a mature couple we enjoy a bit of life, but this was way over the top. I have never seen so many young people out partying at once before. It was very noisy.
We didn't have a problem with the cleanliness, our room was cleaned daily and the linens changed.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone over the age of 19.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EilDon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Under no circumstances stay here. This is not a 4 star hotel. We were shown 4 tatty old rooms very small and decided we wanted our money back when we found the dead cockroach. The location is not relevent. You can walk from one end of St Julians to the other in about 10 mins. And taxi's are cheap and plentiful!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bas2309, Operations Manager at Bernard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2008
I would like to comment on the below mentioned review.

First of all it is clearly outlined in all brochures, websites etc that the Bernard is located in the heart of the night life thus one may expect some noise form the bars surrounding the Hotel.

Our rooms are certified by the Malta Tourism Authority and inspected regularly. Furthermore we have painted all rooms and installed new bathrooms.

We have replaced all mattresses with new ones and changed curtains and bedspreads.

Last but not least we treat all our rooms and public areas. We are contracted by Comtec Pest Control Ltd who treat all areas and rooms every fortnight. The fact that the cockroach was found dead means that they they do their job well and that the treatment is effective.

Should anyone have any further questions or require any sort of information please feel free to contact me on sebastiaan@hotelbernard.com.mt

Kind Regards,

Sebastiaan van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Not really clean, not really dirty. Furniture needs renovation. Cleaning people wake you up at 8.30 shouting "Hellohellohello" and knocking loudly at the door even if they know the discos downstreet played music until 4 AM.
Breakfast is poor, beverages are definitely not to try.
The position is nonetheless excellent, just in the very heart of St. Julians nightlife, 5 min walk from the beach and the shops, 10 min walk from the bus stop.
Don't choose it if you enjoy to sleep at night!

  • Liked — position
  • Disliked — poor cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hexe2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#13 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernard Hotel

Property: Bernard Hotel
Address: St Georges Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of St. Julian's, Malta's prime tourist, entertainment and leisure resort, the 4 Star Hotel Bernard is also just 50 meters away from St. George's Bay with its beautiful small sandy beach. The Hotel is in the centre of Malta's finest entertainment, nightlife and shopping venues and is surrounded by numerous leisure facilities all within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bernard Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Bernard Malta
Bernard Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing