We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sushi platters...home delivered too!”
Review of Sako Sushi

Sako Sushi
Ranked #114 of 334 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Not only do Sako Sushi make great sushi platters (15 or 18 pieces) but they even provide home delivieries too. Great for a special night in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Afrodeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 168 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

One of the main problems with sushi places is how well they take care of their sushi before it meets the rice. This is certainly not a problem at Sako Sushi. Fresh food is also coupled with good service and good value (though not the cheapest). The only fault I found at Sako was the limited choice of rolls, especially when it comes to nigiri. Otherwise you can always count on the place to find quality food, greats service and a pleasant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Konig Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We called in whilst walking around saint julians.the misses had various sushi and I had chilli prawns
Not the best but great value for money .I would call agsin

Thank Si S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We (myself and my little family) are great fans of sushi, we discovered and enjoyed almost all over Europe, unfortunately not yet in Japan. It is a sad fact that sushi -just like the chinese food- started to be commercialized. Average and poor quality, no soul or taste of the real thing. This restaurant is a perfect example of this sad trend. In some of their rolls they put CANNED !!!! "Tuna",. Also please don't use bright food colour on the makis, brrrrrrrrr....In sushi the phrase "the simpler is better" works perfectly!
If you want something way way better go to OKURA not so far away from this place, of course if you just want to be trendy get anything, called sushi.
Average, average....average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank asquistgustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumumati, Owner at Sako Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

First of all sincere apologies for this customer's negative experience at Sako. We prepare our sushi with pride and passion using the best ingredients and freshest fish delivered daily to our restaurant, so a review like this hits us hard but we take criticism positively and such a review will only help us improve our product. However allow me to pass two comments
1. We surely do not use canned tuna in our sushi. The reviewer is referring to our Spicy tuna maki.
This is prepared with cooked tuna rather than raw tuna and obviously prepared daily. It offers an
option to our diners who are nt too keen on raw fish.
2. With reference to the food coloring on the maki which the reviewer mentions. This is in fact tobiko which are fish eggs commonly used in sushi recipes.

I trust that this clarifies the issues brought up by the reviewer.

Once again thanks for your appreciated feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stop here every now and again....never disappointing even though I normally always stick to the same choice. Im sure all the plates are delicious ;) See you soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sako Sushi also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Mosta, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Sako Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing