We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service has gone down hill...”

Okurama Japanese Cuisine & Lounge
Ranked #32 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Service has gone down hill...”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just came back from what used to be one of my favourite restaurants but the service has gone really down hill! A really pity because the food is really good and value for money but the management and waiters have no disregard for their clients... Getting what you order has become a struggle and on top of that I was called a liar and was not even apologised to! They left half of our order out and when I told them they still didn't get the right order. Menu is very misleading and should be revised! Such a shame! Really disappointed... Food is served randomly and you end up eating on your own and not with the rest of your party.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silentcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    111
    33
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FRESH AND ONE OF A KIND IN MALTA”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and i are frequent customers and i have to say it's the best... Locally at least.
You might wait a bit, but at least food is delivered fresh and the way shushi should be...
Buffet is really worth it and STILL served fresh.
If you like shushi you should visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've been to Okura a multitude of times for the past few years with friends, and it's a favourite of ours. There's the option of the buffet (not a buffet in the traditional sense of the word; you can order as much as you like of a particular item which is brought to your table - if you don't eat what you order you have to pay extra, which avoids waste) or ordering off the menu; big eaters or groups might find the buffet option more worthwhile.

There's a wonderful variety of dishes, and they're tastefully presented and delicious! Service is relatively good and there's the added advantage of validated parking ( a big plus point in Paceville)

I'm not giving Okura five stars as for the past couple of times, we've noticed that items we ordered never arrive at the table, and these items always tend to include sashimi, which is very annoying!! Once is a genuine mistake, but three times is pushing it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuitcrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We tried sashimi and sushi. And we drunk sake. All waitress is helpful. And service is very nice. You should try amazing ice cream. This place is the best in malta.

Helpful?
Thank Seda Zeynep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looked good...”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having walked past a few times we wanted to try this place as it looked appealing. Disappointed with the tempura, seasonable vegetables were mainly onions.... Then vegetables with the main were what you would have expected in the tempura, so it wasn't that they didn't have them in the kitchen!
Portions are large so be careful if you don't have a huge appetite.
Liked the place, they turn the food around quickly so not somewhere to go if you want a leisurely meal for the evening. Worked fine for us as we were going on elsewhere.
It was busy so obviously popular. Neither of us eats sushi so can't comment on that side

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okurama Japanese Cuisine & Lounge also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Okurama Japanese Cuisine & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing