We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food,great view”

Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Ranked #27 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food,great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this hotel on Trip Advisor and we were pleased to make the walk from Radisson Blu Hotel. The food was excellent and the service was great. We ha a lovely view of the sea from our table and felt far away from the somewhat rowdy streets of St George's Bay. Wish we'd of found this gem earlier!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    114
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian for some time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Was looking for a relaxed, outside dinning restaurant for our last night in Malta. Saw the reviews and checked it out the night before. We had some great meals so far in Malta and was not disappointed by Palio. Service was great, from the moment we walked in and was given a front sea view table. We saw a review that said we cannot miss the BBQ chicken starter... so we did not, wow it was great along with die for calamari and their signature cracker bread (like a pizza style) with perfect base. Mains were lobster quadretti and the signature porcini ravioli, all top notch and washed down with an Argentine Malbec, served by delightful Beppe for the best Italian meal we have had for some time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the-Twines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We went here for dinner during our vacation in Malta.
The restaurant is located in the Dragonara Resort, it is very nice situated and it got a fantastic view.

We had booked a table on the phone, but somehow they lost our reservation. But we managed to get a table anyway.

They serve mediterran food here. The food is good, the portions are big, the only weak point was the service. The service is very friendly but unexperienced:

We asked if we can have a mixed salad as side order and the waitress asked if it should be small, medium or large. Some minutes later she came back and told us that it is not possible to order a mixed salad as side order.

We wanted to order an Aperol Spritz, the waitress told us she does not know what that is. Some minutes later she came back and told us we can have Aperol if we like. That was a mistake, because for an Aperol-Spritz they charge you one glass of sparkling wine and one Aperol Aperitif which will cost 7.5€ for a 0,1l Aperol.

The food we ordered was good we had a nice evening here, with good food, in a nice location.

Do not oder Aperol Spritz here ;-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank szimmermann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casual, classy, affordable dining!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have been to most of the highly rated restaurants in Malta & I came across this place in a guide book.

Palio's is the ultimate casual dining experience, the food is absolutely delicious (if you don't order the chicken wings you'll be making a huge mistake!) the view is to die for and the clientele are a mix of families & couples. This is the perfect spot to go after a day at the beach, where you don't need to be dressed up to feel comfortable.

A small criticism would be the service, it was a little disjointed. While the food arrived in perfect time, some drinks orders were mixed up and others took quite a long time to arrive. One portion of fries that we ordered didn't arrive but once we checked with the waitress she brought them straight away. I wouldn't call this an 'issue' but I would like to see the service improved on my next visit.

Other than that, great experience, great food & great atmosphere!

Order the:

Chicken Wings
Palio Burger
Chicken Burger
Pizza

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well served”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

As i have a allergic for garlic they served me a good dish without it , and then i am always happy !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ninneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta also viewed

 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing