We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Ranked #27 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“25th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The service was excellent. The manager, James was very welcoming and helpful with preparing the decorations and seeing that everything is undercontrol.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Mandy B,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your visit to the Palio’s Restaurant and the assistance you have received from James to prepare for the occasion.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    114
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

great variety, good quality - just be careful, the portions are huge !

Service is friendly and efficient - the wine list is good - I would recommend you try some of the local wine too

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Jane V,

Thank you for visiting the Palio’s Restaurant during your stay in Malta. We are happy to note in your comments that you had a good experience at the restaurant and hope to welcome you back should you revisit the Islands.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments with fellow diners and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited the lobby bar a couple of times. Delicious food, nice ambiance, extremely polite staff, 5* luxury. Worth a try

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“BUFFET BONANZA...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Another business trip to Malta saw a visit to this lovely hotel for a Sunday buffet lunch; currently only served on a Sunday but available other days during peak season I believe?

On the honest side, the buffet is a bit wasted on me as I cannot just eat and eat for the sake of it… even if I go without food for hours before; I've tried, believe me.

But the buffet here is undoubtedly amazing with an array of food that is mind boggling. Salads, fresh fish, soup, about 8 main dishes, cheese and an almost entire room dedicated to desserts! With a special chocolate fondue, ice cream and kids treat toppings etc…

I think it was E39 per person, which I read came with a half bottle of wine… although this was never offered!?

The food was excellent. The setting opulent.

On the down side it was a Sunday so very very busy and as noisy as dining in a works' canteen. The waitress who showed us to our table didn't explain the system to us… introduce us to the areas of food… just assumed we knew what to do. I say this because there was a separate room where they served fresh pasta and we didn't find it until we went 'looking' for dessert… followed our noses after seeing other customers arrive with cake etc. We were kind of plonked at the table and left to get on with it.

There was a pianist but couldn't really hear him because of the noise.

However, I think in general this hotel… and food offers a lovely quality setting. Avoid Sunday lunchtime if you want peace and quiet or just go with the flow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stvenera
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

i would like to say a big welldone to all the staff of the palios restaurant excellent food and fantastic staff.. the view is breathtaking as we were outside and we enjoyed the sunny weather. hats off to the manager james 100percent satisfied. ;)

Helpful?
Thank sarina293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear sarina293,

Thank you for choosing the Palio’s Restaurant and for your review following your visit.

We are very happy to read that you had an excellent experience and we look very forward in welcoming you back.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta also viewed

 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palio's Restaurant at The Westin Dragonara Resort Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing