We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hostel so far”
Review of Hostel Malti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Malti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thank you Hostel Malti for your great hospitality! The rooms are specious with own draws to lock away your belongings and keep the room.tidy, small kitchen to cook and have your breakfast, cosy living area and an awesome rooftop balcony with spa that we sadly didn't use as it was winter. Aaron is a great host and a great guy!;-) I've been in many hostels and your hostel was definetely the best hostel I stayed so far. I'm looking forward to my next stay :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkehhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hostel Malti has a great, laid back vibe. Aaron was a very welcoming host and very knowledgeable and helpful about the island. The reception/lounge area was perfect for chilling out after a long journey/long day trekking around the island. Lots of fun to be had there (Aaron quite often organised drinks in the evenings), but equally if you wanted to actually get some sleep, party-goers are ushered elsewhere after 11pm. I went in December and there were a good amount of people staying there; I imagine in Summer, with the roof terrace and hot tub, a whole lot of fun could had! Really enjoyed my stay - thanks guys!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_London13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Both Chris and Aaron greeted me (after a late arrival) and I could tell from this point on I had chosen the right place. Being relaxed and open was refreshing and they always had time for a chat and to offer help/advice.

The reception felt as laid back and welcoming a relatives lounge room, especially during the off season which as I found was a good time to travel.

The location was great for proximity to the livelier part of Malta, were nothing is really a distance any way. I did a lot of walking.

The added perks of a roof top bar and jacuzzi are great for such an affordable place.
As per my rating I hold this Hostel in high regard, and trust me I've experienced a few hostels during my stints as a Busabout guide and also Managing YHA's...
A big thumbs up for both Chris and Aaron and Malti!

Room Tip: Fitness centre = short walk up a gradual hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneLehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A couple of my friends and I were studying abroad in England and just decided, randomly, to go to Malta for a weekend. It was one of the best decisions we made. Staying at the hostel Malti made our experience so much better though. Everyone was so incredibly nice, the hostel manager, Aaron, helped us get around, told us where to go to eat, to explore, and to go out at night -- he introduced us to the island essentially. Plus, the actual hostel is adorable. You share a bathroom and a bedroom, but it worked out great. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom got the job done and we were out exploring a lot of the time anyway. I really cannot say enough about this place: it was great, well worth the money, in a great location, and the people were just amazing. Everyone we met there was friendly and really made our experience that much better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthomp1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Like:
1. Friendly owner and manager
Aaron and Chris were both helpful and nice people. I've totally no idea about Malta on the day I arrived, Aaron made me a one day trip plan on the next day and it was great.

2. Great value
I got extreme cheap price from one of the booking website, with such price per night I wouldn't have complaint much.

3. The atmosphere and interior
Small cozy Mediterranean house feel like. Young people around party in the nights at the living hall & rooftop, if you expect for quiet environment then this is not a best place for you.

Dislike:
1. The shower and toilets:
It's unisex, sharing the toilet with stranger guys is really awful to me (imaging the toilet bowl with drips...ewww). Also it has limited toilets and tiny shower. The cleanliness is not too horrible but acceptable and room for improvement. The sensor lights detected at the showers main entrance, if you shower for too long and nobody is around you may ended up shower in the dark...like me! LOL

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taramissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great hostel!
I spent 8 days in Malta recently and I would highly recommend it.
Chris and the team were so friendly and really made my stay so comfortable.
The hostel is very clean, fresh and with an awesome rooftop with a lounge and Jacuzzi!
When I return to Malta in the future I would definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

great hostel, great location and the rooftop is just amazing!
i've been backpacking for a while and i have to tell that hostel is very cosy with a great family spirit.
advice to all backpackers make sure you stay for the mojito nights at the hostel.
special thank chris and aaron for the effort put into make my experience in malta so awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEXANDRE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#21 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Malti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Malti

Address: 41 Telghet Birkirkara | Ta' Giorni, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1147, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $17 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Malti 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Malti is a Backpacker style Hostel conveniently located near the party area of Paceville, Saint Julien's. Also we are only a 5 min walk from restaurants, cafes, shops, pubs, clubs, bars, the sea, buses and much more. We are in the quiet area of Ta' Giorni so you can come home and relax or chill-out on the rooftop. The Hostel architecture is a converted Maltese home dating back some 50 years. The three bright and clean dormitory rooms; Sun, Sea & Sand - are all equipped with free lockers for your luggage, for of peace of mind when you’re out enjoying the day. Well travelled and local staff gives you the opportunity to ask us about any Maltese knowledge or culture to do with our historic archipelago. Did you know... Malta has an average of 299 days of Blue Skies per year. Very few places (if any) can boast such sunshine in Europe. Now, with all these budget airlines flying into our small archipelago, why not book a quick weekend winter break. Come and enjoy our sights and weather in a place created by people who themselves love traveling. Check out our reviews and you will realize that not only do we provide you with a comfortable chill out roof terrace with sea views to relax on, but other areas where you can read your book, use our free Wi-Fi connection to stay in touch with the rest of the world 24/7, while you gently sway on our large terrace swing. Come in and say hi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Malti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Malti Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing