We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Malti - Feel right at home!”
Review of Hostel Malti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Malti
Certificate of Excellence
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
“Hostel Malti - Feel right at home!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hostel Malti felt like home straight away. The owner (Kristoff) is one of the friendliest people you'll meet and is sure to help you with any questions or advice you might need regarding information about Malta and its sights as he has extended knowledge of the Island.

Prices are good, and there is an amazing roof terrace where you can relax in the sun (or hide in the shade) and, as mentioned in previous reviews, chill out in a jacuzzi.
And as there should be in every good hostel, there is a guitar and a flute! :)

All in all, this surely is the best hostel in Malta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonDeBilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    31
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
17
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a lovely, colorful hostel. I stayed at Hostel Malti for a very short while, but was immediately immersed in the friendly international atmosphere. I was lucky enough to be there for the bi-weekly BBQs Chris, the owner organises on the exquisite roof terrace. The roof terrace is definitely a highlight, with a cocktail bar, bbq, sofas, views of St Julians and a Jacuzzi. There isn't anything like it in Malta!! I really love the decorations and the way it is setup for everyone to interact, share travel stories, ideas and tips and make new friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've traveled all over the world and stayed in hundreds of hostels in the past 10 years but this is the very first hostel I've stayed in that HAS SUCH A FABULOUS JACUZZI on the roof! Also check out the BBQ in the rustic, characterful roof-garden. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated with good secure storage for backpacks. The atmosphere is great, chilled and homely. The staff are amazing, so helpful and full of enthusiasm for the best places in Malta and Gozo to party, eat out, swim, sail, snorkel etc. I'd recommend Hostel Malti to my mates any day, cann't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great spirit in this hostel, friendly owners, and a lovely terrasse.
The location of the hostel in a traditional Maltese house gives it authenticity.
Only regret is the absence of airco: nights can be very hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuB477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hostel Malti is definetely one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The atmosphere is great, I really felt like I was at home. the staff are really friendly and helpful and every thursday the owner of the hostel provides a barbecue to all the guests (for only 10 euros) the food is great and you can meet other travellers aswell.
the staff really try to make you to have the best time in Malta. they give you the best tips of places to go and restaurants and they are always providing parties and activities to unite the people from the hostel.
Besides that, the hostel is really clean and confortable. They have a jacuzzi and a nice place in the terrace to chill and have a drink at night. And the decoration is really cool, colorful with a lot of pictures of beautiful Malta.
I really had a great time in this place and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After reading all the good reviews online I decided to give this hostel a try. I can't even begin to explain how sorely disappointed I was.
As a woman, privacy is essential to me. I know staying in hostels means sharing bathrooms, and I'm fine with that. However, I'm not fine with having one unisex bathroom with 2 cubicles, no doors and therefore no place to change. I had to shower and get dressed IN the actual shower, which was inconvenient to say the least.
The shower is one of those where you have to keep pressing it ever minute as it goes off. My take on this is that when you book a hostel, you're paying for a bed and shower, so the least they could do is make the showers more comfortable, because let's face it, there are cheaper hostels with better facilities.
Staff is lovely, but gave me wrong directions twice. The owner can be nicer and more courteous with his staff. The uphill is a killer- just 15 minutes of constant uphill to reach it, and it's not 'seven' minutes away from the clubs but about 20.
The roof is great, I give them that. Done up tastefully and a nice spot to chill out. But again, no sea views as they mentioned, only concrete and cranes due to the heavy construction work that goes on next door. I ended up leaving 3 days earlier and booking in to another hostel.
Won't go back, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in the 14 bed dorm! It was a little crowded but when in Malta you spend very little time inside so it's not a problem!
The rooftop terrace is by far the highlight of this place! It has a bar, (drinks are well princed) and a jacuzzi and a spectacular view!
The staff are very helpful and can speak a few different languages which is very helpful!
We would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#1 of 31 in Saint Julian's
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Malti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Malti

Property: Hostel Malti
Address: 41 Telghet Birkirkara | Ta' Giorni, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1147, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Malti 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Malti is a Backpacker style Hostel conveniently located near the party area of Paceville, Saint Julien's. Also we are only a 5 min walk from restaurants, cafes, shops, pubs, clubs, bars, the sea, buses and much more. We are in the quiet area of Ta' Giorni so you can come home and relax or chill-out on the rooftop. The Hostel architecture is a converted Maltese home dating back some 50 years. The three bright and clean dormitory rooms; Sun, Sea & Sand - are all equipped with free lockers for your luggage, for of peace of mind when you’re out enjoying the day. Well travelled and local staff gives you the opportunity to ask us about any Maltese knowledge or culture to do with our historic archipelago. Did you know... Malta has an average of 299 days of Blue Skies per year. Very few places (if any) can boast such sunshine in Europe. Now, with all these budget airlines flying into our small archipelago, why not book a quick weekend winter break. Come and enjoy our sights and weather in a place created by people who themselves love traveling. Check out our reviews and you will realize that not only do we provide you with a comfortable chill out roof terrace with sea views to relax on, but other areas where you can read your book, use our free Wi-Fi connection to stay in touch with the rest of the world 24/7, while you gently sway on our large terrace swing. Come in and say hi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Malti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Malti Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing