We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great location, but a little overpriced and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great location, but a little overpriced and dated”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel whilst attending a conference at the MCC in Valletta. We were upgraded to a junior suite (room 863) which was spacious and luxurious with amazing sea views! The decor was a little dated - the blackout backing on the curtains had cracked and fallen off in places leaving light spots that looked like holes in daylight but the room was very clean and the bed was super-comfortable. The room next to ours contained machinery of some kind (a boiler? or air-conditioning?) which made some noise all the time.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They provided maps and information about bus stops and buses, they phoned for a taxi and they printed a document for us.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi in the lobby but in the rooms you have to pay for Ethernet connection - a minimum of 4 Euros each time. The hotel charges high prices for everything, for example, a litre bottle of water in the room cost 5.20 Euros - of course you can buy water more cheaply in local shops.

We swam in the indoor pool which was very pleasant, however ,we had to make sure that we chose a time when it was not too busy because if there are more than three swimmers it is hard to avoid the columns in the centre of the pool.

The breakfast was included in the price and there was a good variety of food. I was a little disappointed that the fruit juices were made from concentrate, though. The food in the bar was very good, but pricey.

We had to travel to the MCC in Valletta for the conference which took about an hour each way by public bus including the time taken for the walk at both ends. The rickety old buses are cheap (about 11 Euros for a 5-day pass) and the whole journey is quite fun.

I would recommend the hotel but only if you can get a special deal on the price. We paid 180 Euros per night which is more than I would pay if it had not been a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear Madam,

Primarily on behalf of all the Westin team I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

With reference to your comment about the room decor, rest assured that we have indeed invested in an upgrading project for the decor of all our rooms and we are very close to nearing completion.

With regards to the pricing strategy within the Resort kindly allow me to highlight that the quoted prices are indeed a reflection of the standards within the property and the area.

Once again I would to thank you for your constructive feedback and we do hope we will get the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future,

Warmest Regards,
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    869
    227
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,204
89
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

great hotel , good staff had an executive room which was lovely , had breakfast in executive lounge which was really relaxed and inculded in price.
all in all lovely stay. Turn down service would have been nice as most 5 star hotels do this but of course not a massive problem , also strange that you have to call down for a lot of the products such as shower caps , sewing kits , cotton buds etc.. but again no big problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

On behalf of all the Westin team we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing back your comments about your most recent stay at the Westin.

We are ever so delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities comprised with the reservation of an Executive Room.

The turndown service as well as the in room amenities you highlighted are offered upon request. However, in the eventuality of your next visit we do invite you to advise us of your needs and requests and rest assured that all our team shall be more than glad to provide the facilities to you.

We do look forward to welcome you back to Malta and indeed to the Westin Dragonara Resort,

Warmest Regards,
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

While the location of this hotel is breathtaking, the facilities themselves (especially the rooms) do not feel like you are staying in a Westin. We stayed in one of the Tower rooms which have a large balcony overlooking the ocean. That was the best part of the room. Otherwise, it was actually a bit old and dirty. There was a couch in the room which was torn in a few spots with a glass coffee table that had a crack through it. The carpet in the room also had stains all over it. It felt like a resort hotel that you might find somewhere in Mexico (as a point of reference for many North American travelers). It is possible that our expectations were to high, thinking that it would be the same as other Westins.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Dragonara Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Rest assured that the renovations of all the rooms has commenced and we can assure you a newly decorated room in your return visit.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Westin Dragonara Resort during your next visit on the Maltese Islands,

Sincerely,
The Westin Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

staff always available, good food, service superb, good management , mr jonathan borg is simply great, tks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuccioloebrontolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

It was nice to read your kind feedback about Mr. Jonathan Borg, he does engage in ensuring full customer satisfaction.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope we will see your return in the near future.

With our warm regards
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed at the Westin Executive Club Rooms for 5 nights in December 2009. Location wise, good. There're restaurants, clubs and pubs around the hotel. There is also a supermarket about 5 mins away from the hotel. There're also some restaurants around the Hilton Hotel but we didn't try them. Easy access to Valletta, Sliema, Marsaxlokk and etc. If you drive, then it shouldn't be a problem anyway, since malta is not very big to begin with. But traffic can be a problem if you intend to drive to Sliema. If you don't, you can get the bus, the nearest bus stop is about 5 minutes away from the hotel. Just ask at the concierge.

The stay was pleasant. The staff, very helpful and polite. We had complimentary pre dinner drinks and light snacks which was really great in my opinion. The room that we had has 2 queen beds and a balcony that looks out to the ocean and the casino. Hence I don't think it's worth paying more for the slightly bigger verandah of the tower rooms. Overall it was a good experience and the only let down that I could think of is the bathroom. Not that it's bad or anything, just that the tiles looked aged and needed some polishing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldptoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are glad to read your review and find out your positive comments about the Executive Rooms located on the top floors of the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are also deligted to know that you you enjoyed the Executive Club Lounge facilities that are offered when booking an Executive Room at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Whenever I am entrusted with the organisation of a company event for our international and multinational organisation, then the natural choice is to go to The Westin in St. Julians', Malta. The hotel is fully equipped to host any kind of conference and moreover the conference area is sectioned out as an exclusive space, with break out rooms and other facilities within the same perimiter. The accommodation is fantastic, with large, clean and super comfortable rooms, most of which have a sea view. The resort itself extends over a large area, with pool & beach facilities as well as a couple of highly acclaimed restaurants, like Palio's and Quadro, that are situated within the hotel grounds but not directly attached to the hotel main building. The striking thing about The Westin in Malta is that it still manages to impart a feeling of cosiness without compromising the space element. However the best thing about The Westin is the quality of service offered by the staff. Anyone who happens to organise large scale business events knows that the best thing that could happen is to find a team of dedicated professionals who are willing to do their utmost to make your event a total success. And this is what they do at The Westin, without distinction and with utmost consistency. A special thanks goes to Wendy McKay who was in charge of our event. This was our 3rd large scale event at The Westin. The quality of the product and service keeps improving with each occasion. Well done! Keep it up and thank you...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir,

It is always a great pleasure to read that we have exceeded the expectations of someone who is frequently in close contact with the Hospitality Industry.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about the services and facilities offered by the Westin Dragonara Resort.

From our end it was also another lovely experience working with you and we do hope that we will have many more opportunities to organise more events together in the near future,

Always at your service,
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The atmosphere of the hotel was good. The concierge and reception staff were very good in particular Malcolm Vella especially in the difficult time when the ash cloud caused us problems in our departure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

On behalf of all the Westin team we would like to show our sincere gratitude for making the time in sharing your most recent Westin experience with other travellers.

We are glad to read that in unforeseen times such as the volcanic ash, our associates managed to turn your prolonged stay as a positive experience.

Rest assured that a copy of your comments will be placed in Malcolm's personal file. In the meantime we do hope we will get the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future.

Regards,
The Westin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing