We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Dragonara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic Hotel located by the sea in a quiet area of Malta. We booked rooms with sea view balcony. Most comfortable with stunning views of the Malta coastline
The staff were really first class. Always friendly, welcoming and helpful.
We took a 4 day break in Gozo, then returned to the Westin Dragonara where we we treated like old friends. Made us feel really at home, pampered and spoilt.
A delightful, very well organised and managed hotel.
Strongly recommend Westin Dragonara and would not look elsewhere on our next visit to Malta
Ian & Anne Mackenzie

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Ian M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay at the resort.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the views from our guest rooms.

Once again thank you for your time to share your experience at the resort. We look very forward in welcoming you back for another vacation

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 3,551 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Ok I stayed at the Westin on business with a conference. The room was excellent, quiet and with a gorgeous view of the bay, the bar pleasant and the breakfast varied and plentiful! The staff were helpful and attentive with a sincere attitude of caring and a smile on their face. The gym was fantastic and one of the best I've seen and the conference facilities well maintained and presented - so what was there not to like?
Nothing really, but the hotel is not for me - it was just too big. It almost felt Disneyesque. Fortunately for me it was out of season and with probably less than 50% occupancy several of the areas were open and it was relatively calm. However it was clear I would not have enjoyed it when it was in full swing so I have to give it a 3x and perhaps my top tip is know what you are looking for and expecting.
If you want an inclusive resort then it could easily be a 5x for you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your feedback with us.

The resort indeed enjoys a spacious conference centre and many Food and Beverage options which are ideal for conferences and business meetings. We are glad that you have found these facilities to be comfortable and as well enjoyed the accommodation and breakfast offerings.

Regretfully we read that the resort is not what you would expect when choosing your ideal location. We thank you for your feedback and invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you wish to share with us further comments.

Once again we thank you for your time to share your comments

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We reserved a sea-side suite and enjoyed an amazing ocean view during our stay. The suite was nice, though a two-person jacuzzi bathtub would have been nice. The room service was good and was friendly to those with Celiac. The Concierge set up excellent daytrips to Malta and Gozo. The pool area was very nice as was the breakfast buffet. An unexpected highlight was the hotel gift shop which featured magnificent Malta crafts for good prices--the best selection we saw in all of Malta and Gozo! My only advice is bring your own boxes--he only wrapped our purchases in bubble wrap and a gorgeous bowl was cracked in transit. I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spurge for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear anon789,

Allow us to thank you for your comments and for your recommendation following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Gladly we note that you have enjoyed your stay on the Island and at the resort, particularly the views from your suite.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any accommodation arrangements.

Be well
Stephanie
stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed a couple of days at this wonderful hotel. Just great! Had a very big room for our family of 4. Very spacious fitness studio. Lovely pools. Good and not very expansive restaurants. Kids loved the breakfast buffet. 1st class staff. Will definitely come return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meier_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Meier_st,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at the resort with fellow travellers.

We are very happy to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at the resort and look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had a very good experience visiting the Westin Dragonara for the first time and I will definitely come back. The location close to the sea was perferct ,stunning room with large balcony overviewing the Mediterranean ocean. The restaurants were very good and the service was above expectations. Very good location close to St. Julians with lots of nice rstaurants . I can really recommend this hotel and I will come back as soon as I get an opportunity .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Kirsten A,

We are very happy to read in your review that you had a very good experience at the resort and that you plan to return should you have the opportunity.

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Island. The resort indeed enjoys a great location close to the centre of St. Julian’s; sitting on a peninsula enjoying wonderful sea views.

We look very forward in welcoming you back to the resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is unique in that it has the quietest rooms you could hope to sleep in. The sound proofing is excellent. The rooms are very clean and amply sized. The staff are friendly and attentive. We booked Bed and breakfast only but found that we dined quite often in the hotel. The verandah attached to the lobby bar served good meals.

The only gripe I had with the hotel was the fine dining experience in its exclusive restaurant. I asked for lamb from the menu and was told they had none left. Then the wine I wanted from the list was also unavailable. In the light of this experience I would recommend dining at the lobby bar, as recommended above.

On the whole it is a good spot. A lot of the reviews reflect on which rooms to book. Any room facing the outside pool area will be sufficient and most have balconies. Don't worry which side you book as the courtyard layout limits sunshine (certainly in September anyhow). Also, you must remember that Malta is on the same latitude as Tunisia and can get hot, so a shady balcony is no bad thing. All your bathing will take place at the pool and beside the adjacent shoreline.

Restaurants and shops are 5 to 10 minutes walk away but many of them have limited outside seating so best to eat early or late in order to get the alfresco experience. They are also cheaper.

The trips on offer are good value and worth doing. This said, Malta is a small island and limited in its tourist offer. You'll struggle for a good beach. The island has strong italian and Arabic influences and it's culinary delights focus on rabbit and horse. It is worth a visit but, as the taxi driver told us on arriving, you'll either love it or hate it. I wouldn't say we hated it but 'been there done that' springs to mind.

If you do choose to go to Malta the Westin would be one of your better accommodation options.

Room Tip: Book one facing the pool area and don't worry which floor you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Anthony Q,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and the facilities the resort offers. Your comments have been shared with our team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your dinner at our restaurant. Should you wish to share with us further comments, I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I first went to Malta as a young Marine in 1970. I loved the Island and the people then and 43 years later I still love it. It is an acquired taste, you either love it or hate it. Over the years I have returned on many occasions and have a great sense of nostalgia for the place. Gone now are the war widows dressed in black who used to sit on their doorsteps their husbands and Islands were subjected to one of the greatest landscaping projects of all time courtesy of the Luftwaffe
and Mussolini, they failed to break the spirit of the Maltese just as the Turks did centuries before.
For me, apart from the obvious, it is a great place to walk in. The seafront from St Georges Bay down to Sliema seems to go on forever and walking it is beneficial for my creaking bones and my love of coffee, their are many pit stops en route. The flight on Easy Jet was excellent and being able to pre book your seat has made all of the difference. The cabin crew are efficient and friendly.
For the second time we booked a tower room at the Westin Dragonara, which had an enormous sea view balcony and really pleasant room. The staff and management at the Dragonara really have got their act together and are friendly, efficient, charming and nothing is too much trouble.
It has a lovely pool area with access to the sea for those with the energy for swimming in the sea. Even in November many people were doing this. The food is excellent, if you want to go out their are many good restaurants houses, a Sicilian restaurant is a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and the fish is to die for (Giardino opposite a Hotel called the something Tulip????). Much development has been done in the Paceville area just outside the Hotel. It has to be said it is bit seedy, but my guess is it will be developed in the next few years and already the area is being squeezed, having said that at no time did we feel in any way threatened.

Room Tip: 777 is a great room if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear dirkle,

Thank you for your comments following your second visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to note in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and on the Maltese Islands.

We look very forward in welcoming you back and invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you be planning a return visit.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $137 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing