We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed three full weeks as family of 5. More than satisfied. Very family friendly. (Even if we never used the kids club.) For instance. Queuing up for breakfast always allowed the staff to chat with our kids. No other visitor ever complained about :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Holy D,

We are glad to read that you and your family had a great experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing this experience on Tripadvisor.

Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, we look very forward in welcoming you back to the Resort.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 3,549 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having been to Malta many years ago I can say I was not really looking forward to going back but thank goodness I did. The Westin was wonderful from check in to check out nothing was too much trouble. Friendly smiles and a genuine interest in you as a guest waiting staff and room maids.
Rooms are fantastic, standard rooms are very large compared to many other Med resorts, all mod cons. Yes many people don’t like having to pay for WIFI but I was on holiday and didn’t mind it at all as you can always go to reception area have a drink or snack and check your e mails for FREE.
Outside space is very good plenty of areas to sit some sunbeds are reserved but it’s not a real problem like other holiday destinations.
Breakfast good and plentiful, I would not recommend paying for the Half Board supplement (Terrace Restaurant) as you have plenty of places to eat just minutes from the hotel.
Pool bar and Sea deck service good along with good food at lunch time we found one sandwich between 2 people was more than enough as the first day we each ordered food and left food on the plate !
Concierge desk at reception very friendly and helpful.
I will come back again and look forward to seeing you all again

Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to arriving if you require twin beds or kings they will sort it out. Online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear fabmark,

We are glad that you have decided to return to the Island for another visit and to read that you had a wonderful stay.

Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We look forward to welcome you back to the Resort on your next visit to the Island.

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really lovely hotel, had room 501 which is a tower room which was gorgeous with a view to die for cannot recommend more highly. As usual in a Westin Hotel though it is the staff that make it without exception from the girls who do the room, to reception and the waiters and waitresses all give first class service, Isobel in the OVRM (couldnt fathom out what that stood for) lounge couldnt have been more helpful, but everyone goes out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable. Fabulous food and realy good selection at breakfast. I have only one small complaint, I presume it was a man who thought it would be a good idea to have hairdryers in the room which you have to keep the switch down with your thumb the whole time you are drying your hair which ends up being a pain literally, and to sight it over the refreshment centre, why? when there is a massive mirror over the desk, they are not like this in the Westin Dubai or Valencia where we have been previously, but still fab hotel.

Room Tip: Try a Tower Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICHMPHRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear VICHMPHRS,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta.

We thank you for your comments following your experience at the Resort, which we are glad to note you have enjoyed. Your comments regarding the hairdryers have been well noted and shared with our team. We thank you for your feedback, which will help us to further improve on the product we offer to our most valued guests.

We look very forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort should you return to the Island.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we arrived late at night on the 3 rd september, where we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful reception assistant.
we had a lovely room over looking the sea, if i had any issuses it would have to be the lifts which are terrible too few and no stairs to use, many a time i had to travel up to each floor stop wait and move to the next floor very annoying.
breakfast was good, plenty of choice but the views are amazing from all locations around the hotel. the rooms are very spacious with a great balcony.
well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear CorkKenneth,

Thank you for your feedback following your visit.

As you have rightly mentioned, the Resort indeed enjoys a wonderful location and set on a peninsula it enjoys great sea views. We are glad that you had a great stay at the Resort.

Should you be planning a return visit to the Resort or with to share with us further comments please feel free to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just came back from a much needed weekend break. Me and my family had a wonderful time. We stayed on a half board bases which consisted dining at two of the main restaurants Palio's and Quadro's as well as the main restaurant for breakfast. All the food was amazing complimented by the great service, most mentionable Janvier at Palio's and Yanica at Quadro's. The great service was not isolated to the restaurants but also through the whole hotel one in particular being Tony the doorman who was polite from the moment we stepped into the premises. The breakfast staff was also friendly one of which was Charles who always managed to keep the mood light and cheerful. Something which was also notable was the lifeguard present at all times and the highly organised pool

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear David B,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share your comments with us following your stay at the Resort this September.

It is great to note that you had a great stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort. We thank you for mentioning my colleagues for their professionalism and friendliness, and look very forward to welcome you back for another relaxing weekend break.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

i stayed for 3-days and what can i say the staff were excellent the maid who cleaned our room did a great jobThe hotel is beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly the food was great A great location, with a balcony and view like no other

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear paul a,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

The resort indeed enjoys a wonderful location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst cut off on a peninsula enjoying the wonderful sea views.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your three days at the resort and we look very forward to welcome you back for another visit

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a holiday with our travel agent to stay at the Westin. Our first contact with The Westin was by e-mail. I sent them an e-mail as we had a couple of special requests, one was that we needed none feather bedding and the other to book some relaxing treatments for my wife as we were celebrating our Anniversary. Both were dealt with very professionally, by George Attard and Alexia Bugija.

When we arrived the greeting we received was one you would expect from a five star hotel, Our baggage taken in for us and as we registered a porter took our baggage up to our room, which was also great, very spacious and wonderfull sea views and views over St Juians and Sliema beyond.

All the staff could not do enough to make your stay really special. I will not name name anyone at this stage as I will forget someone, they made our stay great from the back room staff to the front of house.

The setting was great too, two out side pools and the beaches of which one was a small sandy beach. On our anniversary we spent the day by one of the hotel beaches just relaxing and on returning to our room we found a nice bottle of bubble in a bucket of ice, from the hotel, before we went to The Quadro Restaurant on the Resort, which I will review under restaurants as it deserves is own review.

I could write all day saying how good The Westin in Malta is.

The only thing I must say is being a none smoker it would have been a good idea for the outside eating and Sun bathing areas to be divided into Smoking and None Smoking. Something I suggested to the management which was received with a positive response.

Thank you to all at The Westin Dragonara Malta See you again in the near future.

John St Albans UK

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct for special requests, do not go throw your tour operator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear lordan2008,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to read that our associates were very helpful and that you had a great stay at the resort.

The resort is indeed set on a peninsula enjoying the wonderful sea views even from the rooms. As you have well mentioned, the rooms are very spacious, with the deluxe room measuring around 40sqm.

We thank you once again for your comments and for your time to share this experience with us. We look very forward in welcoming you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $140 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing