We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays as they shoud be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent holiday from entering the hotel to leaving. Westin is a large 5 star hotel which is not at all pretentious or stuffy, were men in suits mix with sun worshippers with complete ease.
Room 677 a tower room was our home for the weeks stay, large spacious and impeccably clean, with great sea and pool views large balcony with 2 sun beds which were well used for the sun downer evening drink.
The back bone of the hotel has to be the staff, impossible to mention personally as there were too many to thank but they as a whole made are stay one to remember.
The pools are kept to a very high standard never an issue getting a sun bed at any time the lay out of the lido area means no one is ever on the top of anybody else, if you want quiet or a little more hectic then the choice is your own.
Food at the bars and restaurant's is a very good and not a shock to the wallet.
Situated 10min walk from Spinola bay with a good selection of bars and restaurant's.
If visiting Malta then Westin must be a the top of your list.

Room Tip: North tower rooms spacious and lovely interrupted views of sea and pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TIGERTIGERUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear TIGERTIGERUk,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We appreciate your comments and are very happy to note that you had a good holiday in Malta and at the resort. As you have well mentioned, the Tower Rooms indeed enjoy a lovely terrace overlooking wonderful sea views.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing holiday

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,445)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for the first time in 2003, I was so impressed with the hotel. We went back to the Westin in 2011 for our honeymoon. We stayed in an Executive Room, which was fabulous.

We went back again this year, and stayed in one of the Tower rooms, with the most amazing view of the Mediterranean.
Food is excellent, rooms are perfect and the staff is amazing. I would wish for free Wifi, which would make the hotel experience complete.

The Westin has a special atmosphere which beats for example the Hilton hotels any day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfhild1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Alfhild1980,

Allow us to thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort once again for your stay in Malta.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit and the views from the Tower Room.

We look very forward to welcome you back, should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel is in very good location only few minutes away from Hilton and the St. Julian's marina.

Rooms are big and comfortable with a great view.

No free internet but this is something to expect in a hotel of its class.

Pool is nice and breakfast also.

Obviously price is a bit 'touchy' but you get what you give...

At last but not least - lobby is nice and during the evenings there is a piano bar where you can seat and enjoy your drink which is really nice and also a casino if you feel lucky enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank --Rom--210--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear –Rom—210--,

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

The resort indeed enjoys a wonderful location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst sitting on a peninsula enjoying the views of the Mediterranean Sea.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and look forward to seeing you again at the resort in the future

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited the Westin Dragonara in April of this year. We spent 5 days at the hotel as we were attending a friend’s wedding which was amazing (probably one of the best weddings I have ever attended).

The hotel is situated in St Julians (which is the party capital of Malta) and is located right on the sea front. Due to its size and activities available at the hotel it is actually classed as a resort. The lobby and communal areas were very modern and spacious. It had a nice a feel about the place.

We had booked ourselves into an executive club room which were located on the highest floors. The room we had was very spacious, clean and modern. We had a great view of the Mediterranean Sea. This room gave us access to the executive lounge which was nicely presented. Canapés and a small buffet was served between 6pm to 8pm every evening which was delicious and came with the privileges benefited to those staying in the exec rooms. We also had our breakfast each morning in the club room – this was also great as they had a large terrace to eat on. We had fantastic views, good weather and great fresh food. The staff were very helpful at the lounge.

We never ate at the many restaurants located in the hotel, so I can’t comment on this.

The general layout and pool area was spacious and presented well. We used the spa at the hotel. I have to say that this was very disappointing compared to the rest of the hotel. It lacked atmosphere and was very dated. The flooring to the Jacuzzi area was in a bad state of repair and required repairing. When we stay at hotels we always try to stay with ones that have spas. I have to say that the spa facilities were quite poor in comparison to the other hotels I have stayed at, and this is such a shame as the hotel itself is quite lovely.

Malta itself is a beautiful country and we will definitely be visiting again soon. Valletta is charming and full of character and eating alfresco style is a must. The old town of Mdina is also a must. This place is absolutely stunning and full of romance. The Westin is also close by to Portomaso which is a purpose built port. This place had amazing restaurant and had a really good vibe during the evenings. Would highly recommend visiting this area if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chohan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Chohan76,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and your friend’s wedding.

As you have rightly mentioned, the rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious and enjoy a balcony with views of the Mediterranean Sea. The Westin Executive Lounge is also very relaxing and we are glad that you have enjoyed your breakfasts and pre dinner drinks at the terrace overlooking the fantastic views.

Thank you for sharing your experience at the resort with fellow travellers. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcome you once again to the resort

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this lovely hotel. The staff were exceptionally good, remembering fine details for instance your favourite drink or where to sit. The beach areas were very relaxing with waiter waitress service, so we were thoroughly lazy! There are adult only areas which was good for us as this was our holiday without the children. We found the beach side restaurant the best and most reasonably priced, I would suggest booking in peak season as it gets very busy! There is a small shopping complex within walking distance of the hotel which we explored when an unexpected storm whistled through! Temperatures were lovely but quite humid. Breakfast... Out of this world... Everything and anything you wanted! We did see people taking bread rolls for lunch, but we filled up on breakfast so actually didn't need anything until the evening, plus lunches are reasonably priced! A well equipped gym and also a beauty therapy service! I would highly recommend this hotel, for families couples all ages!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridgelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Bridgelowe,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We happily note that you have enjoyed the resort’s facilities as well as the buffet breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant.

Once again thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future, should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in this hotel in late August. From the outside it looks a bit dated but once you are the lobby, you step into a world of luxury and calm. The check-in staff are very friendly and the process is quick. Rooms are spacious but the walls are rather thin and noise from neighbours and the corridor can easily be heard. We had a deluxe room initially but upgraded to an Executive suite on the 8th floor which was much more quiet. The view from the hotel is stunning with abundant sea view.
The food quality is high and from the hotel restaurants we had a preference for Quadro (fish) and Orum (where we ate lunch snacks). Breakfast is abundant and offers a good selection of english and continental breakfast favorites.
The hotel is located in St Julians which is the hang-out location for the youth. This means you can hear noise until late in the night from the streets. The guests in the hotel are mostly families with young children (many Italians and Britons, a few french and russians too).
The pool area is not very big but you can swim in the sea (which has a nice temperature) or buy a ticket to do watersports (jetski, parasailing, banana boat or the latest gadget : flyboard)

The staff is friendly and attentive which made this a hotel a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Foodie400,

Allow us to thank you for your comments following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Gladly we note that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and the facilities offered. As you have well mentioned, the buffet breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant indeed offers a wonderful selection of items, including as well a SuperFoods corner. We thank you for your comments regarding our food and beverage outlets, which we gladly note you have enjoyed.

We look very forward to welcome you back to the resort

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for a wonderful holiday. It is big but it never feels crowded as it has been planned and organised really well. The different pools are great and there are several different places where you can swim in the sea with sunbeds etc. The staff are very happy to help and the concierge always ready to book taxis, restaurants etc. Breakfast was brilliant with a huge selection of different things to eat and the choise of whether to eat inside or on the terrace. We tried two of the hotel restaurants while we were there - Quadro was the best with brilliant food and a lovely ambiance. We stayed with our two kids and at the last minute upgraded to a bridal suite so we also had a jacuzzi on our terrace - fabulous! The room was enormous and very nice. Absolutely nothing to fault about this hotel - I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We contacted the hotel about a week before our holiday to ask about any possible upgrades and got a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Jessica G,

We are very happy to read your review and note that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and the resort’s facilities.

The Westin Dragonara Resort is indeed spread out on about 75,000sqm and enjoys two outdoor swimming pools as well as direct access to the sea. We thank you for your comments following your experience at the resort, where we are glad to read that you have enjoyed the food and beverage options available.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments following your visit. We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $157 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing