We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rates For Cheap Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Worst amenities I have seen in a room ever. Instant coffee sachets in the minibar. Ancient fridge with rotting wood. And rotting would seems to be the motif in this Westin.

Came here second weekend of July with my partner. Pool areas were all overcrowded. Seemed to have memberships being over sold to outside guests for the pool club.

Fitness club was even worse in peak hours. Equipment extremely out dated.

Forget about Fresh coffee/juice at breakfast or even decent eggs. The food service and quality is just POOR.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Greg K,

Allow me to thank you for your comments following your stay at our resort.

The points you have highlighted in your review have been well noted with concern. Whilst we apologise for not delivering the service we are so renowned for, I invite you to contact me directly with further details on your experience at the resort. This will only help us to continue to improve on our service and experiences of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back where you can experience the excellent service and standards of the Westin Dragonara Resort which we are so renowned for.

Be well
Michael Kamsky
General Manager
Michael.kamsky@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,608 - 1,614 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

the pool/watersport club area is great here-easy access to the sea straight from the sunloungers which are well served from the bar.Rooms,comfortable and well equipped ours had smashing big balcony area overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmetgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear gourmetgooner,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed this stay and the resort’s facilities. Being set on a peninsula measuring 75,000sqm of land, indeed the resort offers direct access to the sea and enjoys wonderful sea views from our guest rooms.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments we look forward to welcome you back in the future

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

4 night stay for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 12 in July. Pools, sun beds and rocky beaches were fab, plenty of space even in mid July. Public areas quite grand and very well air conditioned. Very good gym and classes - biggest I have ever seen at a hotel.
The pool bar was friendly but the food very average, also the buffet option for dinner (overpriced). But the Palio restaurant on the water was very good, despite slow service. The air con in the bed room was pretty ineffective, but it was very hot outside.
Surrounding area was not very inspiring and slightly naff, but the views from our room were excellent, and as a place to just flop by a very lovely pool and sea its hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Heather M,

We thank you for your comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have well mentioned the resort enjoys a wonderful outdoor area, including two outdoor pools and direct access to the rocky beaches.

Please accept our apologies where we fell short of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the team as it is through this feedback that we can continue to improve on our service. Should you wish to give us more details on your experience at the resort please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

We thank you once again for your comments and for staying at the Westin Dragonara Resort

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just enjoyed a celebration weekend at the Westin Dragonara, with our 2 young children. Despite being fully booked, we were extremely well looked after, and fully enjoyed the various facilities of this lovely resort. The spacious rooms are second to none, and the pool;and beach facilities are excellent. Having stayed at the resort before, I guess we knew what to expect, but what was really impressive (and a pleasure to experience), was the positive attitude of ALL staff, who were simply so welcoming, attentive and helpful. Definitely recommended and hoping to return soon ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocci09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Cocci09,

We are happy to read that you had the perfect break at the resort this July.

It is very motivating to read such comments about the service provided by our associates and we are glad that you enjoyed the resort’s facilities.

Whilst we thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers, we look forward to welcome you back

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Westin Dragonara Resort. They have a professional and friendly staff. Our room was spacious and clean. Several spots to have a great sunbath and jump in nice and clear sea. We had dinner at Quadro restaurant which was excellent (and very good service). Breakfast in the room could be better (bread was a little bit too dry and granola flakes were served in a champaign glass!).

Room Tip: Get high floor room and sea view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gérald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear GS_Paris75,

Allow us to thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have rightly mentioned the rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious with the sea view deluxe room measuring around 40sqm, the largest rooms available in Malta in the 5 star market. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room as well as the resort’s facilities.

Your comments regarding the breakfast in the room have been well noted and shared with the team. Feedback from our guests will only help us to improve on our service, and thus we appreciate your comments.

We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my third visit to the Westin Dragonara in 3 years. I was a bit nervous returning for the third time in case it wasn't as good as my previous 2 visits but I wasn't disappointed. The standard of the hotel is obviously being kept high with improvements to the sea terraces and bathrooms since our last visit.
We find that as soon as we check into the hotel after the short taxi ride from the airport we totally relax. There is the sea all round the hotel, lovely spacious rooms and even when full (which apparently it was during our stay) there was no sense that the staff and various hotel venues couldn't cope.

If you want a relaxing but high quality resort where you can relax by the pool or the sea (with no need to reserve sunbeds!) and have quality restaurants and a bar on site then definitely book to stay here. I have used the onsite gym on previous visits and it is well equipped but didn't have time during this stay.

All the hotel staff we encountered were friendly, polite and very ready to help with any queries we had.

There is a nice marina near the Hilton hotel nearby if you want some alternative restaurants or just to take in the scenery.

All in all very much hoping we will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear JessieBun,

Thank you for your time to share your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers and for your loyalty when returning to Malta.

Gladly we read that you enjoyed your third visit and look forward to welcome you back to the resort for another relaxing break.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Wesin Dragonara 5 times now and enjoy it more and more every time. The rooms are great and the stunning views as well. Great location with a short walk to restaurants and shops. We make good use of the gym and the indoor pool as well as the outdoor pools and sea. The massage at the spa was one of the very best. Great food in all the restaurants, and very nice and helpful staff. Would definetely come back.

Room Tip: Two suits bedrooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Cathba,

Thank you for staying at the Westin Dragonara Resort and for your comments following your 5th visit.

We are very happy to read that you have returned five times to the resort and enjoy your stays with us.

The resort indeed enjoys a great location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst cut off on a peninsula enjoying the wonderful views.

We look forward to seeing you again at the resort

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $140 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing