We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times at the Westin Dragonara Resort and it is by far my favourite resort to stay in whilst in Malta. For starters, I think that the hotel has the nicest lobby of all the 5 star hotels in Malta.

I stayed there with my wife and kids and we were very comfortable. The rooms were clean and in order and the service was very good. We enjoyed the in room dining on a couple of nights when it we could not be bothered to leave to room with the kids and the food and breakfast were very good. It was great for the kids to be able to use the indoor pool in winter and the kids club at the hotel when we wanted a bit of time to ourselves.

Room Tip: If available, one of the rooms with the terrace in the towers provide a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95EricW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear 95EricW,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and look very forward to welcome you back in the future. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 3,484 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I decided to go on a last minute Easter break. My husband wanted to do something "cultural" I needed some sun. We both agree we wanted to go somewhere new. We agreed on Malta as it seemed to offer a rich history and plenty of cultural/ historical sites and the temperature was above 20 C.

We found our choice to be fantastic. We chose the hotel based on it's proximity to some beaches and a desire to be a bit outside the centre of town. Likewise, having an SPG card, we will always tend to use Starwood Hotels.

I found the resort to be ideal, maybe not so much for a couple like in our case, but overall it has amenities to suit anyone, particularly families with children. Being tucked away on a little semi peninsula, but still within 5 min walk of the main night spots, meant we could go out and party and not worry about a taxi or noise in the middle of the night. Our room was on the 7th floor, on the right wing of the hotel, with a lovely sea view. We could sleep with the window open and all we could hear were the waves, which was very peaceful.

The staff were super attentive, knowledgeable and warm; from the concierge recommending where to eat: Asaggi, Zeri's in St. Julian's and Malti in Valetta all amazingly good! Especially Asaggi. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and even had gluten-free bread options - on request!

The hotel may be in need of a bit of a facelift, not because it's in a bad condition, but because it looks a bit too 1990's. However all the facilities, at least everything I used - was in top shape condition.
Make sure however you ask for the price of any service, we were charged €20 each for 4 apples and 2 bananas we requested the morning we had to leave to the airport at 5AM.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right wing facing the sea are quiet. Rooms facing the courtyard are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima Lucila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Fatima M,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Maltese Islands.

The resort indeed enjoys a wonderful location. It is very close to the centre of St. Julian’s, but as you have well mentioned, cut off on a peninsula enjoying the lovely sea views.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the choice of items for breakfast. The Terrace Restaurant Buffet breakfast indeed offers a wide variety of items, including a SuperFoods corner.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments we look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Westin for a relaxing weekend break for my birthday. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is luxurious, the room we happened to get was a tower room with a balcony and small terrace and 2 sunbeds. It was expression-less, the sea surrounding it makes it unique, and most of all the room was furnished in a very classical yet modern way! Keep it up, I was so impressed with its elegant style. It was obviously clean, tidy and comfy too! We also had breakfast, which is amazingly vast and very tasteful. A very small incident which happened to me was that I forgot my ring behind, but after calling the security at the hotel he assured me that it was found and I could go and pick it up. I am grateful for the maids whoever they were! It was one great experience, and will be back in the future. Def one of the best 5 star hotels in St Julians.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Allison A,

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort for your birthday.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the Tower Room and the helpful and welcoming service at the resort.

Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, we look very forward to welcome you back in the future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Every interaction with every member of staff we met at the Dragonara was excellent - warm, personal and hugely attentive. From the concierge who fulfilled nearly a wonder in providing us with tickets for the hypogäum - to the staff in the service (breakfast, lounge, restaurants)... We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranziskaV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear FranziskaV_13,

Thank you for review following your visit to the resort. We are pleased to read that you have experienced fantastic service and enjoyed your stay.

We look very forward to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed in the Westin for 9 nights, and we specifically chose the hotel because of the facilities mentioned on its website and on the positive comments here on tripadvisor.

Don't get me wrong - we enjoyed our stay, especially because of the fantastic service (Charles during the breakfast was so friendly and relaxed, we were always happy to chat with him in the morning), but there are some things which we did not like at all.
We also spoke to the Duty Manager, Karen, and hope that the management will consider those comments.

Here is what we liked:
- renovated room with spacious bathroom
- beautiful view
- excellent staff
- food and drinks in the lobby bar
- Quadro restaurant - amazing food and service!!
- Charles in the restaurant was super friendly
- George, the concierge, was extremely helpful

Here is what we did not like:
- the hotel looks pretty old, especially outside
- except the lobby bar, there is no place to have lunch
- the beach was closed, although it was busy during Easter holidays, and it was quite hot (we asked if they could open the gate for us, and they did)
- the breakfast was the same every day (including bad coffee)
- inconsistent housekeeping service (sometimes they did not replace the amenities and they did not change the bathrobe for 9 days)
- inconsistent brand standards (paper napkins, water in lobby not refilled, no slippers in the room...)
- the indoor pool - unbelievable and unacceptable!! Dirty lounge chair covers with black stains, strange smell in washrooms, dirty tiles...a place to absolutely avoid.

The hotel is in the middle of St. Julians, surrounded by bars and pubs.
The location is nice if you would like to explore the area, as there are some cute little bays nearby, with good restaurants. The sightseeing bus stops directly at the hotel and is very affordable.

Bottom line: staff is delightful and happy to assist, however the hotel needs to do some serious refurbishment, especially on the outside and in the pool area.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Just ask for a room where the balcony has sun, as it is lovely to sit the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear LiChri,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed the room and view as well as Quadro Restaurant. Quadro is indeed a great location for dinner, with a wonderful selection of items on the menu.

We would like to thank you for mentioning Charles and George for their service. They are indeed very friendly and helpful.

Please accept our apologies for not fully meeting your expectations during your stay at the resort. The items you have mentioned have been well noted and shared with the team, as it is through feedback from our guests that we can continue to improve.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Came to the Westin dragonara with a family member in March. Now don't get me wrong, this hotel is in a great location and most of the staff are very helpfull. In fact, the staff really deserves to be working for a better management team than this!

Too many things are missing here that you would expect from a brand like this. The dragonara really gave me a bad inpression of the westin brand and starwood chain. If a hotel group like starwood is letting a westin hotel in the centre of the med get away with murder, i would hate to think what could be going on with some of the 1000 other hotels worldwide.

We opted to upgrade to a baysuite. Room was nice with a good sea view. Room finishings were modern but started to look like time was taking it's toll here an there. Some of the wood finsihings were starting to rot. Paint job looked fresh, too fresh as i could still smell the chemicals.

Food was not up to standard. First of all, practically no restaurants are open for lunch. We tried room service first. I would expect better portions and food being a bit fresher with a ridiculous extra room service charge. Breakfast was not quite up to standard. Variety was there. But items are cheap. No fresh juice. But watered down concentrate at best. When we complained about the bread not being fresh enough, we were told the management decided to have it fresh frozen????

At lunch the lobby bar is the only place to eat. We were told they have "full restaurant service" in the evening. But we wanted a proper lunch service. The menu was limited. But the prices were surely not limitied. This is a massive resort with plenty of venues surrounding it on it's own private peninsula. But due to the low season, none of this area was utilised. We asked at the lobby if there was any way we could get food andbeverage service outside and were told this is shut down until June. This is a real shame as the weather was wonderful while we stayed.

On one evening we complained about all this to the Duty manager, Steve, and he started stuttering and we couldn't make sense of what he was saying, but he did not seem too bothered.

Overall this resort just is not quite paying 5 star rates for. We would really love to return to Malta. But we are told there are at least 3 other 5 star resorts on the island at the same price or better, who do not cut corners in paying for quality like the westin dragonara clearly seems to be doing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JessikaL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear JessikaL_13,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I invite you to contact me directly with any further information on your stay, as our aim is to provide our guests with wonderful experiences at the resort.

As you have well mentioned, the resort enjoys a great location with wonderful views of the Mediterranean Sea. .

Your feedback on the food and beverage at the resort have been noted. During the shoulder months as outlined in our website, the resort offers daily an extensive menu at the ORVM lounge both for lunch and dinner. Quadro Restaurant opens daily for dinner, and additionally Palio’s Restaurant opens on Friday and Saturday for dinner. We are always improving on our Food and Beverage offerings. Your comments will surely be discussed with the Food and Beverage Director as well as our Executive Chef.

I hope that in the future we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Be well
Michael Kamsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Every interaction with every member of staff we met at the Dragonara was excellent - warm, personal and hugely attentive. From the concierge who provided us with ideas for what to do during our stay, through to the people who helped when things didn't go according to plan. We had a poor night's sleep on the first and second nights due to the room being warm and the air conditioning being set to blow out heat rather than cool (something to do with it still be the winter season and the system not being changed over yet). We asked what could be done and were moved to another suite at ground level which was right on the seafront. This was great and included a jacuzzi bath and a bigger bed.

We were disappointed by the pools which is why my overall impression is 'very good' rather than 'excellent.' Having two small children, the pool was potentially our biggest source of 'entertainment' but both the outdoor and indoor pools were cold/ unpeasantly cool. We've been to other hotels where the outdoor pool is heated all year round. The other factor is that the pools are not set up for young children - they are both 1.2m deep without a 'beach' area. The outdoor jacuzzis were also freezing cold.

The breakfast was plentiful and varied which we all enjoyed - we valued the inclusion of lots of wholesome choices such as fruits, nuts, seeds, bircher muesli, wholegrain breads.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amindofherown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear amindofherown,

Allow us to thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta.

Your feedback pertaining to the air conditioning and the pool areas have been shared with the team. It is through the feedback we receive from our guests that we can continue to improve on the service we offer. We thank you for your time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $148 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing