We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Arlon
Level Contributor
227 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there for a few days, a couple of them business, on their premises, and leisure to visit Malta after that. The location is very good, walking distance to many restaurants and good bus service to Valetta.
Everything was as expected from such a resort. The room is spacious, has everything as expected from a 5 star. The bed was especially comfortable and I slept well from the very first night. The food was good although in the bar it was a bit slow and the staff everywhere was absolutely helpful excellent.
I needed special help with a few things - once a medical problem - and they were outstanding.
A few things could be improved nevertheless :
- their wi fi access is too complicated with multiple log on steps and free only in the lobby.
- Starwood hotels introduced a new "Green choice" service which actually is no service at all. If you select this no one enters your room on that day which means no garbage emptied, no tea cups washed, no shampoo, etc... As a reward you can choose to receive 500 extra points or 5 euros. You can of course call if you need something but I did not appreciate the garbage not being emptied. I would not choose this again unless they change the system.
I much prefer the simple ecological choice which is only : no new sheets and only towels on the floor replaced.

Room Tip: Of course rooms with a sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Viviane H,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the resort this winter.

As you have rightly mentioned the resort enjoys a great location. It is situated on a peninsula enjoying wonderful sea views, but still close to the centre of St. Julian’s.

The rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious and are equipped with the famous Heavenly beds. I am very happy to read that the associates at the resort were outstanding in their assistance.

Thank you for participating in Make a Green Choice and certainly for you feedback. The program is an evolution of our previous approach following much demand from guest globally to take the existing green room program to a new level. While our guest continue to have the option to participate in the linen and towel reuse program, the no housekeeping choice was designed with a complete water, energy and detergent usage reduction in mind, providing our guest another opportunity to actively support conservation during their stay.

During the past years, we had the opportunity to test the Make a Green Choice program operationally around the globe. The guest and operational feedback collected suggests to keep the program easy to understand and deliver, avoiding not clearly defined partial cleaning approaches but rather offering participating guest the opportunity to call in requests for a quick replenishment of amenities or removal of garbage when needed.

All of us appreciate your constructive feedback and taking an active part in further developing the Make a Green Choice program, helping us to do the right thing for our environment.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Yours sincerely
Michael C Kamsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,099
    861
    226
    93
    50
See reviews for
1,038
1,199
89
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Now don't get me wrong, this was far from a bad stay. Here are some positives. The room was huge. A kitchenette, sitting room and guest bathroom, with a bedroom with a super king bed, off that another bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Both rooms had sliding glass doors leading out to a patio, a bit of lawn and an inlet, with views of the sea to the right. The decor was the standard, high end mix of camel, white and black, chrome, wood and leather that's currently the accepted international norm for posh interiors. The lobby is massive and impressive, with 100 meters of windows overlooking a lovely pool deck, the sea, and the 19th-century-palace-turned-casino on the point. The staff is helpful and remarkably friendly, particularly the concierges who went the extra mile for every request. The included breakfast buffet was diverse and generous, the attached restaurant was very good (see last entry.)

But...

First off, two rotten nights of sleep. If a hotel can't get this right, little can compensate. The mattress was uncomfortable, the sheets of dubious thread count, the foam pillows only moderately comfortable. Thin walls meant seeping conversations waking us up on both nights, the poor sleep made even worse by our neighbour's 4:50 am alarm on Sunday, followed by conversation so loud and long we did the old university dorm thing and banged on the wall to get them to shut up.

Down in the recreation area, the whirlpool was only lukewarm. There were cracks in the tiles on the pool deck and patches rubbed clear of paint on the bottom of the pool. At breakfast, the coffee was uniformly horrible. One morning, so cold we had to send it back, another clearly over-stewed and seeping out of the cracks in my mug. There were cracked plates in the stacks on the buffet both mornings, too.

Then there were the things that weren't necessarily wrong, just irritating. The huge hike down characterless hallways between lobby and our room. The impersonal experience of the whole place. The absence of an iPod dock or any music capabilities in the room. The oddly echoing empty spaces of the unused conference facilities.

We paid more than £300 a night for that suite. We've paid less to stay at some really luxurious boutique hotels, all of which provided a much better experience. And, lord knows, a better night's sleep. Westin is fine for corporate conferences and business travel, but this is probably the last time I'll spend my personal money on a big chain.

Room Tip: Do not pay the premium for a suite. They're a long hike from the lobby and the views are of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BencardsBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear elferrara,

Thank you for your comments and for making the time to share your experience at the resort.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the room, which is indeed very spacious and comfortable with the kitchenette and sitting room separate from the bed room. These Luxury Bay Suites are situated on a separate wing from the deluxe rooms and are few metres away from the Mediterranean Sea.

Your comments pertaining to the breakfast experience have been brought to the attention of the Food and Beverage team. We apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us.

We were surprised to read that you did not have a restful night during your stay. Our guest rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Beds, which are always praised for their exceptional comfort.

I once again thank you for your feedback, as it is through such comments that we can continue to improve on the experience at the Westin Dragonara. Should you wish to provide us with further details I invite you to contact me directly, and I hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards
Michael C Kamsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from one weeks stay at the Westin Dragonara and were most impressed by the hotel. The staff, in particular the concierge were brilliant and could not have been more helpful. Our room was huge - 2 adults and 1 teenager and we had 2 x King beds in the room. It was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The GYM facilities were very good- spacious and well equipped and the 1 Spin/ weights class we did was very well taught. Free wireless in the lounge that worked well and provided a good excuse for a drink at the bar whilst browning. All drinks were served with generous bar snacks. Our room had a terrace overlooking the sea. Only problem encountered was our own fault- we visited during February so could not make use of the many swimming pools and beach. Malta was about 10 degrees warmer than the South of France in February where we are currently living so it was better than being at home!

Room Tip: Breakfast was quite expensive at 17.50 Euros each but it was an extremely big and sumptuous affair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiedamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear maggiedamian,

We are happy to read that you were impressed by the hotel during your week stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

The rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious, with the deluxe room measuring 40 square metres. The guest rooms also have a balcony with sea views and are equipped with the famous Heavenly beds.

Thank you for your comments and for sharing this experience. We look very forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The resort has had some fantastic reviews and having looked at the www site / trip adviser and spoken to the client services representative we decided to check in to a Bay Suite for a short family break over the kids half term.

Being a 5 star resort you expect to pay for the pleasure... what we did not expect to find was some pretty serious building works happening throughout the duration of our stay.... it felt like a throw back to holidays in the 80's in Spain when everywhere was a building site...

At 07.15 ever day, including Sunday we were woken by the sound of workmen and the associated machinery.... I totally accept that work has to be done but every other hotel I have ever stayed in has always mentioned that they have renovation / building works in progress... not this resort.

Not once during our stay did anyone enquiry as to whether we being disturbed by the works, nor on check out did anyone make any apology.

Only on speaking with the general manager was it acknowledged that disruption was being caused to Guests....

If only they had told us before we had booked and paid... we would have found an alternative without the disruption.

Putting this aside, the staff in the restaurant at breakfast were attentive and very helpful with ensuring the children always had what they needed.... for the kids, the biggest plus was the pancake selection... which on our last day included a choice of smarties and cola bottles, sure not the healthiest but fun times !!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a couple of Children... you might want to opt for the Bay Suites... they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxe_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear luxe_destinations,

Thank you for your feedback following your winter stay at the resort this February.

The breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant is indeed a fun experience especially for the children on holiday, with the pancake station and choice of items. During the breakfast, we do have as well a SuperFoods section, for healthy eating whilst travelling. SuperFoods dishes are packed with nutrients, energy and are antioxidant rich.

In our efforts to keep the resort renewed we are currently renovating our sea side beach area. Nevertheless, we have taken your comments very seriously and apologise for the inconvenience caused. The resort is spread over 74,000 square metres of land and during the month of February we take the opportunity to renovate the outdoor sea side areas which are closed during the winter months. These areas are fully prepared for the warmer season starting during the Easter break.

Should you wish to add any comments I invite you to contact me directly. I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Once again we appreciate your feedback
Be well
Michael C Kamsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to the westin on holiday in late July early August 2012 and it was one of the most frustrating holidays I've ever been on.

From the photos the resort looks amazing as do the facilities and the room. The photos themselves dont do the resort itself justice. The setting and the rooms and the hotel as a whole are brilliant, what you would expect of a 5 star internationally branded resort. But the service and food was AWFUL. and when I say awful, I really mean it. We stayed full board which meant that it would of been stupid to eat anywhere else, but in the end we were forced to as the food was that bad. The terrace resteraunt was good as it had a good atmosphere with liv music some nights, but the food was bitty with no real theme. Furthermore, there was hardly anything there to eat! The other resteraunt Pablo's or something like that was even worse. The pasta looked like soup out of a tin and the supposed pork ribs were more like enormous fatty cow ribs.

The service is on another level. As you can imagine, after the shocking food, we wanted good service to repair some of the damage. Unfortuntley this didnt happen. Everytime we ordered a drink it would take a good 40 mins for them to arrive after 10 minutes of chasing them and even them they would be wrong.

Around 2 nights before the end of the holiday, I wrote an email complaining to the management about these elemantary issues. The next morning at breakfast, after we arrived I noticed that the manager on duty phoned the senior management straight away. Soon after a lady called Stephaine came walking over and talked for a little while whilst we ate breakfast. In the end I asked if she could leave us be to enjoy the rest of our holiday.

please take my advice in saying DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. its really terrible. Since this stay, we have returned to malta and stayed at the Radisson Melia Bay which is a true 5 star. I would recommend that people looking for a 5 star stay there.

Room Tip: Luxury bay suites are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eccy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear glasseys,

Allow us to thank you for making the time and sharing this review following your stay at our resort. We are very sorry to read that this was a frustrating holiday for you, we are known to delivery a memorable experience to our guests.

As quite rightly said, our rooms enjoy an excellent location and are as one would expect from a five star international branded resort like us.

In fact, in 2012 The Westin Dragonara Resort was awarded first place in the Travelers’ Choice 2013 awards by Tripadvisor, for the Maltese Islands. Additionally we regret to read that our food and beverage offering were not up to your expectations; our venues are also rated amongst the best ten restaurants in St. Julians.

As we value all our guest feedback, contents of your review has been well noted, as it is only thanks to feedback from our guests that we can improve further.

Should require further clarifications do not hesitate to get in contact with me personally and I will be more than glad to get back to answer any concern you might have.

Always at your service,
Michael

Michael C. Kamsky
General Manager
Michael.kamsky@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for a few nights in the middle of our honeymoon. It happened to be VERY hot since we were here in mid-June, but thankfully there's a massive pool right on the water to cool off. Be advised, the pool backs up to a rocky, cement "beach" but if it's not windy, there are nice lagoons to swim around in.
The hotel also has a number of great restaurants - some waterfront - which makes for a very romantic and memorable meal. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the island's casino, which only has a few table games but was still a fun time.
We chose to upgrade to a larger, renovated suite since it was our honeymoon and were very impressed. Finishes were very modern, but the AC was either off or blowing too cold.
I also had a few items laundered while we were there and they came back in perfect condition.
Overall a fantastic value (cheap ocean-side drinks and lux rooms for the price)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Anna B,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers.

Happily we note that you have enjoyed the resort’s facilities. As you have rightly mentioned the resort offers various dining options, with the Quadro Restaurant and Palio’s Restaurant being very close to the sea.

Whilst we thank you again for your comments, we look very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the westin in malta. We brought our 3 children and had a lovely stay. The food was very good and the staff were excellent - nothing was to much to ask for. One of our children has serious food allergies and the hotel was more attentive than any other establishment. While the weather wasn't great we made the most of what the island has to offer. We hired a car & visited some lovely beaches, villages and ruins. We have stayed at the westin before during high season and it is a great destination for a sun break too. Advantage at this time of year is there's no crowds or qs and the kids swam with dolphins at the Marine park getting great attention. The Maltese are very genuine and helpful people - hospitable to the the last. If we had any complaint it was the lack of free wifi and access to Internet - even when you pay it's not great. Frankly no hotel of this standard should be charging for wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymountdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear sandymountdublin,

Greetings from Malta

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the resort this February, your feedback has been noted and shared with the team. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was very helpful and attentive.

Should you plan a return visit to the Island please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any accommodation arrangements on stephanie.micallef@westin.com. We look very forward to welcome you back

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,873 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,161 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing