We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star what sorry?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to the westin on holiday in late July early August 2012 and it was one of the most frustrating holidays I've ever been on.

From the photos the resort looks amazing as do the facilities and the room. The photos themselves dont do the resort itself justice. The setting and the rooms and the hotel as a whole are brilliant, what you would expect of a 5 star internationally branded resort. But the service and food was AWFUL. and when I say awful, I really mean it. We stayed full board which meant that it would of been stupid to eat anywhere else, but in the end we were forced to as the food was that bad. The terrace resteraunt was good as it had a good atmosphere with liv music some nights, but the food was bitty with no real theme. Furthermore, there was hardly anything there to eat! The other resteraunt Pablo's or something like that was even worse. The pasta looked like soup out of a tin and the supposed pork ribs were more like enormous fatty cow ribs.

The service is on another level. As you can imagine, after the shocking food, we wanted good service to repair some of the damage. Unfortuntley this didnt happen. Everytime we ordered a drink it would take a good 40 mins for them to arrive after 10 minutes of chasing them and even them they would be wrong.

Around 2 nights before the end of the holiday, I wrote an email complaining to the management about these elemantary issues. The next morning at breakfast, after we arrived I noticed that the manager on duty phoned the senior management straight away. Soon after a lady called Stephaine came walking over and talked for a little while whilst we ate breakfast. In the end I asked if she could leave us be to enjoy the rest of our holiday.

please take my advice in saying DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. its really terrible. Since this stay, we have returned to malta and stayed at the Radisson Melia Bay which is a true 5 star. I would recommend that people looking for a 5 star stay there.

Room Tip: Luxury bay suites are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eccy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear glasseys,

Allow us to thank you for making the time and sharing this review following your stay at our resort. We are very sorry to read that this was a frustrating holiday for you, we are known to delivery a memorable experience to our guests.

As quite rightly said, our rooms enjoy an excellent location and are as one would expect from a five star international branded resort like us.

In fact, in 2012 The Westin Dragonara Resort was awarded first place in the Travelers’ Choice 2013 awards by Tripadvisor, for the Maltese Islands. Additionally we regret to read that our food and beverage offering were not up to your expectations; our venues are also rated amongst the best ten restaurants in St. Julians.

As we value all our guest feedback, contents of your review has been well noted, as it is only thanks to feedback from our guests that we can improve further.

Should require further clarifications do not hesitate to get in contact with me personally and I will be more than glad to get back to answer any concern you might have.

Always at your service,
Michael

Michael C. Kamsky
General Manager
Michael.kamsky@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 3,484 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for a few nights in the middle of our honeymoon. It happened to be VERY hot since we were here in mid-June, but thankfully there's a massive pool right on the water to cool off. Be advised, the pool backs up to a rocky, cement "beach" but if it's not windy, there are nice lagoons to swim around in.
The hotel also has a number of great restaurants - some waterfront - which makes for a very romantic and memorable meal. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the island's casino, which only has a few table games but was still a fun time.
We chose to upgrade to a larger, renovated suite since it was our honeymoon and were very impressed. Finishes were very modern, but the AC was either off or blowing too cold.
I also had a few items laundered while we were there and they came back in perfect condition.
Overall a fantastic value (cheap ocean-side drinks and lux rooms for the price)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Anna B,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers.

Happily we note that you have enjoyed the resort’s facilities. As you have rightly mentioned the resort offers various dining options, with the Quadro Restaurant and Palio’s Restaurant being very close to the sea.

Whilst we thank you again for your comments, we look very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the westin in malta. We brought our 3 children and had a lovely stay. The food was very good and the staff were excellent - nothing was to much to ask for. One of our children has serious food allergies and the hotel was more attentive than any other establishment. While the weather wasn't great we made the most of what the island has to offer. We hired a car & visited some lovely beaches, villages and ruins. We have stayed at the westin before during high season and it is a great destination for a sun break too. Advantage at this time of year is there's no crowds or qs and the kids swam with dolphins at the Marine park getting great attention. The Maltese are very genuine and helpful people - hospitable to the the last. If we had any complaint it was the lack of free wifi and access to Internet - even when you pay it's not great. Frankly no hotel of this standard should be charging for wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandymountdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear sandymountdublin,

Greetings from Malta

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the resort this February, your feedback has been noted and shared with the team. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was very helpful and attentive.

Should you plan a return visit to the Island please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any accommodation arrangements on stephanie.micallef@westin.com. We look very forward to welcome you back

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just back from another weekend break at the Westin (pity these seem to pass so quickly :(). The hotel room, food and staff were excellent as usual - this is definetely the best property in Malta for space, views and quality. I cant help but mention the front of house Charles Micallef who seems to be everywhere during the day but always with a smile and a joke for the kids. If I had to mention just one small point - the indoor pool was a little too chilly for the kids at this time of the year but otherwise keep it up - hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Probably a high floor would be best but if you can afford it go for the Tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for your feedback following your weekend break at the Westin Dragonara Resort. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed the room, food and the service at the resort. Charles is indeed very friendly and helpful and we are glad that he is part of our team.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Westin were asked to cater off site the hotel for a reception at our offices. The service was great as always, with top of the notch food and service with a smile.

Just what we're expected to with Westin! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edopir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear edopir,

Allow us to thank you for sharing this experience and for the opportunity to cater for this event.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed both the service and the food at the reception.

Whilst thanking you for your comments, we look forward to be of service again in the future.

Best Regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a week here on Sebtember. The position is quite comfortable: you can walk to StJulians & Paceville, or take a bus to most of the island's top places.
There are always free places at the beach - which was perfect. Breakfast was quite pleasant, the same is restaurant and bar in the evening, which we tasted a couple of times.
Bad idea is closing all the gates for nighttime - when we tried to come to the beach and take photos of rising sun, we had to climb over the gates...
The room is good, especially the bed! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dombrik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Dombrik81,

Allow us to thank you for your comments following your stay with us in September.

As you have well mentioned the resort is located very close to the centre of St. Julian’s, whilst cut off on a peninsula enjoying direct access to the sea. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the breakfast and the bar in the evenings.

We look very forward to welcome you back in the future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the Westin Dragonara Hotel, St Julians. We held our annual conference here between 29th January and 1st February with 60 staff from the UK. The conference facilities, accommodation and dining were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for ANY of the staff. A special thank you to Johanna who looked after all our needs during the conference and George for locating missing luggage. I would highly recommended this hotel for business and holidays. If you are looking for 5* service this is the hotel for you.
Jeannette Freeman
SCA Hygiene Products UK

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanBorg, Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Jambo08,

It was such a great pleasure working with you towards the successful organization of this year’s annual conference for your team.

We do look forward to be given the opportunity to work together again in the very near future, and in the eventuality of such do not hesitate to get in contact with us.

With kind regards,
Be well

Jonathan

Jonathan Borg
Director of Operations
The Westin Dragonara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $148 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing