We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIVE STAR CROWN SLIPS - BUT STILL A GREAT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have stayed at this great hotel many times when visiting Malta, before this year’s visit we spent a week at the hotel in 2009, our return visit in 2001 commenced on the 26th August.

As usual the staff work hard here to take care of their guests and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here although it became evident that the hotels five star crown has tilted a little.

There appears to be a need to increase and improve general maintenance, we noticed a number of areas that needed some attention and we were a little concerned to see light fittings in our hallway to be loose with wires exposed. Other areas were in need of a lick of paint.

Our room was spacious with all the facilities we would require for our weeks stay. Breakfast was good and the terraces and pool areas very comfortable and clean.

The bar area is pleasant and an ideal place to relax following a day in the heat, the drawback at the bar is the excessive pricing, a glass of the local brew, chisk is considerably more expensive than anywhere else in Malta, including other five star hotels and high class venues in Valetta.

Some attention to detail is also required when allocating rooms. As a group of three mature males, one with limited mobility, we reserved a room that offers a walk in shower. The room allocated with the requested disabled facility only offered one bed, we were expected to share the one bed, three in a bed. Additional beds were eventually brought into the room when we pointed out that most males would not be willing to share three in one bed.

At reception we were told that we had been notified that there would be just one bed. We had not received any such notification and I have asked for confirmation on how this message was transmitted to us, naturally we would have responded to such a notification if received.

The surrounding area of St Julian’s and Paceville is undergoing considerable change, the area is so different since we lived in the area in the early nineties. There continues to be plenty of night life on offer and Paceville can be loud although this hotel is sufficiently out of the way from the night life so it will not affect residents at the hotel even though the hustle and bustle of the bars and clubs is just a four minute walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear jmbrighton,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort once again for your recent visit to the island.

Thank you also for the feedback and comments that you have placed on Trip Advisor, as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities that we have to offer our valued guests.

With best regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,443)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Westin and we were suitably impressed. We stayed in a deluxe room with 2 king size beds (and cot) which was the perfect for the 4 of us (kids 4 & 1). The staff throughout the hotel were cheerful all week and very good with the young ones. We found the pool bars pretty expensive for soft drinks/water but the hotel is only a short walk from the local supermarket where you can stock up on these and kid snacks etc. The breakfast buffet was great with a wide selection of everything you could imagine however we found the pool side bars and lobby bar limited in providing options for the kids in terms of vegetables and chip alternative side dishes. Palios is a great value on-site restaurant for the family with a wide selection and all very reasonably priced. One special mention goes out to Martin C and his team at Quadro, a truly great (but not cheap) fine dining option. We ate there on 2 occasions and were very very impressed. The local Maltese Cab Sav is great drop and well priced in both Palios and Quadro. No shortage and options about where to sunbath with 2 pools and 3 various sea deck options complete with the typical white Balearic beach double bed. I even got to use the gym.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort with your family during your visit to Malta.

We have read your review and have noted that you found the hotel's leisure facilities and service offered by the staff to your satisfaction. We are however sorry that you found the Food and Beverage prices to be high, however, these are worked out in line with the 5* standards of the property.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to place this review on Trip Advisor.

Be Well,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and I have been holidaying at this lovely hotel since 2001, when our daughter was five and our son a year old.
There are two main reasons why we keep returning, firstly the consistently excellent standard of service and hospitality that the Westin Dragonara has afforded us over the years and secondly the high level of staff retention; It is wonderfully reassuring to be warmly greeted by the same dedicated team year after year. The welcome commences the second you arrive at the hotel and are greeted by one of the concierges, George or Malcolm. Both are extremely knowledgeable and helpful as are the other front door commissionaires, Emmanuel, Tony and Joseph. Their advice and tips on how to get the best from the resort and your holiday in Malta is invaluable.

The public areas are beautiful and spacious and boast a piano bar which we found particularly relaxing. We stayed in one of the Tower rooms on the sixth floor with a huge panoramic balcony that gave wonderful sea-views. Our chambermaid, Liliya kept our comfortable room spotless, not an easy feat with our two messy children!
We had booked to include the facilities of the executive lounge on the eighth floor where we enjoyed pre dinner canapés and drinks in a lovely cordial and relaxed roof-top atmosphere, well looked after by attentive staff including Charles and Maria Lisle.
Another reason for considering the executive lounge is the absolutely first rate breakfast and service offered by Pam and her team, Evonne, Geraldine and Marija.

In even the best run establishments, there are issues that will invariably arise and on previous stays we have had the opportunity to flag up queries with management representatives, however on this occasion there was a big Russian conference taking place during our stay which meant that they were very busy and not readily available. The following observations, whilst not materially affecting the enjoyment of our holiday, may be useful feedback for the management team:

The hotel has excellent access to the sea and we loved bathing and snorkelling. However on several occasions the Bayview sea area had debris that had drifted in, including plastic bottles and general rubbish. We felt this could have been easily dealt with through scooping out the worst with a big net.

The Reef Club pool has now reverted from saltwater to fresh water and this is much better, especially for the children who use it. We felt that this pool could benefit from some underwater markings to indicate where the pool ends, at the moment it is hard to judge if swimming, say front crawl and it is easy to crash into the wall as it is the same colour as the pool bottom.

We dined in Palios, the hotel’s Italian restaurant on three occasions. The setting is wonderful, right by the waters edge. On the first two visits the food was good and the service attentive but on the third visit our pizzas were lukewarm as was the service. Our friends staying at the hotel also commented on this ‘hit or miss’ aspect.

Lastly, the hotel shop where one could purchase newspapers, postcards and gifts, etc., was closed. Our children were especially disappointed to lose their long established ‘sweetie’ provider!

We feel confident that, as in previous years, the management will react positively to these constructive comments.

As noted earlier, the staff are so important to ensuring the success of a holiday and the staff at the Dragonara are the most dedicated we have ever met.
Charles Micallef in the Terrace restaurant should get a special mention for his charm and wonderful sense of humour that we’ve enjoyed over the years and we would also like to record our thanks to the professionalism and service levels demonstrated by the front desk team including, Michael, Neil and Lauren.

This is a fantastic hotel that ‘goes the extra mile’ to ensure that maximum enjoyment is gained from your precious holiday time and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOPLEAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear HOPLEAF,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to place such a fantastic review following your most recent experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Our aim is to make your stay with us as refreshing and renewing as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and facilities.

Thank you for your continued loyalty in choosing to stay at the Resort with your family and on behalf of the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Be Well Be Westin,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the westin draganara for two weeks in august the room was not as spacious as I thought it would be, especially for what it cost! The maids didn't do a very good job at cleaning I actually found myself cleaning the room myself most days one day the maids didn't even come to clean the room! They never hovered the floor in the whole two wks we stayed also the corridors are not ac this is what u would expect from a five star! We stayed on a half board basis and all I can say is don't bother! The food was awful! We actually had to order room service which was a lil better but not much! The kids play area is very small with only a slide which my children got bored of very easy, the pool areas were nice and the food was ok although a little over priced! In the end we checked out after 10 days which says it all!

Room Tip: Keep valued items in the safe!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Goldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear 22Goldilocks,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry that you found our rooms not spacious enough, however allow me to highlight that our rooms happen to be the largest in the 5* industry and our smallest room measure 40 square meters.

Our Food and Beverage team have been informed about your comments that will help us improve further the service that we have to offer so that similar feedback will not reach us.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and we do invite you to contact us directly in the eventuality of an upcoming stay to the Maltese islands, on maria.attard@westin.com

With warm regards and best wishes,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My new husband and I just came back from staying in the Westin, it was the most wonderful holiday. We decided last year to get married in Malta and we spoke to a planner over there, Sarah Young, she showed us a number of locations for our small family wedding and we chose the Westin as our venue. It was absolutely perfect, the venue itself was in the Quadro restaurant, right across from the hotels side entrance.

The majority of our family chose to stay in the hotel and no-one was dissappointed. We had with us an adult with mobility issues (my father) and an eight month old baby, neither issue posed a problem for the hotel. We arranged a cot for the baby and a disabled room for the adult, at no extra cost. While we were there they even gave us a wheel chair for my dad.

There are a few major things that shine for me about this hotel, firstly was that my own room started to have a small issue and I mentioned it to the main desk, they sent someone straight away to fix it. The following day, unfortunately the problem returned, immediately they upgraded us to another room and had our luggage moved. No messing or hassle, just job done. I've stayed in a 5* hotel elsewhere and had to complain over the course of days before anything was done, so to me this was amazing. The second was later on the day of the wedding.

So my wedding day arrived and my dad didn't want to use the wheel chair as he wanted to walk me down the aisle, he was going to have trouble getting to the venue, it was either walk down the aprox 25 steps or walk around from the front of the hotel, neither option was ideal. The hotel was extremely accomodating and offered to drive my dad from the front door to the restaurant, it was perfect. He wasn't over exerted and I didn't have to worry about him.
When the evening was coming to a close, we decided to return to the hotel lobby for a few drinks and my dad had forgotten to take his medication, (all the excitement), he was very unsteady on his feet. We tried to get the hotel car back for him but unfortunately it was unavailable at the time. As we stood trying to figure out what to do, our waiter, Martin, went and got his own car and brought my dad to the front door. I can't explain how that simple act was so huge for us. He was truely the hero of the hour and there is no way for me to explain my gratitude.

The last thing that has me giving this shining review is that on our last day, our flight wasn't until 9pm, check out is at 12. The hotel automatically blocked off, on their computer system, the room my dad was in so that he had a late check out at no extra cost. We hadn't asked for this service, they did it as they knew he would problems.

I'm sure we could have found hotels cheaper but the service they provided went beyond money, they were always pleasant and helpful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nytraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear nytraia,

Primarily, on behalf of the Westin team I would like to congratulate you once again and wish you all the very best of luck in your marriage.

As we strive to make each and every guests' experience at the Westin a heavenly one we are delighted to read that all your guests enjoyed their stay at the Resort.

And most importantly that you were very pleased with the service of our staff and the facilities that we had to offer for your special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort in the not so distant future and thank you for your positive comments.

Be Well Be Westin,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We just want to get out to somewhere nice and warm for a week and a little something for our 3 yr old to do. The kids club is disappointing. The lounge (which we paid extra for) is not worth it (we've never been to a lounge that would close most of the day....so you think you want a drink or snack during the odd hours like 3-4pm? not a chance) the breakfast downstairs at the restaurant is by far better than the "flies all over the food" lounge can offer. The room is fairly old and carpet is somewhat smelly. Maintenance is done at a minimum level. Overall, 3-star experience. We did walk over to the Hilton and it seems to be nice there. Please do some homework to compare! But no matter where you stay, head to Chapter One, the restaurant, the best experience in Malta for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeATlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear homeATlux,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations, which is a surprise since all our Executive Rooms and Lounge have just been refurbished recently.

Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us continue improving further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had breakfast on the eighth floor, where the staff were fantastic and were very friendly. Inparticular Pam and Yvonne thank you to you lovely ladies for helping to make our holiday such an enjoyable one.
Our only criticism would be the lunch menu at the hotel (by the pool) particularly for children as chips came with mostly every thing and not really any healthy options for children.
Two pools, we chose the Reef club pool where we could watch the children safely. Room perfect, staff great and very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had an executive room that overlooked the bay and the sea... perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariattard, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear alison h,

Thank you so much for the excellent review that you have kindly placed on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that the levels of service and facilities, especially the Westin Executive Club Lounge, met with your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $157 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing