We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just come back from a few nights stay at Vivaldi Hotel. We arrived at 01.50 Friday morning and check in was quick, staff were very welcoming in the early hours. We had a refurbished room which was very nice, breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Used the swimming pool a few times only one occasion it took all day to empty and refil as it looked murky but next morning was gleaming ! All the staff were m ost helpful, very friendly and smiley. i wouold definately recommed this Hotel. Refurbishment is still going on but no noise early in the morning! It will be even more better when it is completed.

Room Tip: The rooms at sea view where our friends stayed were not refurbished as yet but were still very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186363Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were fully satisfied with your room and breakfast.

Our staff is well trained , who tries to do their best to meet and anticipate our guests’ needs. Many thanks also for recommending our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Alison Galea ( guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    463
    290
    112
    86
See reviews for
165
481
77
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip and for sure would never come back or recommend it to anyone.
They are rennovating the hotel so at 07.00 AM in the morning everybody will be waking up due to the hammer and drilling machine noise. I have heared many people complaining about this but since nothing has changed it is a very good sign that they don't care about customer satisfaction. Pool is very dirty, not all elevators buttons are working and the breakfast is very poor and bad for a 4* hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_ciobanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Alex_ciobanu,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.

We are naturally disappointed to read that we fall short of meeting your expectations. Unfortunately there were some issues with the starting time of the ongoing refurbishment of our hotel. Actions have been taken by the Project Manager and our Company to avoid any similar situation in the future.

All your comments will be shared with the rest of the Management Team in order to tackle down the gaps in our service that you kindly brought to our attention.

I deeply apologize for the inconveniences you had to face but rest assured that it won’t happen again: soon the entire hotel will be completely renewed with outstanding rooms and facilities.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on any return trips to Malta and show you the Golden Tulip Vivaldi at its best.


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I got to the hotel after midnight. The check in was tedious and there was definitely no service with a smile.

The room was terrible and it was facing the street. There was noise from the bar across the road until early in the morning. The "best" part was the drilling that started at 7:00 AM. I called reception but they said they can't change my room. Terrible night.

In the morning, I went to reception demanding to have the room changed as it was impossible to rest. OK, they said - check out by 10:00 and we'll give you a room after 15:00... Fortunately the next room was not facing the street and it was a nice renovated room. My next nights were nice and silent.

The breakfast is bellow bad but right next to the hotel there's a nice Italian place with great coffee and food - reasonable prices.

I wanted to try some treatment at the SPA but somehow it was closed - I asked only in one of the days.

There's no free internet in the hotel so you pay a 9€/day charge for a pretty stable connection.

If you have a late flight and you need to leave the luggage for a while, consider that all the bags are in a room where all the guests have access. Nothing was missing from mine, but as it's better to be precocious, I'd suggest having a locket.

Bottom line, if you get one of the new silent rooms, your staying will be enjoyable but even so don't expect quick and efficient service from the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms. If there's a charge, pay it, otherwise you'll regret it for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexutz_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Alexutz_m,

I would like to thank you for your feedback that surely will help us to improve the areas you brought to our attention. On behalf of the Golden Tulip Vivaldi I extend our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you had to face during your first night with us.

We are glad that on the following day our staff rectified what was wrong and we could finally meet your expectations.

I wish we could had explained you at the time you were with us that the Spa during the Mornings is attended by a Supervisor and during the Evenings all the treatments are on request. As shown at the entrance of the same Spa the opening time is from 09:00 to 21:00.

Please rest assured that the luggage room is monitored by our CCTV cameras as all the lobby area. Also we always offer the possibility to leave any bag or valuable belonging to the Reception to keep our guests’ peace of mind.

I would like to kindly ask you to contact me personally to gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com to discuss further your experience with us and to try to regain your trust.


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

On arrival at the Vivaldi we had to change rooms three times:first smelt of smoke and was grubby,second was even more grubby.Hotel manager Giocomo was however most helpfull and moved us to a very nice room in the renovated wing of the hotel.Cannot fault him,he resolved it well.However do not expect to be confronted by such unpleasant accomodation in this day and age.Lift then broke down,with a man inside who had to wait 25 minutes in the heat to be rescued.Lift continued to break down!There were no steps to reception due to renovation works-rather worrying.Our travel company Riviera Travel should have informed us there were renovations taking place.Roof pool was pleasant,food was fine.staff were very pleasant but I would not recommend this hotel.We met some lovely people-high Roger and Natalie.Marie,David and Megan and others.Malta very interesting but lacked uncrowded beaches-however it was the archeology we went for.Shame about the hotel , would only use it once all rooms renovated.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are probably fine as they are in the renovated wing.Dont accept rooms not reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrybHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear CherrybHerts,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel and for complementing our staff and our roof pool.

We would like to renew our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had at the beginning of your stay with us. In the near future all the rooms of our hotel will be deeply renewed.

The hotel has a strict no smoking policy and we always monitor our premises, we are sorry if you unluckily have found a room with that smell. All the departments involved have been informed and actions will be taken to avoid similar situation in the future.

The issue with one of our lifts has been sorted out and we won’t be facing anymore similar situations.

We really hope to have the possibility in the near future to show you the Golden Tulip Vivaldi at its best with our great and new facilities.


Best Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAINES
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one week as part of a tour group. Starting with positives the staff in the hotel were very good and helpful. The evening meal was buffet style with plenty of choice and to a good standard. The breakfast was okay but as previous comments the bacon and tea could be better. Lovely pool on top of the hotel. Tour buses past outside the hotel. Buses 12 and 13 are about 10 minutes walk from the hotel giving access to Valletta.

At the moment the hotel is undergoing refurbishment. My wife and I were located in the part of the hotel which was being refurbished. We did move room once and this room was quieter away from the street noise. The rooms were a bit tired looking and no doubt over the next year or so will improve. The bed linen and pillows were in need of replacement. There was some noise from the refurbishment of the hotel but this only occurred on one morning. The air conditioning was a bit noisy . In summary a nice hotel good staff and food but some of the rooms need improving. Once this has been done will be a very good hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street but in the refurbished part if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMETEAM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear TIMETEAM45,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.

All the Management Team was glad to read that you really appreciated our staff with their friendly and effective attitude. The swimming pool on the 7th floor of our hotel has a special appeal: we have also started few services for our guests (e.g. BBQ dinners) to let them enjoy as much as possible the outstanding view and location we have on our rooftop.

As you have noticed we have an ongoing refurbishment of one side of the hotel that in few days will be finished. In the near future all the premises will have a brand new look and facilities.
We deeply apologize for the small inconvenience that the works caused at the beginning of your stay.

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the new Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I come to malta for the 1st time and its a nice place..all though you must walk down to the harbour to find the nice bars..all the bars near hotel (5min)walk away.. are discusting.. streets scruffy and lots of prostitutes I was shocked as im not used to seeing this its like a 1star ibiza. the hotel is ok.. we stay in new room which was nice.. apart from being woken up at 8am to hammering and DRILLING in the next room... this is not fair we paid nearly 800. Euros to stay for a week... they fail to tell you this when you check in... im not fussy at all.. but this is beyond a joke... they should not allow work men to do this until at least 11am.... it actually woke me up and made me jump...this is so annoying esp when we have been working in malta...the quality of the breakfast is poor not nice produce.. even down to the tea and coffee I don think ive had worse coffee in my whole life very bitter..and tea has no taste... the bacon is just like strips of fat... overall the hotel is nice the indoor pool and jacuzzi is really nice and the rooftop pool was ok a little on the small side bit nice to cool off... 1 last thing when u book through booking.com u get free wifi all week bit again they fail to tell you this on reception I had to ask for log in details they should confirm everything on arrival ....

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.

We are glad you appreciated our hotel and especially the new rooms and our Spa with its indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Indeed the roof top is the perfect place where you can relax and enjoying the superb view of St. Julian’s and its bay.

The area you went to is famous for its attractions and the wide variety of shops, bars, pubs, clubs, etc.
Usually it is really appreciated by many tourists coming to Malta but we respect you personal perception. We only would like to assure you that even though that zone may be very busy during the night, no prostitutes are present at all since it’s not legal in Malta. As you wrote that area is not really close to the hotel and we benefits of a truly convenient location close and well linked to all the main attractions that the island can offer.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay because of the works in the hotel. We would like to inform you that the refurbishment on the floors where you heard the noise it will be soon finished. We are doing everything is possible for us to not disturb our guests and your comments have been already passed to the Project Manager and actions will be taken.

Your feedbacks about the breakfast and Wi-Fi have been shared with all the Management Team and we thank you very much for it.

Kindly do not hesitate to contact me at gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com for any further clarification or assistance you may need. Also I would like to invite you to come back to the Golden Tulip Vivaldi on any return trips to Malta and experience us at our best.


Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is about 25 years old and is undergoing refurbishment. It needs to. Some of the old rooms are shabby, with broken items. Those rooms already upgraded are fine. However, ladies with long dresses should take care that their hanging space is deep enough for a full length dress: some rooms only had the depth for jackets.
We had a problem with our room and had to ask to change rooms; the staff were very helpful. (Thanks Leane and Giacomo) Often, in a case like this, staff become very defensive and unhelpful. Not so here. Very helpful, friendly and accommodating: nothing was ever too much trouble. (Their jobs will be so much easier when the refurbishment finishes and the hotel should then be outstanding.)
The dining is a buffet and I'm not a great fan of buffets, but this was exceptional. A wide variety of foods with a tendency towards fish; always at least one roast and usually another meat dish. Also plenty on offer for vegans in the extensive salad area. Evening meals took us nearly 2 hours as we had, by our choice, to sample slowly at least a morsel from most of the fare on offer. Our typical meal was 5 or 6 small courses of soup, olives, salad, pasta, fish, or roast, with potatoes and veg, followed by a big choice of cold desserts. The food never ran out and hot food was always hot, but the roast could be a bit dry. Pasta always being cooked fresh in the dining area.
Staff in the dining area were attentive: used plates were usually whisked away between courses unseen by guests. Thanks to Steve and his team and for his help in guiding us to good choices of Maltese wine which were both delicious and cheap (8 to 12 Euros per bottle)
Bar area was relatively small, but we always found seats during our stay in June.
They charge for wi-fi, but you get 1 hour free if you buy a drink in the bar and take your receipt to the front desk.
The hotel is about 200 yards from a bus stop which gives access to all the towns along the coast to Valletta. We only managed to walk as far as Sliema, but fitter and younger people could probably walk all the way to the ferry from Sliema to Valletta.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with care during refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your visit to Malta and for sharing your experience online.

We are glad that the problem you had was solved by our staff in a professional and prompt way.
Thank you for complementing our buffet dinner which is our specialty within our guests.I would like just to correct your comment about the Hotel: it is 15 years old and not 25 as you wrote.

As you mentioned the Golden Tulip Vivaldi is undergoing a major refurbishment so soon it will be an outstanding building with a 5 star service as you already noticed it.

We look forward to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing