We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The location was excellent. I stayed for a conference which was being held in the nearby Hilton. The Vivaldi staff were great and the bartenders were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was brilliant with a great variety of foods. Coffee wasn't so great though.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your business trip in Malta. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the services offered by our staff.

We do look forward to welcome you back on business or pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea,
(guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for a week as my cousin was getting married in The westin Dragonara across the way. On arrival this hotel seemed lovely, although it led out to a main road. Rooms were great cannot fault them. But the swimming pool was not deep nor big. It was the length of my kitchen which is very small. As the pool was on the roof it was incrediably hard to get some beds. I had spent majority of my time in the downstairs underground pool. Which isnt normally like me i prefer to lounge about in the sun. After spending a few days in the underground pool i needed a doctor there as i had developed a skin problem as the water had not been filtered nor changed. When i returned home I had to attend my GP every couple of weeks to make sure the skin disorader did not come back. It was like pimples x1000 size on all of my legs and it travelled up my body. The hotel was Very Very expensive and the town was so dirty.
Id never return to Malta again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeganSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback where we are pleased that you were more than satisfied with the approach of the hotel and our rooms.
We are naturally disappointed to hear that your stay in Malta wasn't pleasant as you wished and obviously we are surprised regarding your comments about our roof.
The swimming pool along with the restaurant bar has always been appreciated by our guests that found space to lounge in the sun and to enjoy the outstanding view.
We trust that in September certain hours are busier than others and it may be difficult to find a sun bed due to the high request of our top floor.
Your comments regarding the indoor pool water and filters left us astonished as the health of our guest is of the utmost importance to us. We daily test the water of our pools and their filters, we also regularly use external laboratory services, in fact we have never experienced this kind of problems you described.
During your stay did you kindly report this matter to any of my colleagues?
If you need any further clarifications kindly do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager on gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com

Thank you,

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

although its an annual appointment for us to visit vivaldi on new years eve we always are impressed with the hospitality.. staff are extremely kind and helpful (except for the arrogant and rude security guard night shift of new years eve).. definitely one of the best hotels in malta.. Thanks and see you again soon !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do look forward in welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Location is excellent very central to paceville. Very nice reception area. Large restaurant with a buffet, food was quite nice. They do charge for wifi use and also for safes as they are behind reception. Both of these things could add up over a period of two weeks. There is a roof top pool which was being refurbished when I was there but there is also an indoor pool. The rooms are starting to look dated and the hotel are refurbishing the bedrooms. An average hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Golden Tulip Vivaldi for 3 nights in the last weekend.
The hospitality was great and the room was amazing with sea view from one side and street view from the other side of the room.
We did had problem with hot water once but it was fixed very fast after talking to the reception manager.
The hotel is in a very good location.
Nearby there are 2 shopping malls, bars, dance bars etc.
The transportation to any place in malta is very easy due to a nearby bus station from which a bus can be taken to any location in malta.

I will definitely come back to another vacation at this hotel and the next time will be with our kids.
:)

Tip for Malta:
Shopping is suggested in Valleta (Republic St.) or Sliema which are the places where the locals also do their shopping which is great.

Room Tip: Sea view is suggested and there are rooms with have both sea view and street view which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Tulip Vivaldi I would like to thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future this time with your kids.

Kind Regards,
Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

tip: avoid rooms overlooking the main streets as they become too noisy.
not bright breakfast but honest and the rooms are clean enough.
stayed in Vivaldi 2 times, totalling 5 nights
a bit far from historical center - well, not far but it takes too much time to make those 8kms by taxi..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao_Lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Vivaldi Hotel for 7 nights in October 2013. We arrived after an extremely long journey from Australia to be greeted by unfriendly and unhelpful staff. After taking two different lifts to our room, carrying heavy bags, we found that they had allocated us a room with two twin beds instead of a double. We returned downstairs to be allocated another room (no apology given) and back up in the lifts to find that our keycards had not been coded correctly and we couldn't get in. Back down to reception to have our keycards recoded (again, no apology). Over the 7 days that we stayed, we found that some desk staff were courteous and pleasant while others were sullen and disinterested in customer service.

The services at the hotel were not 4 star quality. The wifi was overly expensive and extremely unreliable. It was not explained to us that even though for a 1 hour ticket you could log in and out to spread the hour over a day, a 24 hour ticket would only last 24 hours, regardless of whether you used it or not. Since we purchased a 24 hour ticket late in the evening, we wasted most of our internet time sleeping! The gym equipment was of a very poor standard, and the rooftop pool was never open, despite it being hot and sunny weather. The "games room" consisted of one broken fusball table and a pool table, both of which were pay to use and in poor condition. The lifts only worked intermittently, and often we had to push the 'down' button (even when we wanted to go up) because that was the only way to get the lift to arrive.

The room itself was large and clean, however, our balcony door did not lock, which was concerning given that the next room's balcony was attached to ours. We had to place the rubbish bin in between the two doors to prevent it from being opened from outside. The air conditioning controls did not work, and it would automatically switch itself on at night (freezing) and off during the day (hot). On three occasions we were awakened in the middle of the night by an ear-piercing alarm. This turned out to be caused by a power cut in the St Julian's area, but no explanation or apology was given. The lights in the room also had a mind of their own. Five minutes after entering the room the lights would switch themselves off, and we had to open and close the door in order to reactivate them. The bathroom was clean but old and always damp.

The breakfast buffet was adequate. A good selection of food although not overly fresh and little variety. The coffee was absolutely disgusting - tasted like ditchwater.

The location of the hotel is one positive aspect. It is right in the heart of St Julian's close to restaurants and bars. There is a bus stop closeby for Valletta and the Hypogeum.

Overall, the Vivaldi is not worth the money. We were offered a special rate due to the fact that I was attending a conference, and we still felt that it was over priced! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback.
Kindly accept our apologies . Your comments have been taken seriously and have been shared with the management team.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $63 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing