We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel gives a very good first impression. Breakfast was excellent- fantastic selection of cereals, yoghurts, cold and hot food. I have special dietary requirements and still came out full and very satisfied every morning. We had a bit of rearranging to do, as a friend made a last minute booking to come on our holiday, and the hotel staff were extremely helpful and changed us from a three person to four person room, with no hassle, 24 hours before our check-in. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had an issue with one of the air-con units and within 15 minutes someone from maintenance was up to look at it. He couldn't fix it but said that he would have someone back the next morning to sort it- which he did. I did request an extra blanket at reception one morning and arrived back late that night to discover no extra blanket. However, the following evening I spoke to a different person at reception and had my extra blanket delivered to the room within 10 minutes. We had absolutely no problem with noise in the hotel, although one night there was a lot of noise from the hotel opposite (we did have our windows open). The hotel is literally around the corner from the bars and clubs of Paceville, so some noise was to be expected. Pick up for hopon/hopoff and other tours is bang outside the hotel. Yes, some parts of the hotel could do with updating, however I thought the hotel was great value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi on trip Advisor.

So glad that you have mentioned my colleagues who are always indeed very helpful.
Looking forward to host you once again in the near future

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

The service, the breakfast buffet, and the staff were very good.
The public areas - the reception and the dining rooms were beautifully maintained and elegant looking.
The bedrooms were a little tired and in need of some renovation - carpets were tatty, some bathroom floor tiles cracked, bedsheets had cigarette holes, curtains frayed.
There was no bedroom safe to use.
I requested a double bed but got 2 twins pushed together.
I would go back here - it was fine for the money I paid and the time I stayed there.

Room Tip: sea view rooms (although not very close to the sea) face away from the nightlife and so are quiet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback of when you where staying at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

Thank you for complimenting our staff who is always there to help our guests with whatever they might need.

Regarding the rooms you can rest assure that we consider constant refurbishment of the Hotel. However all our beds are single so we can accommodate every request of our guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good location in terms of the tourist facilities and casino. Breakfast on offer is decent.
Overall, the hotel looks dated and tired and in need of refurbishment, especially the bathrooms. Details do matter! Though the size of the room is decent, they have a slight damp smell. The rooms are separated by very thin walls to the extent that I was woken up by the telephone ringing in the next room. A fellow colleague also staying there had to change rooms due to the noise by drunk youngsters having a party in the next room.
In addition, the charge for wifi in the room at 3 euros per hour is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday here in Malta. We are glad that you have found the location of our Hotel convenient .

Your comments have been taken seriously and have been discussed with the management team. However you can rest assure that we consider constant refurbishment of the property.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was as good, even for us who prefer a vegetarian meal at breakfast, but the 2 standard rooms we got for our family of 4 were sub-standard. The rooms seemed to be less than clean. The toilets had flushing problems. We could hear singing and shouting from the streets at 2 a.m. in the morning - keeping you awake. The mattresses were not comfortable and in need of replacement. When we asked to change the rooms were told that the hotel is fukk but we could upgrade for a charge to better rooms. Not sure they would be cleaner, maybe just the view would change.
The hotel is rated 4 stars, we would say 3 stars or less because of the problems described above.
Some of the lifts did not work. Electricity went off for upto minutes at a time.
The top floor swimming pool has a great view but is pretty small. The undergroung pool
and jacuzzi are nice and cute but not always heated. Foodwise, they have above average resatuarants with nice views of the sea, prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are quiter as there are no pubs or restaurants below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As a constant business visitor to Malta and someone who stays in hotels as my travels dictate, it takes a lot to impress me.
Walking in through the main door, I stopped and looked.... WOW! Impressive!
Check-in... super fast, delayed only by the speed of me filling in the registration form!
The receptionist... makes sure you don't leave until she explains where everything is, restaurant timings, where the bars are, where the gym and swimming pools are, and what happening today (the day you arrive)... Excellent!
Hotel internet.. depending on your room, grade of package some pay, some don't, however I found it to be very slow, but better than nothing.

Layout.... very good.... lifts on both side of reception to the rooms above.
Room.... Big and clean. Bathroom very clean. However, the room and hotel (as was pointed out to me by the General Manager) is due for a make over.
The room has a fridge, but no tea/coffee making facilities
Yes, it could do with some love and attention.. but a busy hotel does take a lot of knocks along the way.
The lifts... could do with newer ones.. somewhat erratic in their function... but not annoying!

Food.. my favourite subject! I arrived on a Saturday, and in the restaurant it was Italian Night.
Good food, lots of it and well cooked in front of you and well presented.
Impressed? Yes, and the restaurant staff we very attentive and happy, plus the chefs cooking fresh in the middle of the restaurant also very friendly and attentive. Nothing was to much trouble.

I mentioned the General Manager. It is always good to see the General Manager leading from the front, and he was the duty manager the night I stayed. I watched him talk to guests, carry bags, check guests in and out, carry coffee to tables and run a private BBQ for 200 plus on the roof top.
We did speak for a while and he informed me that there is a work in progress for the hotel, to upgrade and makeover many of the rooms and hotel facilities. I for one can't wait to see them.

Breakfast... was ok....however the staff were a bit TOO keen to clear my table, while I was gone for more coffee or another course. I put that down to a junior with desire to impress her supervisor. Also the hotel is busy, so an empty table means someone else can sit had have breakfast.

I found the staff very friendly, and that is usually a reflection of the management... helpful and smiling.

If you are expecting a quiet hotel, then it is and its not. Reception as you would imagine is very busy. The restaurant was noisy only because I went early as it opened, along with the families with small and young children, who let it be known when they don't like the food they are given!
The rooms and corridors very quiet and the window to the balcony is double-double glazed. It keep out the heat and the noise.

Would I stay here again? Yes without any hesitation.

Room Tip: there are sea view rooms, but I think there is a cost factor to having one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brich57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we were delighted to read of your enjoyable stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

Thank you for complimenting our staff aswel as the General Manager who do their utmost to meet our guests needs and requests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation offcer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have juste returned from a weeks stay at the vivaldi and was very impressed. Firstly I am a young single traveller and after reading reviews about Libiyan refuggees and the lack of cleaniness of the hotel was quite nervous HOWEVER from someone who works for Mandarin Oriental hotel chain I found it difficult to fault this hotel. I arrived early at 11.30am and my room was ready and could therefore spend the day with my friends. The room was very spacious and clean and my maid Lilian was great. The fitness centre was ok but the staff there are amazing, I highly reccommend to get a deep tissue massage from Joseph. He ia exceptionally talented. John in fitness centre was also very helpful and very friendly. I cannot emphaisise how friendly the staff are here, they are a true asset to the hotel. As regards location its perfect for cocktail bars etc but it may not be ideal location if your over 50 and looking for peace and quiet. I think that some of the negative reviews on here are from older guests. As for the Libiyan refugees, no problems at all, they are not intimidating and did not cause any problems.All in all I will be coming back to this hotel, I really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a week's stay at The Golden Tulip with Riviera Travel and enjoyed our Malta holiday. The hotel was not perfect but had it's good points. The evening dinner was good with a good salad choice, good soups and always a choice of a roast or Italian fare as well as other choices. The breakfasts were disappointing particularly the very watery fruit juice. Sitting areas were limited (no nice lounge) but there is a superb roof bar (ideal in the heat) but one was never sure when it was open in the evening - sometimes it was and it said so in the lift poster but other times it wasn't. I left a valuable item behind and the staff were very helpful in returning it too me. The location was not ideal but great views from the roof bar! The Riviera tour and guides were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi on trip advisor.

We have noted your comments and have been shared with the management team.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea ( guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $66 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing