We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like tired Tulip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap no frills hotel with mediocre buffet breakfast and watery juice from a drinks machine, are not too bothered about attention to cleanliness, and staff that are impersonal then go ahead and book this.

Decor is tired and outdated, very grubby around the edges. Definitely needs a face lift.
In the dining room I noticed lack of care in overall cleanliness and decor and furnishings had seen better days.

Bedroom was adequate with large double bed but awful plastic mattress protector. There are much better ones on the market without plastic. These ones just made you hot and sweaty and did not fit properly. On first arriving in the room my husband noticed toenails left on the carpet.

Bathroom still had hairs on the floor and in the bath after the cleaner had been in and shower curtain all yellowed at the bottom edge.
The shower is just one attached to the taps in the bath and the water more or less just trickled out.

I don't mind a bargain hotel, I am all for basic accommodation if the price is right, but as long as I know that is what they are advertising. For a four star hotel I would expect at the very least better attention to detail in the cleanliness department and more friendly helpful and welcoming staff who are prepared to make an effort to make your stay a pleasant one.

Overall the accommodation was more like 2 to 3 star, the price reasonable and the room average. Not a 4 star hotel by any ones standard. The location of the hotel is in a busy street with a night club and bars just up the road so can be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have noted your comments and these have been shared with our management team.
However you can rest assure that we consider constant refurbishment of the property.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea(guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the vivaldi as we were sent there after being overbooked at the Cavaleiri, I have to stay the management and staff were lovely very caring helpful and polite , however we had not booked this hotel , the room we were given was very tired, sheets pillows and towels pretty dire , breakfast was ok , howver we realised there was something very wrong as they have a lovely day restaraunt which was always empty ... ..answer was Lybian refugees apparently waiting for hospital treatment in Malta !!!!!!!! sitting outside front of hotel every day drinking smoking on mobiles, quite intimidating and off putting, the current General manager Phillipe is swiss and very nice the previous manager was Lybian and even less people had a drink in the hotel bar as it was overwhelmed with Lybians, Phillpe did ask me not to put back review on trip advisor , but I need to be honest .... with some money spent and more focus on guests this hotel could be fab, ...

Room Tip: Be aware of very noisy hotel opposite, .... higher floor half decent view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbimac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It has been an occasion to go out with other friend families and spend a lunch a night and a breakfast for a small amout of money. You get what you pay. Lesson learned... no entertainment... no choice of food... no recreations. Poor experience. Fortunately we had good company.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, to get to our hotel room was a nightmare as had to get into two different set of lifts and they were very far apart. Awkward for us,and we don't mind walking!
Reception were about to charge me for wifi but I realised that I booked the hotel through booking.com and included free wifi. We arrived at hotel a 12:00pm. Checkin as per their is 3:00pm which we accepted.Thus, we left our luggage in the cloakroom and went out to explore.on our return at 3:05pm we returned to the hotel and you've guessed it, our room was not ready. It took another phone call by the receptionist to make a call and it was the ready another 5 minutes later. Their breakfast was ok, nothing special, would have expected better. Oh, also had booked double beds but told only single beds available to us in our room. When queried with reception they said they only do single beds.well, the booking said otherwise ! Highly disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahktar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

As you were told all our rooms have single beds so whatever our guests need we can accommodate.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Service is bad, slowly
hotel booking is not reliable, reservation confirmation was given, but room was not available
the second room was not clean, made up
the third room was ok, but the airconidtion not working
the second day the aircondition was repaired, it was cooling but so noisy, that it had to switched off during night

Room Tip: select another hotel !!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a week and payed roughly €20 pnpp which made it a bit of a bargain. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
The rooms were good and clean although the view was poor and we didn't get a balcony just a handrail immediately outside the sliding doors.
The rooftop pool is pretty small and I imagine when the hotel is busy it probably gets pretty cramped.
The bar is ridiculously over priced and when I stopped there was no free wifi at all.
The indoor pool and gym were all very nice alough they refused to turn the sauna on for us.

If you're not bothered about an exterior pool or sunbathing its good base camp as its location is close enough to all the restaurants and bars for easy walking but far enough so none of it bothers you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V6Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a difficult start with confirming the reservations details prior to visiting Malta (third party booking site issues not hotel) Mr Luke Sammut (reservations) was very helpful in ensuring the stay we had was comfortable and relaxing. We had a sea view room which was a pleasure waking up to. The rooms were kept very clean as was the hotel. Breakfast plentiful and the location very near all amenities. The hotel had a gym, personally feel it needs a bit updating but it was enough to get a session in. Nice indoor pool and the rooftop pool well worth sipping a coffee over with amazing sea views. All in all - very relaxing trip! Much recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view - well worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phonicbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team of The Golden Tulip Vivaldi I would like to thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that your overall experience was a positive one.
We hope that you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $81 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing