We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel pity about the Wifi rip off”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great hotel pity about the Wifi rip off”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We enjoyed greatly the hotel, staff , breakfast and sport facilities - they even went out and got new table tennis bats when we pointed out theirs was damaged. The indoor pool was a good size. BUT why in 2011 are they charging for Wifi ? FIVE euros for an hour (thats not connect time but real time) I have been in big hotels and small hotels in far flung places that do not charge. However there is a nice cafe right outside the hotel with free wifi - so I get to drink a couple of beers and skype for less. The hotels restaurants are best avoided as they are expensive when compared to others in short walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,177
    1,089
    285
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,149
2,088
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Hilton is for me one of the best hotels in Malta. Large rooms, unique location, great food and excellent service.
If you want a very relaxing holiday with alot of luxe this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyK1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Being retired and having stayed in 5 star hotels over the past 27 years, this was by far the worst value for money in general terms. Waited to check in 25 mins.Then made to leave a credit card deposit of 700 Euros in case I did a runner. Paid £453 extra for evening meals for two for 7 days & the food was very very dissapointing in all of the resturants. No entertainment whatsoever,
Purely catered for corporate bookings being full of people on business trips.
Apart from breakfast, eat out if you did stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhargreaves1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

First class hotel rooms are clean and spacious with a view over the sea. My balcony door wouldn't lock, so I went down to reception to report the problem and within a short space of time it was fixed. Breakfast was very good and lots of it, to the point that I didn't need lunch. Great hotel, great location in St. Juliens, thus also a little pricey. Would definitely go back.
Watch out you don't shuffle things around in the fridge as you get automatically charged as soon as you lift any items out!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Having used The Hilton chain in the past for business we were a bit worried that our stay would be impersonal and run-of-the-mill; we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, my wife’s 40th birthday and our belated honeymoon.

From the outset we were made to feel so very welcome and after realising that it was a special stay the hotel manager was very kind enough to bring a bottle of champagne to our room with his compliments. On my wife’s birthday we were greeted by two male members of staff singing happy birthday and carrying a very tasty chocolate birthday cake.

The hotel is very tastefully decorated and if you get time you simply must have drinks on the balcony of the Compass bar. Food was of good quality ingredients, well presented and cooked to perfection. Arrive early for breakfast and get a prime spot on the outdoor patio; it’s the best place to have breakfast.

Staff members are without exception polite and willing to help with every request; the in-hotel jeweller will visit your room if you request it – my wife wanted some new Gucci ear rings.

A Spa and a Tony & Guy hairdresser is included in the hotel so you can pamper yourself and you can work out in the gym – you need to access the gym with the lift next to the reception, or like me you can wander for 15 minutes until a helpful staff member helps you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_SickNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Hotel didn't appeal. Decor seemed like something from the 80's - ugly carpets, heavy drapes, very strange for a ocean side hotel. Masses of people. Executive floor lounge would be bombarded by people during free happy hour - guests gobbling up all free low quality snacks they could get their hands on. It seemed like a cruise ship. Couldn't leave windows open at night to hear the ocean for the beach disco that would be full blast until 4am on the weekends. The design of the hotel didn't take privacy into account as there was clear visibility into other guest rooms from your rooms and balconies.

Did like the location. Which made the trip worthwhile to get away from the hotel.

Spa was in the basement with low ceiling - very dark indeed. Dungeon spa anyone?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

we got married in Malta in June 2009 & had the best time with the majority of our guests staying at the Hilton. (i've had to put June 2010 as it didnt go far enough back to June 09!)

The food was amazing & generally enjoyed the stay. Also very child friendly!!
my only grumble would be that they knew we were getting married & that our reception was at the hotel, but no room upgrade for us!! we were disappointed about that especially as we had 30 odd guests with us. but never mind all in all they were great, our reception back there was perfect.

Definintely want to re-visit

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaMc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing