We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would recommend the hotel to friends who don't expect perfection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We would recommend the hotel to friends who don't expect perfection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed for a week on a Thompson bed and breakfast package.
The Hilton is big and imposing modern hotel with a five star rating.The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a quiet,spacious twin bed room with a super view across the bay, and the breakfast was excellent. Apart from breakfast, we ate in once (there are a large variety of restaurants within walking distance) and the food was adequate. We were on an active sightseeing holiday, we didn’t use many of the facilities that were on offer in the hotel, so we can’t comment about those
No major criticism of the hotel then, so why were we slightly disappointed?
The operation here is geared up to the conference and business user, witness the various events in progress during our short time there. Rightly or wrongly, we felt that we had been given a room which was kept for package holiday guests, as evidenced by issues such as the loose shower fitting, the bathroom looking a little tired, and the lack of attention to cleaning, with a resultant musty smell in parts of the room.
The cracked cup summed it up. We noticed it was cracked when we arrived, and when it wasn’t replaced the day following, we decided that we would wait to see how long it might take. It was still there when we left!
That, to us, says more about the management ethos than the imposing foyer or the four swimming pools!
We would recommend the hotel to friends who don't expect perfection!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,987
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We were full of great expectations of this hotel having read several reports and anyone who has said they were disappointed was either very fussy, or just had bad luck. We were offered a sea view on arrival for €10 extra, but declined as the marina view was reportedly more interesting and had the sun on the balcony for longer. In fact the sea view was just that - sea, so we made the right choice. The hotel was very quiet for the early part of our week and many of the facilities were closed. We enjoyed leisurely breakfasts, gorging ourselves on the huge menu on offer, so much so, that we were disinclined to have three course dinners at the end of the day. We found the restaurant prices quite expensive and had better value at the Portomaso Casino next door, even though we had to become life members (free) just to get a meal. The peace was shattered at breakfast on our sixth day when a conference of noisy Italian lawyers appeared to take over the place, but apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this great hotel.

St Julian's is a pretty resort with lots of restaurants and entertainment nearby in Paceville. We took the open top bus tour at €15 each which included a harbour tour on another day free, so that was particularly good value. Having said that the local buses are extremently cheap and plentiful, even if it felt as though we were riding a roller coaster at times. Only 47c for a ticket to Valletta. We would not be inclined to hire a car, as getting around by bus is very easy.

Malta is by no means a beautiful island, but it has a lot of history and for that reason alone is well worth a visit. Although it is very quiet at this time of year, it was such a welcome relief to be able to enjoy the bright sunshine and escape our dreadful British winter, if only for a week.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was our first visit to Malta and it was great! Malta is quite a busy island and the Hilton was a lovely oasis of calm. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. Check in was a breeze and as many of the other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast buffet is excellent. I would also recommend the seafood buffet which they had when we were there---it was fantastic. The rooms are lovely, modern, clean and a good size. All in all I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

I've loved this hotel for the quiet position, the executive rooms, the panorama, the wonderful pools, the kindness of the person, especially the one at the reception, for the details of the buildings, of the restaurants and of the rooms.
I my room I found nice "marine" furnishing, satellite tv, phones, radio, tea&coffee facilities, slippers, safe box, few toileteries (too few for a double room!!), a wonderful bath, a sewing kit, shoe cleaner, a sofa, one table and chair in the room and one table with two rooms in the little balcony, ....
Two things could be less good:
-In winder I found it very quiet, but I guess it to be quite noisy in summer, because I could hear every sound from the outside and the andjoin rooms during the day and night as well.
-It hasn't got shore and it's distant form La Valletta, so if you want to go tothe beach or to the city, you've to travel a litte...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucoh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hilton in St Julian's. Everything that you would expect from a Hilton, including very helpful staff. We had our cameras stolen and they helped us contact the restaurant where they went missing (so, sorry - no photos to share) and on the first night we decided that we wanted to hire a car, which they arranged in about 10mins, despite it being 7pm on a Friday night. Also offers free parking at the car park underneath the hotel.

The view from our King Deluxe room was fantastic - over the pools and to the sea. The buffet breakfast was, as usual, great with everything you could want. Saw people having to line up for a while a busy times.

The area is very good. Very close to Paceville with lots of bars etc and the bus in Valletta is only about a 3min walk from the hotel. Also, about a 5/10min walk to Spinola Bay with it fantastic views and some really good restaurants.

All in all, great trip which was helped by the Hilton and its staff.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We went to the hilton in July for a long weekend as they were advertising at our agency a very discounted price and my husband wanted to go somewhere close by because of limited time. I can't say that malta is anything worth seeing or that the hotel offers anyhting worth visiting again. At the same time it was not bad. Would I recommend it. Not really. I mean for a very discounted price is ok, but that was almost 50% less than what they usually have. The food was not very good and the service many times slow. Our room also had a problem witht he airconditioning that they fixed after 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeB555-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Have travelled all over the world and this hotel has to be one of the best I have stayed in. Breakfast Buffet fantastic and dinner in Bottega del Vino excellent. All the staff friendly and efficient. Room had nice outlook over the sea, huge bathroom with walk in shower and balcony sheltered from the wind.Location very good for sightseeing as stop for local buses 3 minutes walk away. Looking forward to another stay in this hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dac55Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing